We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”
Review of Matterhorn Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Inn
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had arrived after a 9 hour drive and were anxious to get out of the car. I saw the sign for the hotel and it advertised they had a spa. That was all I needed to decide where to stay. They gave us an upstairs room with a view. They all have good views of Sedona's red rock. The hotel sits near the middle of town so it is perfect for walking the strip to shop and eat. The room is was very large. The bathroom was strangely small. There is a nice balcony where you can sit outside. The bed was comfortable and they supplied many pillows and blankets. They also have a coffee pot in the room which lately I'm not seeing in all places we stay. We soaked in the spa for an hour which was perfect. The pool is also heated but we didn't use it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Andrea V,

Thank you!! We agree there is nothing better than being able to unwind in a nice hot tub after a long day on the road. We are glad that our pool facilities were clean and welcoming for your use. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the view from your spacious, clean and comfortable room. We definitely look forward to your return visit in the future!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Matterhorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 656 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just had to share my experience with the Matterhorn Inn. After calling around to hotels in the Uptown Sedona area, my husband and I found the Matterhorn to have the best rate. They not only had a great rate, but their location is exactly what we were looking for. We were within in walking distance to all the shopping and some great art galleries. Not only that, but the view from our room was nothing short of awe-inspiring. The staff was friendly and super helpful with any questions we had. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melliebean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Melliebean26,

Thank you for your review! We are certainly delighted that your recent stay with us was everything you were looking for! We hope this visit was just as relaxing and awe-inspiring than your visit was with us last year. We always love it when guests return for another stay, especially when they share their experiences with the Trip Advisor community! We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit.

All the Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Unfortunately I did not book when I first found this property so ended up paying way too much for a not very special motel. Yes, there was a view - but not till the next morning; when I arrived, it was snowing and the mountains were totally obscured by low lying clouds (April 14!) The heater (which was needed) worked well but was noisy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I picked this place because of its proximity to the Sedona Art Center and because I expected it to be less expensive. Next time I will look for a place that includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear LindaH3,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that our central location was ideal for you to walk to the Sedona Arts Center with ease, and that our staff was courteous and helpful. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the view from your room due to the unusual weather patterns that we have been experiencing. Sedona usually does not see snow in April! However, with or without snow, April is high season for Sedona; therefore our rates are a bit higher due to the large number of visitors and events in the area. Perhaps you would enjoy a future stay with us during a less busy time of year. We do hope you will keep us in mind the next time you are visiting Sedona.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have no idea how this place is rated so high. The walls are paper thin you can hear the people all around you. If you like quiet and comfort-go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanaMarie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Owner at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Jahlove,
Thank you for your review. We too are disappointed that your recent stay was far less than exceptional. It seems that the other guests around you were not observant of our quiet hours, from 9:00 p.m. to 8 a.m. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We are currently looking at options to mitigate noise transference from room to room and are very concerned when there are any noise complaints. Special sound materials will be used in the Matterhorn Inn’s rooms in the near future to resolve the noise issue. We hope that this change to the Matterhorn’s rooms will prevent any continuation of this problem in the future for our overnight guests. We again apologize for your less than perfect stay. Please contact us when you are planning another Sedona vacation so we may invite you to stay with as our guest (complimentary) to experience the “new and improved” Matterhorn Inn.
Sincerely,
Ralph Woellmer
Partner, Matterhorn Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Matterhorn Inn in Sedona. The rooms were spacious and clean and if you stay on the second floor you have a better view overlooking the street, shops and across Oak Creek to the colored mountains. If you are a senior, over 62, and book on line at least 3 days in advance you may be able to get an additional 10% off the room rate above the AARP or AAA rates which are discounted 10%. Staff was friendly. Location was great as we walked all the downtown shops along Hwy 89A. Special event was our anniversary.

Room Tip: Upstairs, room 34 or higher
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolf302m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Wolf302m,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We appreciate your valuable comments and your choice to celebrate your special Anniversary with us. It does pay to book online these days, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our special offer! We are also pleased to know that our accommodations were ideal for your visit. We hope to see you again next year!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had originally booked the Amara Resort and Spa in Sedona. However, a few days before leaving for our trip, we received an e mail from them stating that the hotel renovations to the pool and garden areas were behind schedule. My husband didn't want to stay in a hotel that was still undergoing renovations so they allowed us to cancel without any penalties. And, we certainly appreciated that they let us know prior to our departure.

We booked the Matterhorn literally two days before leaving for Sedona. Yes, it's a motel. That said, it's much nicer than your average motel. First, the rooms are very clean and well appointed. But, as is typical of most motels, you can hear some noise coming from other rooms more easily than you do in a hotel with interior corridors. However, by bedtime, everyone was asleep so it was really quiet and our king size bed was very comfortable. The bathrooms are basic but very functional. Check in was pleasant and efficient. The nice part is the view. In fact, all the rooms have lovely views of the red rocks and mountains.

The hotel is on the main road so it's really convenient to shops, restaurants and points of interest. And, at night, the town is very quiet. You don't hear ANY car noise at all. In fact, by 10:00 at night, there were barely any cars on the road.

Many of the residents of Sedona are either retirees or artists. Not many young people live here and there are only a couple of bars that stay open late. We were the last people to leave our restaurant and it was only 10:00!

The motel does have a small pool and outdoor jacuzzi but during the day, there are so many things to do and by the evening, the temperature drops by 20 degrees from the daytime highs so we never used their facilities. Since we were only in Sedona for one night, the Matterhorn perfectly suited our needs. If I were to stay here for several nights, I would probaby stay in one of the more posh resorts.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the red rocks of Sedona but the views on the second floor are a bit better becaus...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Manhattanmom,

Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are glad that we were able to meet your needs, and that you were able to enjoy our central location and clean rooms. Even though we are not a large resort, we still uphold high standards of cleanliness, comfort, convenience and service. We have found that keeping things simple but nice makes us a great place to stay while visiting Sedona, no matter how long of a stay.
We hope you will return for another visit, even if it's just a short one!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have stayed in Sedona several times, but this was our first stay at the Matterhorn Inn. We had decided to book here because of reviews we had read on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed.

The room was large and comfortable. As promised, we had an excellent view of the red rocks. Although our room opened up to the main street passing through Sedona, we did not notice any street noise at all.

As others pointed out, the chief advantage to staying here is that everything is so accessible. Walk out the door, and you are in the center of activity in Sedona. Dining, shopping, etc. are all right there.

We did not use them, but the pool and hot tub looked to be quite nice.

We did not interact much with the staff, but, when we did, they were friendly, courteous, and helpful. When I needed to print our boarding passes for the next day's fight, the desk clerk had a computer and printer all ready for me.

With all the advantages, the Matterhorn Inn is still very affordable.

If you are staying in Sedona, we recommend that you book at the Matterhorn

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear CCcoach,

Thank you for the spectacular review! We couldn't be happier that you chose to stay with us for the first time, and we hope it won't be the last! As yourself and other reviewers have mentioned, we couldn't agree more that the Matterhorn Inn definitely has a great location, our staff is friendly and helpful, and our rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matterhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Inn

Address: 230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336-4806
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#21 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $99 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the center of Sedona's famous uptown district, the Matterhorn Inn offers breathtaking views of the towering red rock pinnacles right from your private patio or balcony. Experience the trip of a lifetime with spacious and cozy accommodations and gracious amenities, all with a picturesque landscape that offers an unparalleled backdrop to your getaway. A number of attractions and activities are merely minutes away, literally just steps away from shops, restaurants and art galleries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Sedona
Matterhorn Motel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing