We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matterhorn Inn
Nearby Hotels
$180
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$285
$259
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$206
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$619
$510
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Summit Resort(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$525
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
356
266
54
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
266
54
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuptown sedonagreat locationshops and restaurantsred rockswithin walking distanceprivate balconysnoopy rockfirst floorrooms are largeawesome viewscomfortable roomno elevatorsmall fridgewould stay here againa great place to staystayed one nightpink jeep tours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 688 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Matterhorn Inn can save you my friend, in this land of $300 plus a night rooms. Their location is in the heart of a retail area with restaurants and shops for convenient walk to everything if you like. Your car is next to you, and always ample parking when we were there. Every room has a million dollar view through wide sliding glass doors onto your private balcony. That same room is very large, clean, furniture is in great shape, and well-appointed with flat screen TV, reading lamps, upholstered/cushy chair, desk, refrigerator etc.

But, I was floored by the details, these guys have it down, and could teach Hilton and the W a thing or two. In fact I will mention them both. One, we all know that an average room is two people, some rooms even have multiple beds, but still even knowing this every hotel in America only has one luggage rack to fight over - well the Matterhorn has two, rocket scientist by comparison I tell you. Two, you know how every hotel in America likes to say they are worried about the environment so please don’t ask us to give you clean towels in the morning, but then put a 4 inch thick comforter on every bed forcing you to turn the air conditioning down to 60 degrees - well once again our guys placed a thin blanket and sheet on the bed, then another thin blanket and sheet on top of that, and let you decide on level of comfort. Don’t even get me started on windshield washing kit available at the lobby….

Room Tip: Single loaded corridor (backside outside walkway) so all rooms face the mountain view. All have balcony or terrace.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear HelloJoeOne,

Wow! Thank you very much! It was our pleasure to provide you with such comfortable and practical accommodations along with top notch service. We truly keep our guests in mind with our room amenities and our seasonal bedding adjustments. We thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were tired and had no reservations so we turned into the 1st place we saw. This is a lovely, family owned Inn. Every room had a great view. The staff was very helpful. Everything was in walking distance. It is possible that places on the east side of the road have a better view but we loved the Matterhorn Inn.

Room Tip: Every room overlooks the main drag and has a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Buck S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you were comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly do have excellent views! The Matterhorn Inn has been in Sedona for many years, so long that the shops that are across the street now did not exist! We had the complete canyon view in the early years until more development inhabited the east side of the street. We hope you will return in the future to enjoy our accommodations once more.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is very cute and unique. The toilet/shower area is very small but clean. The living area is spacious with beautiful views from the large sliding glass door. We stayed at the end of Oct, it was chilly but the heater was too noisy to leave on. The comforter was very warm so we were comfortable all night. Bed & pillows were comfy. We were on the first floor and there was noise from the people upstairs. The location is great - just walk out the door and you can walk to restaurants and stores. It's pet friendly and the room rates are great. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbandRay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear BarbandRay L,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback in your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, with our central location and room views. We are sorry to hear the heating unit was noisy for you, but we are pleased that the bedding was adequate for warmth. Our limited pet friendly rooms are located on the first floor. We hope you will consider another stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A rushed booking as the Grand Canyon was closed!!! Stunning views of Camel rock and Snoopy rock from the bedroom windows.Helpful staff. Nice pool and great hot pool. A very short walk from bars and restaurants. Sedona was wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boarders1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Boarders1954,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location in Uptown, excellent views from your room, along with our hot tub and heated pool. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the future on your way to see the Grand Canyon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

After driving all around sedona looking for somewhere to stay we ended up turning off the main road to find the entrance of The Matterhorn.
Welcomed by the girl on reception I didn't get her name !!! Asked to look at a room which she showed us without hesitation ,what a view overlooking the main road to the mountains beyond couldn't even see the road because of the way it's situated ,took the room without hesitation !!,
The room had all you needed coffee maker, refrigerator, tv ,lovely king sized bed just right for a good nights sleep .
We intend to return to Sedona next year for another road trip around this area as one day here is not enough !!
Will stay here again this is the ideal situation here in Sedona ,just a shame we didn't plan better !,
Ideal place to spend time ,also has a pool and hot tub and next time we will use them !!,
Reading other reviews I'm not sure what they were looking for I found the room fine !,
If there are any negatives maybe the bathroom is small ,but all you want to do is wash there !!!
I'm writing this looking out from the bed in the room right now overlooking the mountains before departing for Oatman it's 8am and the sun is shining over the mountains ,absolute heaven !l

Room Tip: We had room 39 and its a great view to the mountains ! !no noise and restful
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrissyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear chrissyboy,

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy all that the Matterhorn Inn had to offer; including our welcoming staff, comfortable room along with its amenities and of course, the breathtaking red rock view. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews