We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
“Nice place!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We loved the location and the spacious room. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and they have large bottles of water for only $1. We will certainly be back and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lexilu5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Lexilu5050,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you found your room to be spacious, clean and comfortable. Our friendly staff are always eager to assist our guests in any possible way. We also do have the lowest price in town for bottled water! Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    251
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
304
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This Inn is perfect for anyone looking to stay in the heart of uptown Sedona. Everything is within walking distance and the inn itself is awesome. Very comfortable beds and the staff is super friendly! ! Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Sedona.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Ryan L,

Thank you, we appreciate your kind and thoughtful comments. We agree that we do have an ideal location for those looking to stay in the heart of Uptown. Our views are great and we are glad that you found your room to be comfortable. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Well regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I chose this hotel because I was taking an art class across the street. Wanted to write this so the hotel would fix their internet connection. I had to go to the coffee shop( which I enjoyed ) behind the inn to get a fast internet connection. Other than that the price was right compared to the Best Western and the room was clean and nice.

Room Tip: I choose location because of access to the Art Center and I did not have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanpauloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear sanpauloo,

Thank you for writing a review for us, we certainly value your feedback. We are glad you chose to stay with us, both for the close proximity to your class, and our reasonable rates. Thank you for bringing the complimentary Wi-Fi speed to our attention. We will do our best to improve this flaw; as it is rather unfortunate that it hindered your stay with us terribly. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and your room was kept clean and comfortable overall. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at the Matterhorn Inn in Sedona. The location is superb. Located in upper Sedona on 89A, the inn is near great shopping and restaurants. The housekeeping was efficient, and kept our room very clean. After a day of hiking and exploring, we could count on our room being nicely cleaned and comfortable. Rooms have a balcony view of beautiful red rocks. We asked for a fan, for background noise, and the front office made sure we had one. I asked for an extra pillow and got one immediately. The staff was so helpful. I recommend this property to those traveling in Sedona. Makes for a nice home base. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Jenbrandi,

Wow! Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are ecstatic that we were successful in going above and beyond your expectations. Hats off to our wonderful staff, especially our housekeepers! It was our pleasure to provide prompt service, exemplary room accommodations and a memorable stay. We will continue to strive to provide an experience like you had to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Well regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The best things about the Matterhorn - location (can walk around the shops) and the view. The hotel itself is average. Thus the average of 4 stars (5 for the location and view, 3 for the room). We're happy we stayed there instead of a fancier but less convenient place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear David0514,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you loved our location, and that you chose to stay with us primarily for that reason. Our rooms are designed to have a cozy feeling-a nice place to rest, sit out, and enjoy the views after a day of shopping or hiking. We hope you will consider another stay with us.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We found the staff very helpful and kind. The Inn is close enough to walk to many of the
eateries, galleries and attractions. We would return. The Inn is high enough to offer a beautiful view of the red rocks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear ctraveler2,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and helpful, and our location to be ideal for your visit to Sedona. We hope to welcome you back soon for another weekend getaway!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at the Matterhorn Inn for 3 nights. Our room was on the first floor. The service was great, the room was clean, the views spectacular because you are right in the middle of town. The beds and bedding were great. The curtains were heavy duty so the light from the sliding glass door did not wake you up in the morning. Cable tv, wi fi.

My complaint is the guest noise that you hear when you are located on the first floor. You hear talking, walking, dropping, tv and the dragging of the patio furniture. Also the window behind the sink is not covered so the light of the early sunrise will wake you up if you are sensitive to the light in the morning. If you have good hearing and are sensitive to people noise, try to get a second floor room. We plan to stay at the property again, but only on the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Remy2011,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to voice your opinions. It is great that you enjoyed the views from your room and that you were comfortable during your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the bathroom windows letting in light in the mornings. We will look into adding blinds to those windows as a possible solution. We would love to welcome you back for another stay, in an upstairs room as you had mentioned. We thank you again, and hope to hear from you soon to book your next stay.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing