We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”
Review of Sedona Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sedona Motel
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
150 Mile House, B.C. Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This motel was very clean, comfortable & fairly reasonable. Owner, staff very friendly & helpful. Nice little patio at the end of motel with great views. Good place to take your glass of wine and book. Short walk to the Tlaquepaque Village Plaza which has a number of restaurants & shops that are fun to stroll around in. We would definitely return to this motel if we find ourselves back in Sedona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbes150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    111
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
66
184
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My positive experience with this motel started when I booked my reservation. The gentleman on the other end of the phone (Bill, who also greeted me upon arrival), was warm and friendly. When we arrived at the Sedona Motel, Bill was helpful, offered suggestions and seemed genuinely concerned that we enjoy our stay. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and couldn't be better located - for both views and attractions. The Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village is just a few doors away. Uptown Sedona, home to shops, restaurants and the famed Pink Jeep tours are just a short walk up the street and around the corner. The restaurant directly across the street (Ken's Creekside) proved to be a wonderful find for breakfast. The icing on the cake is the affordable price. I can't wait to return to Sedona - and the Sedona Motel!

Room Tip: All rooms face great views and have parking right in front....they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary this past weekend. Bill was wonderful! We had a great time. The location of the motel is probably the best. Spectacular views!! We will tell our friends about this place and we plan to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have to admit, I was very impressed and very pleased with our stay here. So much so, when we return to Sedona we will stay here again! Thank you TA reviews for this great, budget friendly motel suggestion. When you are from NY, you have a certain image that comes to mind when you say “motel” so even though the positive reviews enticed us enough to consider it, I still went with low expectations. Well our expectations were surpassed and exceeded-SCORE!!

We had read that you can only check in at 3pm, so we made sure to be there by 2:30-2:45 and sure enough the office was closed, but we knew to wait. The owner, Bill, arrived just before 3, so we only waited a mere 5 mins or so for his arrival. He is a very warm, welcoming nice man, with a calming voice which just oozed a Sedona vibe. When we had booked our room (about a month prior by phone) he advised us that he only had two double beds, but that was OK with us. So when we checked in, he offered us a King bed room for our 2nd night (he offered, we didn’t even ask) but we declined and just kept with our double bed room for simplicity for our 3 night stay. He happily volunteered to show us a map and circled key interest points to us, such a nice personal check in process.

We were in room 28 and wow, pretty impressive, again, for a Motel. Super Clean! Equipped with Mini Fridge, Microwave, Iron with Iron board, Blow dryer, heated lamp in bathroom and excellent shower pressure! I have quite a bit of hair, so shower pressure is always important to me. Toilet flushes very quietly. Free wi-fi, cable TV channels and you’re in the center of the town. We live in a city so we didn’t notice any noise from the road at all! It really was quiet though. The only time we heard any noise was when a neighboring unit was using their shower (Hearing the plumbing) but that’s about all. No complaints at all with our stay! Even the bed was comfortable!!

We didn’t get to enjoy the patio at the end of the motel very much but we did sit outside our room on the bench provided and watch the sunrise behind Snoopy Rock. It was very quiet and peaceful. We were able to walk up to Pink Jeep Tours and into Uptown Sedona which is an easy 10 min walk. What a true a value to have stayed here! I wish all motels were as great as this, it sure would save me a ton of money in our travels :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mickey107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC CALIFORNIA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Yes, I would stay here again! Heres the thing, average rooms but right in the heart of Sedona. Next door to Tlackapaque (ok who can spell that?) And yes, the owner was simply put, a really cool guy. He suggested a few places to eat, and really helpful about everything in general. You can step outside your room and see beautiful views, and there is a patio at the end with breathtaking views. Room had a fridge and microwave. Good shower, average motel bed. Sedona is pricey so for $100 a night we were quite happy.

Room Tip: If i stayed there again I would ask if the end room was available. Closest to the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHONABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at the Sedona Motel in Sedona, Arizona. I selected the motel based on previous trip advisor recommendations and rankings - and we were not disappointed!
Don was managing the motel when we stayed in mid-October and I have the highest praise for him. He was friendly, really helpful regarding restaurants and he certainly made us feel very welcome. He loaned us a book on Sedona mountain biking trails and he was very accommodating regarding our mountain bikes.
We were fortunate to be accommodated in the end room (#33) which abutted the verandah. The verandah affords magnificent views of the red rock of Sedona and we enjoyed relaxing and soaking in the view. The room was relatively inexpensive, very clean and spacious, had a small fridge, TV and a good-sized, clean bathroom. The bed was excellent and the pillows were great and the ceiling fan added to our comfort. Ice was freely available at reception. As a previous reviewer mentioned, even though the motel is situated close to the 'Y' intersection of the highways, there was very little road noise inside the room - in fact we didn't notice it at all at night. Being situated near the 'Y' affords easy access to walking and mountain-biking trails and shops via car or bike, with some trailheads close enough to walk to.
If we ever return to Sedona, the Sedona Motel will be our first choice. I highly recommend it for great value and a friendly reception.

Room Tip: #33 - closest to the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Can't believe I failed to review this place before. We stayed here in April with our grandkids for 2 days before going to the Grand Canyon. We had the 2 room cottage to the rear of the property. It was perfect as everyone had some private space (we're talking teenagers, here} We walked to restaurants, Talapaque (sp) and a wonderful emporium of all things spiritual/zen where the girls had a psychic reading of their Aura. Very Sedona - ey.

My husband and I have stayed in the motel room and thoroughly enjoyed sunset on the patio with the lucious redrock views. Being on the highway was of no issue at all. The owner was most informative and friendly. Personally, I prefer to travel more rather than pay more and travel less. This place was perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: cottage was great with grandkids. The end motel room is adjacent to the lovely patio. Good for just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
Star Motel
Star Motel
#33 of 48 in Sedona
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedars Resort
Cedars Resort
#44 of 48 in Sedona
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Petite Sedona
La Petite Sedona
#46 of 48 in Sedona
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saad Suites
Saad Suites
#28 of 29 in Sedona
32 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 48 in Sedona
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Property: Sedona Motel
Address: 218 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6114
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sedona Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sedona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing