We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated Reivew. DO NOT STAY HERE.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated Reivew. DO NOT STAY HERE.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Overrated on trip-advisor. I booked this Inn base on its review. To my experience. Do not read the high rating review, read the poor one, it will give you the fact.
Spent over $350 on 2 rooms was wasted. Nothing fancy, old, outdated inn, dirty linen, dirty carpet, dirty ice box, old bathtub and toilet. No parking assigned for over $150/room/night. There is limited parking.You have to haul your luggage from distance if you all parking is taken. Good luck to folk that is handicraft. When complained to front desk about the parking. I got the answered "Oh, Well". Blonde, female lady in front desk was totally rude. No need to stay Uptown of Sedona. It is tourist trap. Stay away. It is only 5'-15' drive from lots of places are nicer and cheaper. Butterfly Inn is the best. Sky Ranch is the great place to watch sunset or sun rise. Enchantment is beautiful, but way too expensive, just for spending the night, unless you are rich. Lodging is so expensive in Sedona, one day is quite enough to see red rocks. Where-ever you go around Sedona, there is red rock. Rancher at the park was not every friendly. If lodging was reasonable, my family would spend more time in Sedona. It is not worth the money, just to see the red rock.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    247
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
130
302
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. (Room 42) The staff was great, friendly and knowledgable. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony and enjoying the incredibly view. Our accommodations were good and i'll be back ...I diffidently recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Carla B,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was so helpful to you during your stay. We are delighted that you had a relaxing time enjoying the view from your private deck. We agree that our views are quite incredible! We look forward to your return visit. Thank you for the recommendation—we truly appreciate it.
Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went online to book this hotel after inquiring into several around town on our way up to the Grand Canyon. We stayed 2 nights with a balcony room overlooking the Red Rocks. Even though we were on main street, it was quiet. Very clean. Staff was friendly and very courteous. I definitely recommend this hotel. It is very centrally located to good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mary P,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our motel. We agree that although we are in the Uptown area, our location on a hill makes for a quiet, relaxing ambiance. We are pleased to know the room exceeded your cleanliness standards, and that our staff gave you friendly, courteous service. We thank you for your recommendation. Our staff is happy to know we gave you a wonderful stay. We hope that on your next trip to Sedona you may choose to stay with us again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poconos PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Matterhorn from 5/28/13 - 6/3/13 and we were very pleased with the room, the view, the staff and the location. If you like walking out of your door and having the shops and the restaurants on your doorstep this is the place for you. If you like a room with a view, this is the place for you. If you like a clean room that is serviced and cleaned every day, this is the place for you. We did not have a need to interact with the management but check-in and out was a breeze, and not having to contact management means that our stay went without a hitch. Other reviews complain about thin walls, we were on the second floor and therefore had no noise above us but we did not experience any noise from next door rooms either. We did have a chance to interact with the housekeeping staff, only because we went for breakfast early and returned to the room before 10 a.m. and our room was always serviced by then. The housekeeping staff at the time would be busy servicing check-out rooms but they always took the time to say hello, answer any questions, and fulfill any requests. We have not experienced a more friendly, professional and skilled housekeeping staff, even at 5* motels. This property is an older property but it has been remodeled and maintained perfectly. Hats off to the owners, management, and staff of the Matterhorn.

Room Tip: check out the wildflower deli and bakery located down the street by the Hyatt. we ate breakfast, lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDrashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear TheDrashers,
Thank you for giving feedback of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience. It is terrific to know you were pleased with our location, room, view and staff. We try our best to give every guest a comfortable, relaxing stay and we hope to have done that for you. We are very humbled to hear that our housekeeping service exceeded your experience than that of a 5 star location. It is our pleasure to give you the best experience possible. It is always gratifying to hear that our staff, managers and housekeepers have done our job well. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly hope to see you again the next time you are in the Sedona area.
Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

After a long drive we were happy to arrive at the Matterhorn. The room was clean and the balcony overlooking the street and red rocks was fantastic. I was travelling with a friend, and found it quite comfortable for the two of us. Front desk staff were very friendly and gave us some restaurant choices, but not knowing the town at all, I think maybe the suggestions were all on the strip and pricey. West Sedona has other options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear sueb18,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your room and red rock view. We want all of our guests to have a pleasant, comfortable stay when they visit our inn. Guest satisfaction is important to us, including dining recommendations. We give recommendations based on restaurant type that they request, such as “walking distance only,” “Italian,” “Steakhouse,” etc. We agree that West Sedona, along with many other areas of town, have wonderful dining options. We hope to give you a great dining recommendation on your next stay with us. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place was perfect for a relaxing stay in Sedona. We spent alot of time on the balcony enjoying the stellar views of the red rocks. The rooms are large, adequate and clean but not a spa experience if that's what you desire. The price was more than fair too. Location for exploring the shops and galleries was perfect. We were worried about noise at night since it is on the main drag but it was quiet and peaceful and we slept soundly. We will definitely return to the Matterhorn Inn.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olyhulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear olyhulagirl,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It is our goal to offer guests a clean, comfortable room with a great location and wonderful red rock views. We are glad to hear you had a relaxing stay. We think our location is a great advantage to guests who want to shop and dine without the need of a car. As the shops nearby close at dusk, it makes for quite a peaceful environment at our location. Again, thank you for your review and we hope you choose the Matterhorn Inn again on your next visit to Sedona.
Well regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Matterhorn Inn were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and updated. Each room has a patio or balcony. We took our small dog and they provided a doggie welcome bag with treats. Overall, it was the perfect choice for us...good value and walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank prncess4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear prncess4x4,
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased that our inn and services met the needs of you and your pet during your stay. We are also pleased to know our staff was helpful to you during your visit. Your comments validate our efforts in ensuring our guests’ have a relaxing, comfortable stay with us. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again the next time you are in the Sedona area.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing