We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of downtown with a magnificent view of the red rocks to the east.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“In the heart of downtown with a magnificent view of the red rocks to the east.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

TheMatterhorn Inn is all about the location. It simply could not be better. Get a second story room and you can sit out on your balcony and watch the world go by. When you get hungry or you feel like shopping its all there a few steps from your room. The only cons I would mention are small niggling ones. There was just a hint of nastiness in our room. We had our balcony door open anyway so no problem unless you are hyper sensitive to smells. The other quibble is a smallish bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Rick M,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our location in Uptown Sedona’s dining and shopping district. We agree that it cannot be beat! We hope you enjoyed the view from your private deck. A great view is a guarantee from all of our rooms. Our bathrooms may not be the largest, but they provide guests with everything they need, including a vanity area separate from the bathroom. It is unfortunate to hear about the aroma in your room. We encourage guests to contact the front desk during their stay so we can remediate concerns such as this. We hope you may return again so we can offer you a great night’s stay in a comfortable room. Again, thank you for writing a review and we appreciate your feedback.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    245
    49
    4
    3
See reviews for
128
298
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great value for a hotel in Sedona. Location was also a plus. The front desk was extremely helpful in making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Rooms were nice and clean. I have to give an extra thank you to them for letting us borrow a microwave during our stay. No microwave was in our room, so the front desk person let us borrow their personal microwave during our stay. Much appreciated when traveling with a toddler!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjboom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear rjboom77,
Thank you for your valued feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff wants to make every guest have the most enjoyable stay possible, and we are glad we exceeded those expectations for you. We may put a microwave in a guest’s room upon request (we have some available solely for guest use), and we are more than happy to accommodate such a request. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you and your family in the near future.
Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I didn't know what to expect from this small, independent motel, but what I had to have was a good view from my room (parking lot views would not qualify!). So I called to ask if all rooms had views of the rocks. They do, so you don't need to call to ask! So, yes, the view was gorgeous, and it kept changing as the sun changed position.

The room was also exceptionally designed and very comfortable. So comfortable, in fact, that we hardly ever wanted to leave it. We left only for scheduled tours and for meals, and here we were also lucky because the location is very central. We could walk to a number of eating places.

All in all, it was one of the most memorably nice places I have ever stayed. It's a bit expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lstr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear lstr8,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our inn. All of our rooms face the red rocks of uptown, so all guests are guaranteed a sweeping mountain vista from their private deck. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your room. We like to keep it neatly decorated and comfortable for our guests. Visitors have access to many shops and eateries from our location, without the need of a car. We offer specials and packages at certain times of year and we encourage you to visit our website to make sure you find the best possible rate for your stay with us. Our goal is to give guests a positive, memorable stay with us, and we are happy to know we have given that to you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees summit, missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Clean room, comfortable bed,good location, amazing views. We will be back! An excellent value in sedona. The Matterhorn is within walking distance to shops and restaurants, a short drive to many trail heads. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanB829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear JeanB829,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found you rooms to be clean and the view to be amazing. We agree that based on our views and location, we are an excellent value. Our location gives guest many shopping and dining options in uptown Sedona, with trail heads just a short drive away. We hope our staff made you feel at home—we want our guests to always feel welcomed and comfortable when they stay with us. We look forward to your return!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Incredible views from any room. Clean, sizable rooms with excellent customer service focus. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Good location with easy access to West Sedona. Sedona uptown (tourist area where the hotel is) shuts down at 8 PM and you can't get breakfast past 10 AM so you will likely travel the few miles to West Sedona. Only "drawback" to the Matterhorn is lack of easily used outlets in the room. A minor inconvenience in comparison to the value, quality of friendly service, and location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear keeffers,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We agree that the views from all of our rooms are quite spectacular. Our staff is driven towards giving the best service possible, with recommendations and assistance in any way we can. We are in the heart of Sedona’s shopping and district with West Sedona only a short drive away, where there are even more dining options for visitors. Our rooms may not have the largest abundance of outlets, but we sometimes have multi-outlet extension cords available for guests to borrow upon request. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The views were so great that we scheduled time in the midafternoon to sit on the patio and enjoy the views. The room was immaculate, and all the employees were wonderful. The only negative was the thin walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Kathy T,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view from your room. We are glad you found your room to be immaculate and well-kept. It is also great to hear you found our staff to be wonderful as well. We always do our very best to give guests the best experience possible when they stay with us. We are currently working on a project that will enhance our sound-proofing capabilities. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had an excellent stay with operators (Sharon and her husband) that really care about their guests.The microwave I asked for plus a basket of chocolate for my honey were in the room waiting for us upon our arrival. The room was delightful, clean with just enough furinture to allow you space to move about. Sharon worked out a nice deal for me so over all, it was the nicest visit we'd had in Sedona in 10 years. I highly recommend you to stay there and tell them Marty & Sharon sent you.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have that great view of the red rocks of Sedona.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Marty P,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear our managers Becky and Barry made you feel welcome. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room during your stay. We like to think our rooms are delightful too, being a nice size with space to move about. Again, thank you for your warm words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing