We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“360 view”
Review of Doe Mountain Trail

Doe Mountain Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.89*
and up
Sedona Off-Road Canyon Tour
More Info
$75.83*
and up
Sedona Red Rocks Jeep Adventure
More Info
$171.29*
and up
Sedona Helicopter Tour: Mountains and Ancient Sights
Ranked #9 of 158 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“360 view”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I loved this climb. It was steep in some places, but overall not a strenous hike. The trail is not well marked in some places, so we ended up getting off-track and finding our own way for half of this. Once you get to the top, the view is amazing! You end up on a plateau with 360 views and can walk all around the top. We have lots of great pictures with Sedona spread out in the background. I also liked when a helicoptor flew by and we were higher up than it was :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    117
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the Snow”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I did this hike in January in the snow. It snowed all the way up and there was about 4" on the ground. The trail up is steep in places and was a little tricky in the snow, but it should be fairly easy in good weather. When you get to the top, take careful note of the the gap you climb through just as you reach the top. It can be tricky to find on the way back and it is the only way down. The top if the mesa is very flat and you can find several paths that go around the perimeter and across the middle.The views are great in all directions. There are good places to sit for lunch or just to relax. The trailhead is only about 15 minutes from West Sedona so the hike can be done in a morning or afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good climb; great views”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a short, uphill hike to a flat topped Mesa with incredible views. We did this hike on a day that was drizzling a bit and were concerned that the path might be slippery. The rain actually kept the dust down so that was a plus, and although some of the rocks might have been slippery it was not particularly noticeable. The path is a series of switchbacks, quite narrow in places with steep drop-offs (you probably wouldn't get far - the cactus would stop you....). We were doing fine until we followed the footprints ahead of us along an alternate route. That hadn't been our plan, but as the path got more and more narrow, and less and less groomed, we decided that it COULDN'T be the main trail. It wasn't. Backtracking we found where we went wrong - near the top where the correct path goes up a rocky section. We had turned left along a path (lots of footprints so we weren't alone!) and hadn't noticed the rock section heading up. It was much more 'obvious' as we watched a group come down from there. A few more switchbacks and we came to the rocky 'slot' that gets you to the top of the mesa. The views were wonderful - even though it was drizzling when we got there. On a clear day it would have been just amazing. I can see why people love to take this hike. There are trails heading in all directions from the 'slot' and it is advisable to take your bearings to be able to find it again. It is marked with a trail post and cairns, but may be a bit challenging to locate if you don't take the time to look at it from the 'heading back' viewpoint. It was much shorter going down - funny how that works when you stick to the right path!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding quick hike”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was an outstanding short hike with outstanding views at the end. Easy, gradual switchbacks up side of the mesa were the only 'effort part, otherwise flat. Views are fanatastic. If you have small kids, watch them closely as there are sheer drop-offs at edges of mesa. Enjoy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlyPenGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“panoramic view from the top”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

ehen you get to the top .. view is amazing and well worth the climb.
Ziz zay your way to the top with one climb up some rocks, that was a bit difficult for me

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doe Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Doe Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing