We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of the way property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sedona Summit Resort
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I brought our (family from Indiana) to Sedona to stay for three day's and two nights. We chose to stay at the sedona summit as the roooms are upgraded and usually in top condition. Since our last stay they have seemed to deteriorated a little and the sidewalks, stairs and outside grounds seemed to be in need of some heavy duty cleaning, but other than that the management is very friendly, most of the rooms are with upgraded interiors and appliances and overall very homey, and will stay there again. Initially our rooms were without a view but requested a change at check-in and was granted one. would give a rating of 3.75 overall!

Room Tip: The top outside room's have a much better view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary82459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
There are newer reviews for Sedona Summit Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed a number of times at the Sedona Summit and will return. They do have a few things to straighten out however. Our first issue is that the Diamond Resorts International claims to be "one of the largest hospitality companies in the world" and they want to provide a "quality stay" at their resorts. We were totally shocked at check-in when we were told that to get internet service they were going to charge us $30 per device for the week. Our friend staying at the Super 8 Hotel just a mile down the street had free access to the internet. I think Diamond Resorts International needs to rethink their business plan if they want to be considered an international destination in Sedona. Free internet access should be a standard in hotels today especially when cell phone service is spotty at best. The other issue we had was finding a huge pile of dirty clothes in one of the cabinets when we were settling in. We also were missing a couple of utensils in the room. Their service in preparing the room needs to be a bit more precise when they are cleaning and preparing the suites. On the positive side, everything (other than internet service) was taken care of in a matter of minutes. Having the adult pools, plenty of gas grills and a beautiful site did provide for a very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HildieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We did a timeshare exchange into the Summit. The resort is beautiful and the room and grounds were well maintained. We stayed in building 26 room 270M with a beautiful view of the red rocks from our balcony. It was a bit of a hike to the room and those with mobility problems would have difficulty managing the distance and steps. We found the view worth the effort. Many of the units would not have a good view at all. The pool and hot tubs were nice and never too crowded. We did not use the grills but they seemed to be in great shape.

We did somehow find ourselves in the lunch and learn sales pitch which started innocently enough with a meeting with the concierge and asking what we wanted to do while in Sedona and offering a discount on a jeep tour. We later found other resorts offering the same "pitch" for no cost at all. The sales was high pressure and the agent did not want to take no for an answer. To buy in at the least amount would have been 37,500 US. If you truly want to buy into the company wait until the closer offers a significantly cheaper rate, better yet skip the sales talk completely and enjoy the resort and the wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beshou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place was one of the more expensive places in town. Was really irritated that after we checked in they took us over to the "VIP" area to "give us free stuff". First they talked to us about things to do in Sedona then insultingly asked me and my signif other how old we are... Not sure why thats any of their business. Then started in on us about going to a timeshare meeting, I politely declined the offer but the lady kept on and on. Finally I had to rudely tell her we absolutely are not interested and walked away. Was really disappointed to pay this much for a hotel then they insult us and try to sell me something, all while we are trying to start our vacation. Rooms really werent even that nice and were really far from the main strip. Wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amy53020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was a good resort to stay in especially for families.
The location was okay, a little far from the centre of town but we didn't mind that.
Check in was average but there was a very nice gentleman who kept us informed and gave us some cool water while we waited.Thank you Stephanie Felix for you extra help and good luck for the future.
The one bedroom unit was spacious and well equipped and clean. There were lots of towels, cleaning products etc.Thank you for the dish washer and washing machine and products.
We could have done with more shampoo and bath products as one small bottle does not go very far for the week.There was a cleaning service and change of towels and linen midweek.
There were swimming pools for families but we used the adult only one which was very welcome as it was very hot.The hot tub near the pool was not working which was a shame because we had to walk a little way to the other two hot tubs.
There were lots of barbequeing facilities which were well used.
As other people have mentioned, the lack of "high speed" internet was something all the people were annoyed about. This is the 21st century and paying $30 for a week for a very slow service is not acceptable.
The activities were not very good and we were not interested in going to any of them. This could be better. Also charging for activities when other resorts don't, seemed a bit petty.
We did have problems parking near our unit on occasions.
The resort was very full as it was around the 4th July and we did have trouble getting swimming pool towels and had an hours wait to receive them probably due to lack of staff???
Overall a good resort that we will recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently spent a week at Sedona Summit. The resort grounds are nicely kept and there are several small pools placed around the property. However, we found that many of the conveniences we are used to at our time share properties (Disney Vacation Club) were missing from this property. There was no main themed pool, just very small pools with limited seating. There was no where at the resort to buy anything at all. No small shop in case you ran out of milk or needed an aspirin. No food at all available on the property. Everything you needed you had to leave the property and drive quite a ways (several miles). In addition, we were charged some type of fee upon check in that placed a hold on our credit cards for "incidentals" (2 couples in 2 different rooms). Strange, as there was nothing to purchase at the resort at all. It took several days after check out for the hold to be released. There is no free WIFI, and our cell phones received no service in our rooms, leaving us a bit stranded. Most of the buildings have no views. Although we requested specific buildings/views many weeks in advance we were placed in basement level rooms with views of bushes on a hill with the parking lot at the top. No sense sitting with coffee on the patio in the morning with those views. Rooms were nicely equipped, although dark due to being on such a low level. Studio had dishwasher, cook top, refrigerator, toaster, blender, microwave, and plenty of dishes, glasses, silverware. Bathroom in studio was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very, very nice stay, rooms were great, clean and felt just like home. There are top of the line very clean grilling areas that are very easy to use.
The pools were clean and enjoyable. Loved having laundry in my unit.
Aside from the Concierge everything about the resort was pleasant I am just not a fan of the pressure put on you immediately as your checking in to make your plans for the week and use your credit card to hold sales presentations and events we had traveled all day and just wanted to settle in.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor, the views seemed to be better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kim4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
5.9 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
559 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
6.6 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336-4907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $124 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing