We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended, with minor reservations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sedona Summit Resort
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recommended, with minor reservations.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

As part of a family reunion, we stayed at the Sedona Summit Resort (one couple in the family has a timeshare plan that includes this Resort).

Overall, the Resort is very pretty (although large and a bit confusing when first trying to find the assigned units). It has incredible views of the Red Rocks of Sedona and early each morning I could watch (from the balcony) hot air balloons sail over the area. Our one-bedroom (with kitchen) adjoined a single room (wih kitchen) with one family member, so the shared door was not an issue.

Our unit was nicely decorated; the kitchen was adequately equipped for meal preparation--although in our case, most meals were eaten with the remaining family members in a larger unit (two-bedroom). Our bath was large with both a separate shower and a soaking tub.

We made good use of the gas grills on the grounds and had no problems with access to them.

The drawbacks I noticed were threefold: when we checked in, there was some pressure to attend the sales presentation; even after saying we were "not interested," we were left two phone messages advising us of the opportunities to attend. The location of the Resort means you have to have transportation into "Uptown" Sedona and the Oak Creek area (the 179 route). It is at least one mile from any kind of food/coffee/shopping (no restaurant on the grounds) and a couple of more to a major grocery store. In the heat of July, this really means that you are relying upon a car to do any shopping or tourist activities. In our seven night stay (Saturday through Friday nights), cleaning services were provide one time (beds changed, bathroom freshen and fresh towels provided); however, no vacuuming or dusting was done in our unit and one unit of the family's was skipped entirely--perhaps due to just the sheer size of the resort and the number of people coming and going each day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    649
    193
    98
    60
See reviews for
558
800
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a terrible stay. Not only did they not have a room near a functioning pool their high pressure sales exhausted us and killed one day of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlhwebgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed for a week in a one bedroom condo. The room was outstanding. We had a jacuzzi tub in addition to all the standard features for a condo. The staff was very helpful and there were a lot of activities (which we did not do). The resort is a couple of miles from the main part of town. We will definitely visit again.
They will ask you to attend a sales presentation for the timeshare, but the decision is yours. We are Diamond Resort owners and went for an update which was helpful. The only drawback is that we had to pay $30 for one week of internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jengland46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Sedona Summit was perfect in location, amenities, views, all we could've asked for and more. Check in was fairly painless, we did sign up for a tour and received voucher for a little less than half price on the Pink Jeep Tour. The tour ended up being very abbreviated as they were running behind and we held them to their 90 minutes. We started about 45 minutes later than scheduled so it was short and sweet.

There were only a couple bumps. When we got to our studio, Bldg 5 216P, it was only half cleaned. It looked like they started and left. The pull out couch was half opened with the cushions all over, the dishes were clean but not put away, the broom and dustpan were out by the bed, there were potato chip crumbs on the bed spread, and a puddle of water on bathroom floor. After 2 calls they sent a supervisor to come and finish up. They did not leave the pool towels so we had to call back for them. Also, the BBQs were not hooked up outside our area yet. They are redoing an old playground and it will be very convenient once finished. These were the only problems we encountered, other than no WiFi and cars from other buildings parking in front of our place.

The views from the balcony and kitchen window are beautiful for a wake up call or sunset. There are many activities if you bring children (ours is 25!) we saw a craft room, pool table, Wii setup, etc. The lobby area is very nice and has 2 computers for use and hot coffee or tea. There are several pools, we chose to use the adult only pool and jacuzzi between bldgs 8 & 9. The lounges here are very comfortable and there is air conditioned bathroom and shower area. There is a very large jacuzzi at bldg 25 with a killer view and sitting area above it with BBQs.

We got up early each morning and did at least one hike. We went to Jerome on Sunday, Pink Jeep on Tuesday and the Grand Canyon on Wednesday. We didn't hang out in the village much at all. Ate at Elote one night and Silver Saddle another. We also ordered out Chinese delivery one evening and took it to the end of the resort at Cultural Rd where there are several parking lots for the small college bldg there. There are picnic tables and killer sunset views as well as for the sunrise.

This resort was a real find and we are so happy we chose it. Location is excellent, remodeled nicely, if you want the 3 bdrm it is gorgeous and sleeps 12. Studio was fine for the 2 of us plenty of room, they said 1 bdrm + come with washer and dryer, however there are at least 2 laundry areas you can use if need be. The resort appeared to be full by the looks of the parking lots but there was not a lot of noise. We had neighbors but did not even see them once! We would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summit167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I too, was nervous about this place considering the reviews regarding the pushy sales pitch, and especially the bed bug report. Was VERY relieved to find NO bed bugs! (We were in building 4.) We did however have an ugly black spider in our walk-in closet. I tried to capture/kill it, but it went into a crack. We called the front desk & asked for bug spray. They said they'd send some along with the additional linens that we had previously called and asked for, but when the gentleman showed up at our door, he informed us that "they were not allowed to use or give out any bug spray." We were not very pleased with that, but in lieu or getting in the car and going to buy some of our own, we just opted not to use the closet, sealed off the door with a towel, and prayed the spider would not venture out. :o) Our living room did have some water damage to the ceiling which we reported, but that didn't affect our stay. We were in a 1 bedroom & our kids absolutely loved the place. We found it to be very spacious and worked out great for us as a family with small children. Kitchen was clean & supplied with everything you'd need to cook/feed a family. We'd definitely stay there again. As far as the sales pitch part...we were tight on time upon check-in so skipped the "welcome packet" and didn't retrieve the message off the room phone which we assumed would be pertaining to the sales pitch, thus avoided it all together.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZEVmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was nervouse about with some of the reviews about pushy sales people and the thought of bed bugs. First the bed buigs don't exist. Anyone who hikes knows they were chiggers, aka no seeums. I have had the misfortune of being attacked by them previously, they don't show up immediatly, but the next day you know.
As for pushy sales pithces. Nope, not at all. It was 2 hours, not 1.5 hours. But the women was very nice through the entire time. They tried to find a few ways to sell to us. but once they knew we were not doing it we got out $50 visa gift card and the voucher for 3 daysw, 2 nights at another DIamond resort.
The employees were very helpful, even though we weren't the easiest guess. We arrived at 3 a.m. to a smile and warm welcome. We didn't realize there was p and m rooms and went to the wrong room. When the couple that was suppose to have the studio we were in arrived we gave them our 1 bedroom. After the tour my husband wanted the 1 bedroom for the jacuzzi tub and faux fireplace. They switched us to a 1 bedroom without batting an eye, even though we gave up our 1 bedroom.
The couple that got our room was kind enough to deliver us the gifts the resort left for us knowing it was our honeymoon. There was a beautiful flower arrangement, bottle of sparkling apple cider and sweet card.
I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a beautiful resort, in the perfect location to relax and take in the splender of Sedona.

Room Tip: Talk to the ladies at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MVAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Every studio in this huge resort has an adjoining door to the next studio - thus my review is biased because I dislike adjoining doors and the resulting noise intensely.
Pluses;
Laundry free, beautiful swimming pools, fantastic views, great free coffee in lobby
Minuses;
Rooms only cleaned every 5 days (!), no restaurant on site, resort is miles from anywhere, cars everywhere so it felt like a giant car park in the middle of a great location, charges $7 a day for internet access.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey-Sue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,217 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Summit Resort

Property: Sedona Summit Resort
Address: 4055 Navoti Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336-4907
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sedona Summit Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Summit Hotel Sedona
Summit Sedona
Sunterra Resort Sedona Summit
Summit Resort Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing