We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good place, good value, great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedona Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sedona Motel
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place, good value, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked this placed based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Bill was there when we checked in and was very helpful and friendly; he had menus from all the local restaurants for us to review before making our choice. The motel is a "throw back" to the old motels of the 60's and 70's era, but is updated and comfortable. We were on the end of the property, right next to the patio which overlooks some of Sedona's beautiful scenery. Many shops and restaurants are in walking distance and this place is in the middle of the tourist action. If you're into frills, this is not your place, but if you like a decent, comfortable place with friendly staff, book a room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrthibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    104
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
62
177
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were very pleased we chose this motel for our brief stay in Sedona. Our host Don was expecting us and was very welcoming, informative and personable. We were first impressed with the great location, beautiful tile driveway and the awesome "270 degree" view. The room was excellent. We liked that the A/C unit was located in the back of the room, because it didn't blow directly on us while we were sleeping. We enjoyed sitting on the patio at the end of the building, taking pictures and soaking up the unforgettable beauty of Sedona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeliciaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
263 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here based on other recommendations and were not disappointed. Small but clean rooms close to the center of town. Staff very helpful and the views were great! Very quiet considering the location. Close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 46JimH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decided on this motel because of Tripadvisor reviews. Its in a very good location, just off the road but traffic noise was not a problem. Its a small place,maybe a dozen units, traditional motel style. Bob the owner is very friendly and helpful; lots of restaurant menus and suggestions for activities. The best thing about this motel is the view: just across the road the red rocks are magnificent. There are chairs outside each unit and a patio area to sit and luxuriate in the surroundings.
The rooms are fine, nothing fancy, and reasonably priced. There is a choice of restaurants within five minutes walk. We ate at Shugrue's Hillside: a bit expensive but with great food, in particular excellent steaks, and a large picture window overlooking the valley. Recommended.
We had a good breakfast across the road in Ken's Creekside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I found this motel by searching on Tripadvisor and thought it was an excellent choice! It is a small, privately owned place and everyone was very nice and concerned about our needs. I talked with Don when I made the reservation and he is such a doll! Nice, friendly man who went over lots of menus with me when we were searching for breakfast and dinner locations. Bill, the owner, was there the next day and this Maryland transplant seems to do a lot to take care of his motel but updating and re-doing the rooms as needed. The rooms are very large and much wider than the traditional hotel/motel rooms. I like the drive up motel style and one bonus is the nice chairs outside the rooms. Bill also mentioned there are suites in the back of the motel for larger groups. On this trip to Scottsdale, Sedona and Grand Canyon this was my favorite place to stay! I probably won't be back to Sedona, but if I went back this is certainly where I would stay. But keep it a secret---I don't want it to get spoiled by too many visitors!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
429 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I chose this motel because of its position and the positive reviews that I had read on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed!

As other reviewers have mentioned, it is a traditional drive-up-to-your-door motel in a stunning location. You can sit right outside your door and gaze at the beautiful red rocks, or sit at one of the 4 tables on the deck at the end of the building. Everything you want to see in Sedona can be accessed a short walk away.

The room we had was a good size with a very comfortable King bed. In addition to the en-suite facilities there was a fridge, a microwave and tea & coffee making facilities.

Bill is as laid back as he sounds on the ‘phone! A really nice man who has a lovely, well maintained property and is a mine of local information.

I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TauntonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This location is perfect, in town but not on busy 89a. The owner Bill could not have been better. He loaned us a Book on Sedona's 10 best hikes and spent time showing us the area on the MAP. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped . The view is fantastic. There are plenty of good restaurants within a block or two.
A small independent friendly well run place like this beats the impersonal chain every time. Good value. Can't say enough

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluewaterstjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.4 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.6 mi away
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Sugar Loaf Lodge
#35 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedars Resort
Cedars Resort
#40 of 49 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Petite Sedona
La Petite Sedona
#42 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 49 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Property: Sedona Motel
Address: 218 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6114
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sedona Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sedona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing