We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the price”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We actually stayed Memorial Day weekend and all the top hotels were completely booked. We weren't sure about this place but the reviews seemed good and it was available. We booked a top floor balcony and each night had dinner and drinks outside our room on the balcony. It was really nice. Note though: the balconies all face the main Street so you see everyone and everyone see you. One of the nights we had a really loud and roudy family below us having a party, drinking and smoking. It was a bit unpleasant. That was the only downside but it's not the hotel's fault. We had the top corner room and the bottom balcony is actually bigger and extends out further. You could see the people below if you looked. Overall we enjoyed our stay. If you stay here you get a 10% discount for Pink Jeep tours.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Lynda L,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed relaxing on your balcony while taking in the beauty of Sedona. We appreciate you letting us know about the guests below you. We strive to ensure all of our guests are having a nice stay, but it is important to let us know if other guests are taking away from your enjoyment. We are glad that you did have an otherwise enjoyable time with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Matterhorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 656 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

So when I saw the reviews, combined with the outlandishly affordable price I wondered how it was possible... but it is. The Matterhorn is a lovely motel, with a fun location in downtown Sedona. It's comfortable, clean, beautiful-- everything you'd want. And did I say affordable? Yes. Quite. The staff was great and the dog-friendliness such a great touch. Oh-- and after cleaning bugs off our windshield repeatedly on our road trip-- the "Guest Windshield Cleaner Bucket" waiting for us had us rolling-- and grateful! Thank you so much, Matterhorn!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbbts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear pbbts,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers! We appreciate your kind comments and we are thrilled that we were successful in making your stay memorable. We are pleased that you found our Windshield Cleaning Bucket to be helpful to you, especially after having been on the road for some time. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just left yesterday from our favourite spot in Sedona. We stayed at the Matterhorn Inn for 4 days and wished we had stayed longer. From my phone call on the side of the road requesting early check in with 2 hours notice to towels provided to wash our bikes, the managers Barry and Becky could not be more accommodating. Anything we needed they provided along with information on where to eat and visit. They were warm and friendly and had time to visit and share there stories of sedona and area. The hotel is in the best location one could ask for and is extremely clean and well looked after with upgrades from last year. The carpets were clean as I am always in my bare feet as was the balcony. The beds are comfortable with some having been replaced and the air conditioner if left on low if comfortable. The town quivers down at night so you can open the windows for the nice evening breezes. After staying in 10 other hotels on our trip this was the best and we plan to return every year. Kudos to Barry and Becky.

Room Tip: We like bottom floor close to the road so no one beside us on the one side. Best patio location. To...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianneharleygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Dianneharleygirl3,

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful comments. We are always happy to have you come back and stay with us. It is great to know that you will continue to stay with us each year, and we are honored to be your very first choice when you come to Sedona. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year!

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

There was a beautiful view from our patio. The owners were very accommodating and gave us a king room on very short notice. The room was 3 times as big as a normal hotel room. Great pool and hot tub deck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MLE0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear MLE0904,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was our pleasure to provide a nice room for you on short notice. It is great that you were able to relax with a soak in the Jacuzzi, and that you found the views from your patio to be better than expected. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We would not recommend this hotel. Location is fantastic but the room was not clean. There was a bad odour in the room and the carpet was really dirty. My infant was crawling on the floor and her legs and clothes were dirty after a few minutes. The AC was loud and the beds were very small. Not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Clonagh2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Clonagh2004,

Thank you for your review; we appreciate all of the reviews our guests take the time to write about their stay at the Matterhorn Inn. We are glad that you liked our location, as it is quite convenient to see the entire Sedona area from our Inn’s central location. We apologize that your visit was less than perfect. The entire hotel was re-carpeted in February of 2014 as part of an interior renovation. We have shared your review with the staff and have looked at ways to change the ongoing cleaning regimen for checking and shampooing our carpets. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. We again apologize for failing to meet your expectations and be assured that it is important to us to be aware of any issues such as you mentioned so we may respond properly. We will certainly strive to eliminate the issues you mentioned and look forward to having you back to wonderful Sedona and the Matterhorn Inn.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

How wonderful to look at the stunning Sedona red rocks at sunset from your patio at the Matterhorn Inn in the heart of uptown Sedona. Very clean large room with comfy beds, helpful staff, and plenty of parking for one's car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hursto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Hursto,

We thank you for your review and kind comments. It is fantastic that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breathtaking view from your room! We are delighted that you found your room to be rather comfortable, clean and well appointed. Our kind and helpful staff eagerly await to welcome you back again soon.

Well regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked based on a recommendation from a friend. Location is fantastic. Views are nice! Room size isn't bad though the closet is too small to place a full sized opened suitcase in and still close the door. Balcony patio is great.

Another reason we booked was because their website said they had pillow top beds with plush bedding. The mattresses are awful. Feels like sleeping on the floor. They're not pillow top-mattresses...just plain, cheap ones. Also note that the beds are doubles and not the standard queens you find in rooms with two beds.

Lastly the a/c is pretty loud. Finally turned it off as it kept causing my infant to startle in her sleep every time it kicked on and it did so frequently.

Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arizona_1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Arizona_1518,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is nice that you were referred to us by a friend of yours and that you found our location and views to be very great. However, it is unfortunate that you had a less than satisfactory stay overall. We understand your concerns about our air conditioning units. We often recommend to guests to have the fan speed on "low" so it doesn't blow as intensely. The temperatures at night are pleasant enough that you could leave a few windows open instead. We are disappointed that you will not elect to stay with us again, but if you should change your mind, our door is always open.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $99 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing