We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas of Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas of Sedona
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost Perfect Place”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Just returned from the Villas with my extended family(total of 6 of us) We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with loft. 1st floor bedroom had 2 single beds and to much furniture. Would have been better with a queen bed and loose some of the furniture. Couch on the main level pulled out into a bed but we did not use it. Loft area upstairs had a murphy bed which was used. Main Bedroom upstairs was HUGE with a King Size bed and had plently of extra room so our teenager bunked on the floor with a sleeping bag we had brought. Unit was a bit old decor mixed with new. Front Door when closed had poor sealing around it as we could feel the cold air come in. Also the huge picture window let in alot of cold air so we just keep the blind closed to try to help that. Other then that we enjoyed our visit. What would have made it perfect is if there was a washer & dryer in the unit for us to use

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatboro89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Stayed in a two bedroom w/ loft. First floor bedroom is connected to bathroom with a full size bed. Only thing 'missing' was a tv. Second floor bedroom is connected to bathroom with a king size bed. Only thing 'missing' was a larger tv. Loft sleeping area had full size murphy bed and access to upstairs bathroom. Living room had sleeper sofa. Clubhouse has Wii for kids to play. Weekly entertainment - Indian flute playing, story telling - and lots of crafts classes for the kids. Shoppe is not much at all. Laundry facility inexpensive and clean. Concierge was VERY helpful in rescheduling a cancelled tour to the Grand Canyon. Check-in and out were a breeze. Only thing didn't understand was the requirement to wash all dishes and put them back in the cupboards before we left or a charge may apply. SIDE NOTE: The tour company the resort uses to book their tours - Native American Journeys was excellent. Our tour guide (Joe) was knowledgable, flexible and we felt we not only saw but learned. AVOID TOURS BOOKED THROUGH GRAND CANYON TOURS.COM OR THE OLD WEST JEEP TOURS. Old West cancelled our tour - halfway to the grand canyon, we literally turned around and came back - because I requested a partial discount on our tour. The touted 'luxury mini-coach' was a rickety old van and our 'tour guide' was so difficult to hear over the noise made by the vibrating van, we couldn't hear what little information he was trying to tell us. Owner of Old West Jeep Tours basically screamed at me through the phone because I 'dared' to ask for what I paid for. The tour booked through the resort was less expensive, we were picked up at the guest lobby, the guide was knowledgable beyond belief - this was obviously a passion of his ... we were fortunate that the original tour was cancelled and that we hooked up with Native American Journeys.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLLColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

What a fabulous resort. From the moment we checked in until we left we were pleased and comfortable!
We had a 2 bedroom (unit 10). I was a little worried that our room would be outdated but that was not the case at all. The landscaping and guest services were amazing. As soon as we checked in, we were directed to the concierge desk to the left. The two ladies were great. They told us of the events going on that week and gave us suggestions for places to eat and tour companies. They were not pushy at all and really friendly. There were 2 computers you could use. Both had a 30 minute time limit, but I never had to wait and there was never anyone else waiting when I was done. There were also printers available if you need to print boarding passes. We used the hot tub one night after a long day of walking. It was fabulous. The previous reviewer mentioned the other property, Sedona Springs. You can use all the facilities at that property too, including the hot tubs. I think they had 3.
The location is perfect. There are 3 places to buy groceries across the street. Restaurants were everywhere but most of them closed VERY early. We are late eaters and had to do some searching the last few nights to find a good place. I highly recommend Oaxaca- very good with a nice view and not too overpriced. The only place we didn’t like was the Olde Sedona Bar and Grill. The food was boring and way overpriced for what you get. That review is for another place. The cute ‘downtown’ area was dead after 6 pm. One server told us that the winter hours start this week (mid-November) and most places will be closed by 6 pm.
Speaking of the downtown shopping area: If you don't want to be hassled by the time share guys then AVOID the "store" where you can look at a Monkey and the Free Museum! Both places are owned by time share companies and once you go inside they are ridiculous
We will definitely return to the Villas of Sedona, but next time with the kids. What a great place for families! They had daily activities in the Activities Center right in the middle of the property for all ages. Overall, we could not have been happier with this property.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank openskies97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Villas of Sedona for a week as an exchange via RCI, it was a 1-bedroom loft type and it was surprisingly wonderful esp. based on the reviews that I've read on here. Truthfully, the pictures on the website don't make the place justice, it looks better in person. It's a complex of 2 resorts, the other is the Sedona Springs and really from what the latter look like, we got the best deal.
The villas of Sedona have been recently renovated, the new tiles were evident in the entryway, the kitchen and the bathrooms; new light fixtures and faucets in the kitchen and bathrooms definitely stood out. The kitchen was fully loaded with appliances and utensils one could have ever wanted, which was more than enough for us because we only had to prepare breakfast in the mornings. The loft area which turns into the 2nd bedroom with its own door is comfortable with a murphy bed with storage on one side and a walking closet, furthermore it has a small balcony although facing the inner yard I found was very nice. The half-bath is downstairs and the full bathroom is upstairs with a nice-size shower, however there is no bathtub; they were fully stocked with lots of towels 2 people would need all week, there is no mid-week cleaning.
The jacuzzi by the outside pool was great, I used it a few nights before going to bed to relax those back muscles. By November, the outside pool is no longer heated but remember there is an indoor pool available for use. Although there are no red rock views, we didn't feel that we missed anything for we were by them all day along with the outside activities.
I found the staff was very helpful esp. the concierge recommending the best places to see and eat around and outside of sedona. On sunday and monday nights, there are RCI representatives advertising dinner meetings to teach you the new innovative ways to exchange, it was absolutely useless and uninformative and poorly constructed, the dinners were from KFC, I had to laugh! Avoid them, they are time-wasting.
A great feature of the resort is its location, it's right in the center of town among all the shops, spas and restaurants along route 89-A. We enjoyed looking/shopping at the shops and galleries at the Tlaquepaque arts and crafts village; if you're interested in serious turquoise jewelry, the Hozho is the place to go. Places we ate at were: Kens' Creekside with music entertainment every night, the peach cobbler was a delight; Javalina Cantina for the best mexican food, you have to give the sea scallops dish a try; Dahl & Di Luca made the grand finale for the best italian food in the region.
For outdoor suff: Great place to watch the sunset is at the top of Airport road. My friend took a hot air balloon ride gliding over the red rocks of Sedona and according to her it was the most amazing thing she's ever experienced, gotta do it next time. We did a 2-hr jeep ride through the canyon, very scenic with moderate ruggedness, our driver/guide was excellent. Visiting the small town of Jerome is a must, just a 30-minute ride south of sedona, you can see all the shops in 1-2 hrs; ate at the Asylum restaurant and I absolutely recommend it, the food was so good and the view was just breathtaking.
There's a lot more things to do if you're an outdoorsy person such as hiking the trails and driving to the overlooks yourselves instead of taking tours.
I know it's usually recommended to take a one-day trip to the Grand Canyon, although it's only 2 hrs away, I think you're cutting yourself short to think you can see and enjoy the GC in half a day. We stayed there for 3 days before we came to Sedona.
We had a fabulous time in Sedona and will go back next year hopefully.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sagelilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My husband, our two teenagers, and I just stayed at the Villa of Sedona for a week. Our 2-bdr. townhouse was very clean, however, the dated furniture and colors of our unit and the apartment complex in general took away some of the flair of this resort. There are not really any views of the beautiful mountains surrounding this complex; they all face the pool, around which the units are arranged. The complex is conveniently located to all attractions, stores, pharmacies, restaurants, etc. The work-out area did not open until 8 a.m.; workout equipment is nothing special but sufficient. Timeshare hazzle was minimal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastWoodlandsTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Functional, clean but without the glitz. 2-bedroom loft with uneven stairs. WiFi not working, gas fireplace not working, bathroom fans noisey, old appliances, old TV, old carpet, old furniture. Guests must SIGN in/out for EVERYTHING - pool towels (rude checkout person), public computer (30 min max) must wait to access, water arobics class, etc. Okay for the price, but owners need to invest to improve.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InternetAccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stated at tge Villas of Sedona the first week of June through a timeshare exchange. There were threeof us, my husband and I and my older son.

The people at the front desk were very helpful, recommending restaurants, attractions, etc. and there were discount tickets for a lot of the restaurants which we used.

I had tried to get a two bedroom but the only thing available was what was called a one-bedroom loft. I thought my son would have to sleep on a sofa bed in the living room but the one-bedroom loft was actually a 2-bedroom. There was a master bedroom with a king size bed and then in a separate room with a door for privacy there was a Murphy bed. This room had a railing that overlooked the living room. It also had a balcony that overlooked the swimming pool. There was a full bath upstairs and a half bath downstairs.

I think the unit had recently been renovated. The furniture was in eartone colors. The kitchen was large and completely equipped. There was a dining area that would have accommodated six people and the living room had a sofa and a large comfortable chair. There was a gas fireplace, which naturally we did not use in June. There were glass sliding doors that led to a small closed in patio area with a small table and chairs. A gate led outside and a few steps away was the swimming pool. The units were arranged in a circle with the pool in the center.

There seemed to be a lot of activities for children and there were gas grills available in a central area (which we did not use.

There is no housekeeping service available unless you wanted to pay $35 for a mid week cleaning. If you run out of towels you just call and they will deliver them to you. We had so many in our unit that we never ran out.

The resort is in a very convenient area. It is right off the highway but it was never noisy with traffic noise. There were several large supermarkets close by. We usually make breakfast and then take off for the day. We get back around 4:00 and have drinks by the pool and then go out for dinner.

One night the batteries in the remote for the TV went and my son called the front desk and in less than 20 minutes maintenance arrived with new batteries. There are always people around cleaning the grounds and pool.

Dining: We ate at the Cowboy Club Silver Saddle Room. The atmosphere and the food were fantastic. There is alot of game onthe menu. I played it safe and ordered the steak but my husband ordered the elk tenderloin which was delicious. My son ordered a meal that contained wild board, venison and buffalo and this was also delicious. The prices are a little high but it was well worth it. Service was also top notch.

A man in a shop on the main street recommended an Italian Restaurant caleld the Hideaway which was also excellent. It is tucked in the back of a shopping center and we ate outside on a deck that hung over a hugh hill. We had a coupon for 20% off and a meal for three with wine cost us under $50 and it was as good as any high class restaurant in our area.

We also ate at Shugrues Hillside Grille which was a fantastic seafood restaurant. A little pricey too but well worth what we got.


The main street of Sedona has shops on both sides. We spent sever days and probably hit them all. I was looking for turquoise and found what I wanted at the Turquoise Buffalo. Prices ranted from very reasonable to out of sight for me. But the quality was very good.

The last day we found a shop called the Kachina Shop and everything there had ben made by the local Indian tribes. We found a lot of unusual pottery and jewelry.

There is an area called Tlaquepaque which is a sort of shopping center that has cobble stone streets and fountains everywhre. There are several restaurants and a lot of unusual shops there also. We spent about a half day looking at everything.

The Grand Canyon was about two housrs away and we spent a day there. Also nearby is flagstaff and Jerome. Jerome was a one time a prosperous copper mining town. The mine closed in the 50's and now it is what the locals call "a beer drinking, motorcycle riding town that has an artist problem". A lof of the homes are being bought and made into boutiques and gift shops. We ate at the Haunted Hamburger, way at the top of the hill. Well worth walking up the many, many steps to get there.

We did the hot air baloon ride and instead of the jeep tour we elected to take the hummer trip. Same trip, different vehicle.

All in all, Sedona is a fantastic place and the Villas of Sedona was central to everything. Go, there is something for everyone.

  • Liked — The amojunt of room in the unit and the location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skistw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas of Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas of Sedona

Property: Villas of Sedona
Address: 120 Kallof Pl, Sedona, AZ 86336-5565
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas of Sedona 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a spectacular red rock landscape, the Villas of Sedona can put you right in the action or get you away from it all. Relax the day away in your luxury townhouse with private patio, or take a short drive to the heart of Sedona, where exquisite shops, galleries and southwestern cuisine await. Sports enthusiasts will feel right at home with a fully equipped fitness center and an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Villas of Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Of Sedona Hotel Sedona
Villas Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing