We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unexpected delight”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After we checked in, we opened our curtains and just couldn't believe our good fortune...the view of the rocks outside was spectacular. I posted some pics on facebook, and people could NOT BELIEVE our spot. We loved the sunny patio and the exterior plants are a really nice touch. For 2 of our 4 evenings there, we ate dinner or had a drink on our patio.

Although the Matterhorn Inn is an older place -- and hard to get an initial impression from the storefronts and flags out front -- it is very clean, well taken care of and in an incredibly convenient spot in the heart of the charming town of Sedona. If you pay attention to details like the window treatments, the excellent shower and all the other little amenities, you'll see that the owners (and housekeepers) take pride in their place. I LIKE THAT, because I'm sure it's easier and cheaper to take shortcuts.

We stayed in #25 with our dog, and it was roomy and spotless. A great value, too.

We just love Sedona, and we'll be back to this excellent property. Thanks for making us feel so comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YukiKabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear YukiKabuki,

Thank you for sharing your photos and positive feedback with your friends and future guests! It was certainly our pleasure to make you feel at home and very comfortable during your stay. We are very fortunate to have such gorgeous views from every room and we are so pleased you were able to take full advantage of your private patio. We are also very grateful for our excellent staff members, who have been able to keep our rooms spotless and in the best possible order for the age of the structure. We thank you again and we hope to see you again for a return visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 671 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip and had a fabulous stay. We had room 27 and very much liked sitting out on the balcony over looking the awesome red rocks. The crew at the front desk were very helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfy. This place is right in the heart of Sedona and the location couldn't be better. We are very glad that we stayed here and would not hesitate to book a room again if we find ourselves in Sedona again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear 63impala,

Thank you very much for all of your kind comments. We are very happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted that we were able to accommodate you with excellent guest service, a great view and sparkling clean accommodations. We look forward to having you as return guests.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been updated and the rooms are beautifully decorated, roomy, very comfortable. Good location, service, and a beautiful view from the patio. Easy walk to town with lots of shops and places to eat. I would stay here again. Sedona is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninaof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear ninaof9,

Thank you for your review contribution. We are happy to hear that you found our guest service to be helpful and our accommodations to be spacious, comfortable and convenient. We do our best to make improvements when we can throughout our property, keeping it clean and updated for our guests. We certainly hope you will come back to stay with us when you return to Sedona.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was very impressed by our stay in Sedona at the Matterhorn inn....after a long drive from los Angeles through a monsoon on the 10 freeway, the drive into Sedona and checking in was all problem free. The rooms are clean and modern and the bed.....sooo comfy....I usually don't sleep well in hotel beds but this was exceptional....we stayed at two more hotels in AZ....the one hotel in monument valley didn't come close and it was twice the price....I will definitely stay at the matterhorn again when I come back to Sedona....JJ

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janny91214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Janny91214,

Thank you very much for your review! It is wonderful that we were successful in exceeding your expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed the comfortable bed and linens and that you were able to sleep well while you were here. Our guest service staff does everything they can to make your stay easy and convenient, especially after a long drive or flight. We hope to have you as return guests in the future.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived in Sedona after a long drive through AZ, We fell in love with the landscape and decided to stop for the night, we ended up staying two nights.
The Matterhorn Inn was well priced, Very comfortable, with large bed and a balcony that overlooked the rocky mountains.
Free WI Fi, large pool which we didn't swim in as we were to busy sight seeing :(

Room Tip: Choose top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Holmay,

Thank you for choosing the Matterhorn Inn and reviewing your stay! We love it when our guests start out with just a one night stay and decide to add additional nights. We are so glad you were able to venture out and see the beautiful sights rather than stay indoors. Thank you for your positive feedback and we would be delighted to welcome you back as guests the next time you visit.


Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The view from the rooms and the location can't be beat. Snoopy rock is right in front of the balcony. The front office manager was very helpful. She gave us excellent recommendations on where to hike and dine. The room was basic but very clean. However, the AC in our unit was loud. It woke me up whenever it came on.That and the big bed pillows were not conducive for a good sleep. If those two things are fixed I think the Matterhorn is a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: higher floor is better for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank codep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear codep,

Thank you for the helpful feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to sleep well during your stay. We had recently placed new pillows in the rooms and they can be firm at first. We do have spare pillows available at the front desk which are not as firm. We are glad that you found our room views and location to be favorable. Our A/C units work hard to cool the room by blowing a lot of air, particularly on the high fan speed with a low temperature. We have found that using a low fan speed and changing to a higher temperature will have the unit turn on less frequently and be less noticeable. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you will consider a return visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This past Labor Day weekend, we checked in at the Matterhorn Inn. After looking at several places online and not finding a single availability, the Matterhorn Inn was all that was available. Needless to say we were very impressed.

Becky was friendly and went out of her way to fit us 4 Adults and 3 children in a single bedroom and didn't charge us extra. The room itself was clean, a little bit small, but had a large porch with a spectacular view of the red rocks and uptown Sedona. The location is perfect for walking to virtually all the stores and restaurants.

The bathroom didn't have a working lock which is a bit of an annoyance with small children running about, but that's our only complaint.

After checking out, we asked Becky if we could leave our car in the parking lot while we had lunch and walked around town for a few more hours. She's was very accommodating and said "yes" with a smile on her face.

Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Daniel A,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that we had exceeded your expectations by providing you with excellent guest service with a smile. As with most busy holiday weekends in Sedona, lodging can become scarce in this stunning, yet sought after location. Our rooms are best suited for no more than 4 people in one room. Thus, we do not always have that many people in just one room, but we were happy to help you in a bind. We thank you for your kind recommendations to friends and family. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $156 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matterhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing