We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get up early and enjoy the satisfaction!”
Review of Doe Mountain Trail

Doe Mountain Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.89*
and up
Sedona Off-Road Canyon Tour
Ranked #9 of 156 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Get up early and enjoy the satisfaction!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a well marked, challenging trail. I say that but only because the elevation went up quickly at first. Once we found our family pace, we enjoyed the views, the climb and the "made it to the top" euphoria! It was a right after breakfast hike so we could avoid the warmer temperatures.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank poblanofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    114
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great...except one thing ...”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We loved this hike. Went with our three older teen boys and our small dog. Everything was going well. View of red rocks and Sedona was excellent! ... Until we made the mistake of going 'off-trail' through some old, dead tree remains. We must gave disturbed a bee/wasp nest. Four of the five of us got stung, two multiple times. I hadn't been stung in many years, but I didn't remember it being so painful and the pain going on for a couple of days. So, if you are allergic to bees, be extremely careful! Otherwise, well worth the 2 hours it takes, round trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice easy trail to a mesa top”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

You always see those flat topped mesa and then you want to be on top. Well, Doe Mountain is a great red rock mesa that you can easily hike up and then walk all around the perimeter of the top for 360 deg vistas. A short scramble at the summit but with a bit of help even our hounds managed to make it. Even the kids would enjoy it. Do bring water and snacks as there are no facilities.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SedonaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Its a rather simple trail. Kids and older folks alike can do this one. Once you get to the top, you can walk straight across and follow the marked trail and see the marvelous views. After we did that, my wife and I turned right and walked around the edge till we came back to the trail. That took us about 90 minutes. It is VERY HOT on top, so take a hat, sunscreen, and water!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Minister_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great morning hike!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's about a 2 hour hike to the top of Doe Mountain, and totally worth it. The trail has plenty of switchbacks, and it's not true mountaineering, but it's not a pleasure walk either. There is decent climbing up and around rocks/boulders. Incredible vistas at the top reward you!

Recommend going in the early AM when the summer sun hasn't hit the climbing side of the mountain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doe Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Doe Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing