We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week Among the Red Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sedona Summit Resort
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Week Among the Red Rocks!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent a week here in December and had a great time.
Check In:
We had read the reviews and I was a bit leery of getting a "bad room" or a room without a view. We heeded the advice of others on this site and at check-in asked for a room with a view. Even though we were checking in at exactly 4pm, we were told that there weren't any rooms left with a view, that our room had a partial view, and that we could check the next day to maybe switch rooms (We had heard others get this exact response). As it turned out, our room was an upstairs, 2 bedroom lock-off and the 1 bedroom portion had a decent view. Otherwise the room was great (we had heard complaints about thin walls and noisy neighbors). The other couples that were staying with us loved it and we decided not to ask about another room. The only negative at the actual check in was our customer service representative at the desk was not very friendly or quick. I heard others checking getting a much larger amount of info than we did.
Concierge:
We had read people complaining about this portion of the check-in and the looming "sales pitch". We were expecting this and in fact had set up an appointment prior to arrival. We did this to compare what we have with what Diamond was offering. Other than the pitch lasting a little longer than it was listed as, this was exactly what we expected. No problems and we received our "gifts" without trouble.
Facilities:
It was the coldest week in Sedona for quite sometime and as a result, we did not take advantage of the pools or the hot tub. Some were being worked on but some were open and being used. I thought this was fine for the second week of December.
We loved this place and it was perfect for exploring the area. We went to Jerome, The Red Rock Scenic Byway, The V-Bar-V site, Telaquapaque, Out of Africa Wildlife Park, Uptown Sedona and the Grand Canyon. We found Sedona Summit very easy to use as a base for all of these activities.

Room Tip: Upstairs is the way to go if you don't mind the stairs. The 2 bedroom lock-off set up worked gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    640
    189
    95
    58
See reviews for
541
788
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here in an upstairs 1 bedroom for a week over Thanksgiving, as a gift from family members. There were a couple of issues with the room but these were quickly rectified once management was notified. The rooms and grounds are kept extremely clean. I will advise that this property is on the outskirts of Sedona, so do not plan on walking from here to the various attractions. A vehicle is a must. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was my second trip to the Summit. The first time, I was in a basement studio - which was fine. This time, I upgraded to a one-bedroom, and it was great.

The kitchen was well-appointed with nice appliances, including an apartment-sized washer and dryer. The bathroom was HUGE, and the bed was comfortable. The furnishings are beautiful (I loved the bathroom sink and the bedroom closets), and the resort didn't cheap out on construction materials - floors, doors, walls, windows are all very nice. That makes a big difference. I could hear others going by outside the front door, where voices tended to echo on the shared landing, but I heard nothing at all from my neighbours. Maybe I was lucky, and they were all just really, really quiet... but there was a couple with a young child next door, and I didn't hear a peep. I'm pretty sure that good construction played a role in that. I was there during something of a cold snap (for Sedona), and the apartment was warm with no drafts.

As pretty much everyone else has said, the sofa is uncomfortable to sit on. The back cushions slide out - I just removed them entirely. And the wifi is not always that fast. Also, I found that the fan in the propane fireplace was kind of loud, so I ended up not using it at all during my stay, which was a little bit of a disappointment. And the jets in the jacuzzi were also incredibly loud. So loud, that I was worried about waking up the neighbours. The jacuzzi proved to be less of a disappointment in the end, though. I almost died laughing when I pressed a button on the jacuzzi, and LED lights started disco-ing their way through the spectrum: red, to purple, to blue, to green… It was all very hilarious, and made up for the jumbo-jet decibel levels of the jacuzzi jets.

But those are minor complaints, really, and none of them detracted from my overall enjoyment of the rooms. Everything else was so exceptionally wonderful that I have no qualms about recommending this place. It's a really nice place to relax after a good hike or a day spent sight-seeing.

I was in a front room in building 34, overlooking a pool. The patio had a nice view of red rocks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Friends invited us to join them. We got a three bedroom. It was immaculate. Though it was not within walking distance to the shops we had a vehicle so that was not an issue. The wi-fi was a bit strange but not enough to bother any of us. It was kinda on and off thing. We got to attend the Prescott Christmas tree lighting - what a wonderful time!! We also got to visit Jerome - a fun time sightseeing - so many places to see and so little time. Back in Sedona we enjoyed many of the restaurants. We would love to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Poohss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We spent a week in a one bedroom at the Summit. When checking in, we requested a view, and happily, we were given a patio with a great view. We were also pleased at the condition of our unit. It was large and nicely decorated. We loved the large bathroom and full kitchen. We even cooked our Thanksgiving dinner in our unit! We also enjoyed the hot tub, regularly! Great after a hike! Tho' the hot tub was a bit of a walk for our unit, there were only a few, if any, people there and it had a spectacular view of the red rock of Sedona. Overall, we were pleased with the staff, as well. Sedona is beautiful and our week stay at the Summit was very enjoyable! We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Only some units have a view. Since it was important to us, we asked when checking in for a unit with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our first visit to Sedona and we chose the Summit through RCI Exchange. We were given a 1 bdrm patio (basement) unit. Our view out the one little kitchen window and patio door was of legs on the sidewalk between 2 buildings. And we were on the end next to the gas grills, vending machines and clanging gate going into the pool area, so it wasn't a favored place to hang out. Fortunately, we had many activities planned and weren't there a whole lot. Since dinner seemed to be 4-5pm for most residents we were pleased to have the pool and spa to ourselves at that hour.The property is not within walking distance of anything (except the new high school) so plan on driving everywhere. (At least it's easy to get around.) An on-site shop would've been appreciated. The unit was very clean, but the furniture was shabby and worn out, and needs to be replaced. We quickly learned that the "concierge service" is just a ruse to get you to tour and buy into the property. If you are not interested, DO NOT go to that counter. We do agree with others about the archaic policy for wi-fi. We are on the fence about staying there again. Maybe if we could actually get a vista view and nicer furniture...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnah512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed in a 1 BR. The location was very nice and convenient on the west side of Sedona - close to Red Rock Crossing and park which was nice. A bit of a drive from the main area of Sedona but that was fine with us as we were out and about everyday anyway. Room was nice but nothing special. Very few of the units have views of any kind (we saw the parking lot) and the resort itself feels more like a residential area - i.e. it was a place to stay in a nice setting.

Bathroom sink was plugged when we go there. They did come fix it fairly promptly after we called.

We did use the grills which came in handy. Utensils were a bit sparse - for example there was no spatula in the kitchen - made it tough to make pancakes! Used the pool (mostly hot tub) a couple of times although it was chilly during Thanksgiving week! Unfortunately the hot tub in the pool closest to our unit was under repair, so we had to walk a little farther in the cold then we would have preferred.

Agree with the previous reviewers re: the WiFi. Not only do they charge by device, but half the first two days we were there we could not get it to work. (it was through AT&T so not sure what the issue was). I don't understand how they can provide free WiFi in the Grand Canyon but yet a supposedly upscale resort like this can't? A bit ridiculous in this day and age.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmkucala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.8 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
3.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
4.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.0 mi away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#15 of 48 in Sedona
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Property: Sedona Summit Resort
Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336-4907
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing