We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - That Was Nice!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2008

So, when we booked the Matterhorn, we were a little concerned because the pictures made it look like a generic Motel 6/Super 8 type of general roadside motel. We trusted the reviews we read, which indicated it was a very nice place for the price.

The reviews somewhat understated the matter.

We're talking Sedona, so first, the view: it's excellent. We were on the second (and top) floor, but the way the place is built, you're going to have a beautiful view from either floor. All rooms have balconies facing the exact same way, so there's no chance you'll be looking at someone's backyard. One caveat: you will also be looking, in part, at some retail across the street, but luckily, everything in Sedona is done relatively tastefully, so it's your choice whether to stare at an earth-toned restaurant or red earth - probably 2/3 of your view is red rock.

You get the view of retail because the hotel is "downtown". Don't freak. Downtown Sedona is rather quiet, and the sidewalks pretty much roll up at...6pm. Seriously. Noise and congestion are not issues.

The room was extremely nice and plenty big. The bed was excellent. There's a good-sized flat screen TV in the room, along with a little refrigerator. Sitting on your balcony and staring out at Snoopy Rock is awesome.

The rest was nice too - the staff was very friendly. There's a pool area with a fire pit and a pool that was heated to an appropriate temperature. There's no nickel and diming, just a 75 cent soda machine.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ucla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 660 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2008

I agree with the positive Tripadvisor reviews for the Matterhorn. The location is excellent, with great views. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, staff is good and rates are very reasonable. The beautiful Sedona area is quite commercial, though what popular tourist destination isn't and there is ongoing road and highway construction. During our 3 day stay we experienced meals that ranged from mediocre at the Javelina Cantina to absolutely delicious lemon ricotta pancakes at The Wild Flower. We plan to return and will certainly stay at the Matterhorn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Haolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I would have to agree what a great location, right on Main Street where all the action is till about 8, then whole town closes shop! We stayed two nights in a large, king size room, it was the last room on top floor by the church. This place is spotless and very comfortable. Yeah the bathroom is small but remodeled and CLEAN! Like the other review who cares you are there to enjoy the Red Rocks, which we did! We took the Pink Jeep tour, fanastic!!! Matterhorn had a 10% discount coupon. Will was our driver, he was a trip!!! Very knowledgeable and eager to share it all! We enjoyed the Matterhorn so much we booked another night on the way back from the Grand Canyon! We had another room upstairs that was even bigger with a flat screen and sky light! The beds, linens, towels are great! Great value!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

My husband decided on a little trip to Sedona after researching on trip advisor. What a find! We loved the Matterhorn Inn. THe staff was welcoming. Our room was clean and comfy. The bed a gem and all the linens were freshly laundered. A plus for me. The pool was sparkling and warm. Everything is a short walking distance. Be forewarned, EVERYTHING closes EARLY!! Do your shopping and strolling before 7pm!!
We most definitely will be back very soon!
PS. Must try the jeep excursion through Farrabee's Rentals. Helpful staff and what a great way to experience Sedona. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank basquegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

What can I say.......This hotel is right where you want to be....you are footsteps from all the great shops and food. The hotel staff is very friendly and go the extra mile to help you. we had our A/C go out and within 30 minutes it was fixed and are willing to help 24/7...The only issue with this hotel is the small bathrooms but your not here to hang out in there. I recommend requesting a top floor for optimal views...Pool here was very clean and kept and a temperature relative to the air temperature. We will definately be staying here again

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank apd1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

This hotel's best feature is it's location - right where you need to be!! The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and very clean. The decor is pleasant, everything worked and was in good order - there was nothing to complain about. One of the fairest prices we could find in Sedona. Less than five minute walk to the Pink Jeep Office, less to the Cowboy Club :-) and shops galore!! I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a well situated base.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Just back from my first weekend in Sedona & stay @ the Matterhorn Inn. Planned the weekend on short notice & took a chance on the Matterhorn, primarily because of reviews on TripAdvisor.com!

We had a 2 double bed room on the 2nd floor-yes, the rooms are small & the bathroom, especially the tub/toilet room (VERY tiny!). However, the beds are very comfy (better than the higher priced hotel we stayed at in Phoenix last night!) complete w/fitted bottom sheets! Towels very thick & plentiful. Free wi-fi worked fine. Fridge, for free, was a very nice touch & the cable tv lineup was much more extensive than what is typically found in a hotel. Staff were very helpful & responsive-couldn't ask for better. Word to the wise-if you book thru their website, there is no option to ask for a AAA discount, but staff applied it upon arrival when we asked about it. All their rooms face onto the main street in Uptown Sedona, but don't let that worry you-the sidewalks roll up very early & even on a Saturday night, there was no problem w/street noise keeping us awake. I would definately stay there again.

One thing in Sedona I would pass on is breakfast @ the Coffee Pot Restaurant, home of '101 omelets'. Definately doesn't live up to its billing-hash browns weren't cooked, bacon was over cooked, & the 'omelet' was more like a pile of scrambled eggs. The Hitching Post Restaurant just down the street from the Matterhown is a much better choice.

The Matterhorn will provide a coupon for 10% off on a Pink Jeep Tour, which we used. FYI-the 'Scenic Rim' tour is simply a drive up Schnebly Hill Dr to Merry-Go-Round Rock.

All in all, a very nice weekend & I look forward to another stay @ the Matterhorn Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank txrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $146 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing