We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here”
Review of Dan's Bistro - CLOSED

Dan's Bistro
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dan's Bistro is a small friendly Bistro style restaurant with great fish, steak, seafood, pasta's, salads and deserts, all at great prices. Chef Dan is one of Sedona's most popular Chef's both for his cuisine and his personality. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time here”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Four of us had dinner here for the first time tonight and were immediately impressed by the quiet ambiance and almost European style of the place. Our server was great, friendly, personable, funny, attentive and appropriate. The food was lovely with generous portions, nicely but not ostentatiously, presented. Prices are moderate with some expensive entrees. We just loved the place and one of the nicest parts was the music, original guitar by John DZ. He plays for himself, and the music is soothing, meditative but not somber, cool and warm at the same time. An overall wonderful experience. I have no idea what any negative reviews could be based on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deviji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    31
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
memphis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We were able to obtain reservations for Saturday at 2 pm that afternoon for 6:30 that night so I was a little concerned. We were told at the outset that they did not serve wine and we could provide our own with a $6 corkage fee. We thought what a bargain as we went in search of our favorite wines and champagne. At 6:30 we arrived at a strip mall setting restaurant. The inside was very nice with an acoustical guitar player providing music for the entire dinner. We started with a potato skin amuse bouche which was good, then had wonderful flakey croissants with olive butter. We ordered the hummus, goat cheese, olive tapenade and could have stopped there.It was more than enough for two people. I ordered the beef tips bourginon. It was served with brocollini and whipped potatoes. It was very good. The beef tips were cooked with mushrooms,baby onions and served under a puff pastry. My husband had the petite filet cooked medium rare with asparagus and sauteed mushrooms. The steak was cooked perfectly and the vegetables were delicious. We had a wonderful dinner and would definitely return. The servers were attentive and had very good recommendations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pohMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't get the good reviews???”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Went for a business dinner, and maybe they just weren't prepared for the large group. Service was so-so, as was dinner. Fish & veggies over cooked, and beef room temperature. Dessert was glorified jello pudding. The atmosphere wasn't much either. Simply put, not impressed & don't understand all these glowing reviews.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkgant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quiet dining, BYO wine”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is our third year going to Dan's. The place is small, casual, and quiet. Servers are personable. The menu has a middle eastern flair, creative entrees. $6. charge for wine corking. Prices went up since last year. A good place to get away from all the faux southwestern hype.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C Springs CO
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best place in Sedona!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Four of us had dinner at Dans Bistro on May 1st and we had an excellent experience. We took two bottles of wine with us and the staff was very accommodating. Two of us had beef bourguignon which was outstanding and for $19 it is a great deal. One person had the grilled Red Snapper special and the other person had the Portuguese rib eye steak and they were both pleased. The service was great and the atmosphere is pleasant. We were in Sedona for 11 days this was the best meal we had. Make sure and call for reservations, because they fill up quickly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COscubalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing