We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Prescorr, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We celebrate most of our anniversaries in Sedona, and most of those we spend at the Matterhorn Inn. It sits at the north end of downtown. It's a mom and pop operation, unpretentious, and perfectly maintained. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and EVERY room has a perfect eastern view of Sedona's red rocks.

Room Tip: EVERY room has a perfect view of the red rocks of Sedona.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear winibob,

Congratulations! We cannot express how honored we are that you have chosen to stay with us for most of your Anniversaries. We truly appreciate your kind comments, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the clean and cozy comforts of your room with a view. We hope to welcome you back next year!

Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    248
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
131
302
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel is in a prime location. You can't beat the views and I love the way it blended with the countryside. The front desk was helpful and the room larger than most rooms. We had a family of five, so they put us in a 2-double room with a pull out. There was no extra charge for the 5th person as we've found at some hotels. There was also a fridge. The negatives: In our room, there was no way to adjust the AC/fan, so all night long it would cycle from dead quiet to full-blast, waking us all, multiple times. Most hotels have a continuous fan option which prevents this. The bathroom was smaller than most, and was a bit dated. Also, though it is a no smoking hotel, our room smelled like smoke.
Still, it was a good value and, if you are not a light sleeper, the AC cycle might not be an issue. I would say this particular room hovers between average and good, with location-excellent, Service- excellent, Price- excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed once before about four years ago and just had now four nights here.... For Sedona prices this place is very good value especially given its location right on the "things to see strip". ... Can not fault the place and would stay again .. 18 months 50000 miles .. Aussies on a Bike

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vulcan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Vulcan2000,

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your journey! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us this time around, and that you found our rates to be reasonable for this area of town. We look forward to having you as our guests again on your next Sedona adventure!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wife and I stayed 2 nights -- $292. Very nice room, with comfortable king-size bed. The staff was very friendly, even when we checked in after 10 p.m. The location is outstanding. We were on first floor and could actually walk out on the roof overlooking Sedona's main street (the notorious 89A). It's within walking distance of many, many shops and restaurants. The view from out our back door and on the roof is pictured. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupelodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Tupelodan,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we thank you for posting a picture as well. Our friendly staff are always eager to assist you, especially if you are anticipating to be arriving after hours. We are pleased to hear that you found your accommodations to be welcoming, clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.

Well regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in Sedona and had a great time. The Matterhorn was a nice place to stay. It was quiet and very clean. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed the balcony very much.
The hotel is perfectly located if shopping is your thing. (Don't forget to ask for your 10% discount in the stores attached to the hotel.)
All in all it was a great place to stay and I would stay again in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Allen M,

Thank you for writing a review for us! It is fantastic that you enjoyed your time with us; from the clean and comfortable room accommodations to the location and the great views. We are thrilled that we were successful in providing a nice place for you to unwind and relax. We certainly look forward to having you back as our guests.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We actually stayed Memorial Day weekend and all the top hotels were completely booked. We weren't sure about this place but the reviews seemed good and it was available. We booked a top floor balcony and each night had dinner and drinks outside our room on the balcony. It was really nice. Note though: the balconies all face the main Street so you see everyone and everyone see you. One of the nights we had a really loud and roudy family below us having a party, drinking and smoking. It was a bit unpleasant. That was the only downside but it's not the hotel's fault. We had the top corner room and the bottom balcony is actually bigger and extends out further. You could see the people below if you looked. Overall we enjoyed our stay. If you stay here you get a 10% discount for Pink Jeep tours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Lynda L,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed relaxing on your balcony while taking in the beauty of Sedona. We appreciate you letting us know about the guests below you. We strive to ensure all of our guests are having a nice stay, but it is important to let us know if other guests are taking away from your enjoyment. We are glad that you did have an otherwise enjoyable time with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

So when I saw the reviews, combined with the outlandishly affordable price I wondered how it was possible... but it is. The Matterhorn is a lovely motel, with a fun location in downtown Sedona. It's comfortable, clean, beautiful-- everything you'd want. And did I say affordable? Yes. Quite. The staff was great and the dog-friendliness such a great touch. Oh-- and after cleaning bugs off our windshield repeatedly on our road trip-- the "Guest Windshield Cleaner Bucket" waiting for us had us rolling-- and grateful! Thank you so much, Matterhorn!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbbts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear pbbts,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers! We appreciate your kind comments and we are thrilled that we were successful in making your stay memorable. We are pleased that you found our Windshield Cleaning Bucket to be helpful to you, especially after having been on the road for some time. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing