We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Best View!”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here many years ago so knew the view & room size would be good.
We were in room #40 (upstairs). Great room & unobstructed view. Shower/toilet area is a bit small, but functional. Large BA sink/counter area. Has coffee pot & SMALL fridge. No microwave FYI. Comfortable beds. Great wi-fi. Private balcony w/chairs & table. Owners are VERY accomodating. Decided to stay an extra night (Friday) & they made it possible by moving other incoming guests around (busy season). Definately recommend & if I need a hotel when I'm back here again I will stay here without a doubt!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinojeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear chinojeano,
Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed the view from your room. Every room has an unobstructed view of the mountains of Uptown Sedona. We are glad you took advantage of the amenities available as well. Although we do not have a microwave in every room, we have one available for our guests to rent free of charge. We are happy you could stay an extra night and that our staff was able to accommodate you to do so. We will always go the extra mile to make sure you have a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to your return to the Matterhorn Inn.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 670 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

This motel has fantastic views. If you want to be right in the middle of the artsy/touristy part of Sedona...this motel is clean, comfy, and a good value. If you want quiet and romance, this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Get second floor for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funnyfommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear biztripster,
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed the fantastic views from your room, all of which face the beautiful red rocks. We are in a prime location for visitors who want to dine and shop without the need of a car. We are glad you found us to be a good value and that our clean, comfortable rooms were accommodating. Due to our location, our surrounding area is lively during the day, but by nightfall everything winds down and Uptown Sedona is quite peaceful. Again, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Booked in here late as passing through. Went out for coffee in the morning and told the receptionist we would be checking out at 11am. At 10.50, the same member of staff rang and asked if we were looking to book another night. As we we're about to leave I declined. I won't bore you with polystyrene pillows and a sink that doesn't work,neither with glasses in the room, it's not that sort of place. It's adequate but not worth it,badly needs a makeover to survive and needs to stop calling ten minutes before checkout. On the other hand, if you liked a night in the museum....

Room Tip: Upstairs I guess, less noise, views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear MrandMrsSuitcase,
Thank you for your review. We strive to surpass our guest’s customer service expectations, and it is unfortunate to hear that our services were less than perfect for you during check-out. In the past, we have found that our guests are appreciative of knowing their room is available for a second night. We are a small, privately owned inn, and therefore can give extra personal attention to our guests. We have found that guests are pleased when we go the extra mile to accommodate them on a more personal level, such as with room availability. It is possible when you came to the front desk that we did not catch your room number when you passed through, and therefore received a call from us at check-out time. We hope you take this as a positive reflection of our staff, as we want to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible. Our inn was built in the 1960s and our repeat guests have complimented us on our strides to renovate and modernize over the years. We like to think of ourselves as having the best of both worlds: we are a somewhat historic piece of Sedona, yet we work to keep up with modern expectations of the hospitality industry. As for the concern with your sink, we encourage you to tell our staff of such instances so we can resolve the problem immediately. Thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope you return to the Matterhorn Inn on a future trip!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Matterhorn Inn for one relaxing evening to break up our southwest roadtrip. We received a friendly welcome, a complimentary newspaper, and I spotted a very quick lizard just outside the office door. Our room was uniquely decorated and the king size bed was VERY comfortable. You can't say enough for the breathtaking view of the Red Rocks from our balcony. Dinner at the Cowboy Club was delicious, just a two block walk from our hotel. All the shops closed down by 8 p.m. but open up bright and early! We enjoyed a most amazing ride down Oak Creek Canyon into Sedona-

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear DianeT48,
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! It is lovely to hear you were pleased with our warm and welcoming staff. It is also nice that you had the opportunity to spot some of the region’s natural wildlife during your stay—it is always a rare and exciting perk of visiting Sedona. We are glad you enjoyed your King-size bed, as well as the room’s décor. Many eateries in Uptown are just a short stroll from the motel and we are happy you found one to your liking. We hope you return to enjoy the breath-taking view again from your private balcony.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

No elevator, only stairs. Nice view though. Did not use the pool, filled with kids. Paperthin walls. The desk clerk told us when we arrived there was no one on duty after 10:00 pm, so had no one to call when the people next door to use decieded to party all night. Good location, could walk all over.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Charliesmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Charliesmom1,
Thank you for your review. Customer feedback is always appreciated! We agree that our small inn may not have an elevator (16 steps), but our staff is always willing to help carry luggage or assist them up the stairs whenever help is needed. It is unfortunate that you did not have a chance to use our pool, which is often a popular activity for our guests during our hot summers. Every so often we have guests who do not obey our quiet hours from 9 p.m. to 8 a.m. Please do not hesitate to let us know about a nighttime disruption! It is true that our front desk closes at 10 p.m., but we have a doorbell outside of our lobby for after-hour emergencies—our managers live on the property so someone is always available to help, even for noise complaints. We hope this gives you some reassurance to stay with us again.
Well wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My overall experience with this motel/Inn was very pleasant. The front desk people were very friendly, warm and willing to answer any questions. I have visited this Inn before and decided to come back. The location is great, no car needed to do shopping, eatting, etc. The only thing I regret is that the it is pricey. If you are an AARP member you get a discount but only if you are 62 and over? You can become an AARP member at age 50, pay annual dues but you do not get a break...
Will I come back? possibly but will shop around for other hotels/motels in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Every room at the Matterhorn looks out to the beautiful red rock mountains and the rock formations o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Debbie P,
Thank you for your review! We are pleased our front desk staff was accommodating—we are always willing to help our guests with recommendations, inquires or any other questions they may have. Unfortunately, we do not offer an AARP discount at our inn. The discount you probably received was our “Senior Experience” promotion, in which seniors receive 20% off their first night’s stay. The offer is seasonal and can only be booked online. We also offer a 10% discount to AAA members, offered year-round. Our rates are seasonal and reflect the flow of visitors to the area at certain times of year. We encourage you to come back, perhaps during a slower season when there are fewer travelers to Sedona. Please don’t hesitate to check our web site for seasonal offers!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have not stayed at your Inn in many years. We sure did enjoy are two night stay. We had our dog with us and the front desk clerk suggested a park we could take the dog to. We did that on the 2nd day and is was a nice park and we all enjoyed it. We also enjoyed the view and the rain storms. It sure was something to see the clouds hanging so low on the mountains.
The room was clean and it was in a good location for those nightly dog walks. The only thing that would have been nice was to have a ceiling fan in the room. We will be back soon for another visit to your fine Inn. We come up two Sedona often. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear david_pakk,
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with your dog and were able to spend time at the park. We are also glad you enjoyed the view from your room as well as the storm. Rain is always appreciated here during our hot Arizona summers because it cools down for a bit! The setting sun reflecting off the rainclouds also creates a gorgeous sunset. We are pleased you were satisfied with your room and its location-all of our pet-friendly rooms are on the ground floor to make it easier for dog walks. A ceiling fan in the room is a great suggestion—it is definitely something we will look into as a future investment for our guests. We look forward to your return in the future.
Warm Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $156 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matterhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing