We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excuse to visit Sedona, Az.”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisville, Pa.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another excuse to visit Sedona, Az.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just to make your visit to Sedona all the more pleasant, stay at the Matterhorn Inn. It's situated right in the heart of uptown Sedona where you can enjoy all of the shops, restaurants, and breathtaking views. Great staff, comfortable lodgings, and a more than reasonable price. You'll love this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mother79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear mother79,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad our staff exceeded your expectations and that your room was comfortable and fitting to your needs. We agree that our prime location is perfect for visitors who want to be in the heart of Sedona’s most popular area for dining, shopping and sightseeing. We always want our guests to receive the best possible rates, and we encourage you to check our web site for seasonal offers and packages for your next stay with us!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    254
    52
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
305
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Incredible view of the red rocks! The staff were very helpful, with all kinds of tips for activities. Handy location. The rooms are clean, not really fancy. Great location. Bonus views from the shower in our room!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dineOwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear dineOwine,
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the view from your room, and that our staff could give you great recommendations. We are always eager to give our guests tips on activities to do and eateries to go to while vacationing in town. We are also glad you enjoyed your clean room, which is always a guarantee when you stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next Sedona visit!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've stayed at the Matterhorn Inn three times now and every time it gets better! The location is perfect. It's centrally located in uptown Sedona, so you can walk to anything you desire. The views are magnificant, with your own private balcony. The pool area with fireplace (which we didn't use this time since it was August) is the perfect setting. This was our first time at the Matterhorn with the new managers Kathy & Dale, who were a treat to deal with. They made our stay even better then it had been in the past. We will be returning to the Matterhorn with every visit we make to Sedona!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Ravenlab,
Thank you for your review! It is always a treat to hear from our repeat guests. We agree that our location is wonderful—right in the center of Uptown Sedona. Our views cannot be beat as well! We hope you can return during our cooler months to take advantage of the outdoor fireplace, which is always a great way to relax at night. We are pleased to hear that our new management was warm and welcoming for you—the Matterhorn Inn is in very good hands with them here! We anticipate your future visits and wish you safe travels.

Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were lucky enough to find the Matterhorn Inn in Sedona, AZ on our recent cross country trip. This wonderful motel is located among much higher priced places in Sedona. Don't serve a continental breakfast but didn't matter because there are WONDERFUL places in Sedona to have breakfast at a reasonable price. Can't say enough about how wonderfully the staff treated us. Extremely clean and quiet. Don't be fooled by the fact that the Matterhorn is an older inn. Has been completely refurbished while keeping its original small inn charm. We will always remember our stay there while visiting Sedona.

Room Tip: EVERY room has a wonderful view of the breathtaking scenery!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jleuying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear jleuying,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you found us during your cross-country trip through Sedona. Although we do not serve breakfast, we are within walking distance of at least three places that do, and we usually offer a discount card for one of them. We are happy to hear our staff was accommodating and welcoming—we always want our guests to have a wonderful stay! Although we are in the heart of Uptown Sedona, our location is quite peaceful, especially at night when most of the shops close. Although our inn is a bit more historic than some of the other lodging choices in town, we have kept up with the modern expectations of the hospitality industry, with amenities such as free Wi-Fi and a mini-fridge in the rooms. Thank you for your feedback and we surely hope to see you again!
Well wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel offers quality accommodation with excellent views, hot tub, pool, balcony, en-suite, free wi-fi, free car park and a particularly welcoming reception. It is also positioned in the centre of Sedona where everything the town represents is within yards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Seenoff,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Matterhorn Inn! We are always striving to give quality accommodations to all of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the view from your room—we always guarantee a great view for all of our visitors. We are always happy to make our guests feel welcome and give them the best service and experience possible. We agree that our location is wonderful—it is right in the center of Sedona’s most popular dining and shopping district, where most visitors want to be. We thank you for your review and we hope to accommodate you in the future.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

excellent room with fridge, coffee and tea facilities and a balcony with a view of sedona. They also have a great pool. Price is high for the states but worth it for the view, shops and restaurants. We stayed during cowboy day which was great fun. hotel will also give you laundry power for the machines accross at the great western.
One day I was at the pool and an elderly couple who arrived early (and could not check in) were allowed to sit at the pool with their dog when the rules are clear about this - frankly I thought it was vile and very unhygenic, the staff seemed unconcerned when I mentioned this - dogs are allowed here and I noted one dog defacating outside the room and it was not cleared up by the owner.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the top floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amymajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear amymajik,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the room’s amenities and balcony view, as well as our pool area. Our rates are seasonally based on the flow of visitors to the area at certain times of year. We encourage you to check availability and seasonal offers on our web site to ensure you get the best rate during your stay. Although we are a pet-friendly inn, pets are not allowed in the pool area at any time. However, there is an exception for service pets. Under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), service pets may accompany their owners anywhere on the property, including pool areas. Some, but not all, service animals wear special collars or harnesses. We hope this helps to alleviate your concern with a pet in the pool area, even with the exception. The hygiene and overall welfare of our guests is very important to us and we have strict pet policies. Our staff continually walks the grounds and if we ever see that a guest has not cleaned up after its pet, we clean and disinfect the area immediately. Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently stayed for a three night, mid-week stay. I have stayed at several other resorts and smaller hotels in Sedona and West Sedona, and the Matterhorn was by-far the best place I have stayed. The price was very reasonable, the staff extremely friendly, amenities like the mini fridge, sink outside the bathroom, fast WiFi and several others were on par with the finest resorts. The morning view of red rocks is unbeatable as well! Uptown Sedona has a lot to offer out-of-town visitors and Matterhorn is in a perfect location to walk and see the sights. It's also nice that there is a pedestrian crosswalk directly out front of the hotel, as traffic can sometimes be heavy. After a long day of doing the touristy stuff, it was wonderful to come back and jump in the pool and lay out in one of the cozy and plentiful pool chairs.
After exploring everything Uptown has to offer, West Sedona was just a short drive from the hotel. When traffic gets heavy, it can be difficult at times to make a left turn across traffic, so it was nice to be able to make a quick right and not have to battle two lanes of traffic. It's the little things like that which made my stay all the more enjoyable. I will surely recommend the Matterhorn to all of my friends and I urge anyone looking for a place in Sedona to seriously consider staying at the Matterhorn.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #31 on upper level and the view from the balcony was AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Steven C,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted you were able to take full advantage of the amenities such as our mini-fridge and free Wi-Fi, and that you also had a relaxing time at the pool. Our deck chairs are equipped with soft cushions to make sun-bathing and relaxing more enjoyable. We agree that the views from our rooms are unbeatable—we are in a prime location for guests to enjoy the mountains from their private deck. We are glad you had the chance to explore Uptown Sedona—we are in an area that is very pedestrian-friendly with many crosswalks. It is always nice to see a guest find appreciation and take notice of the extra touches that make our inn stand out from the others. Again, thank you for your review and we anticipate your next visit with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Property: Matterhorn Inn
Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing