We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast”

The Golden Goose American Grill
Ranked #11 of 197 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Golden Goose American Grill is well-known for its friendly hospitality, masterfully prepared steaks, creative seafood dishes and outstanding burgers. Lunch and dinner are served 7 days a week and breakfast on Friday thru Sunday. The Golden Goose is a great location for that special business luncheon, a romantic dinner celebration or breakfast on the patio with "Fido" after a weekend hike. Live dinner music every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday from 5:30-8:30 pm. A favorite dining spot of local residents - The Golden Goose was Voted Sedona's Best Steak, Best Seafood, Best Prime Rib, Best Dessert and Best Business Lunch in 2016. It was also named one of the "10 Best Restaurants in Sedona" by USA Today and one of the "25 Best Spots to Eat in Arizona" by EAT Magazine. Join our long-time friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the fact that this place is in front of the Super 8 fool you! Very Best Breakfast my wife and I have ever ate! Omelettes, Potatoes, and Sourdough toast! Delicious!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,771
    679
    203
    87
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a very nice dinner at the restaurant this evening. It was quite busy but we were able to sit in the small bar area -- something we don't mind doing at all as the menus are the same. And this time I'm glad we sat in the bar because of the very nice bartender, Violet. We had a great conversation with her and enjoyed the time.

I gave the 'very good' overall rating more for the great service from Violet, then the food. Otherwise, I would rate it 'average'.

The dinner was fine; nothing 'special' but good food at a reasonable price.

The restaurant itself has nice décor.

Would I go back -- Yes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star meal at golden goose, sedona arizona”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Seafood Platter of very large scallops and shrimp and fish, perfectly breaded and prepared for under $20 was remarkable. At least $60 in Las Vegas where we live. Even on 1st class cruises- never at this level. My delmonico steak was perfect-also under $ 20. So good we returned 4 days later for my birthday and ordered the Seafood Platter again. Surprised that same owners of Cafe Jose where we eat often. Waiters Rufino and Angel take excellent care of us. It is obvious the owners carefully train their staff to be attentive and caring.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gastrosensualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not good at all. ”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant suffers from an identity crisis. Does it want to be Italian, American, or casual cafe? I tend to think all the good reviews must be from people with low standards. We had an 7:30 reservation but there was a big sign out front saying they closed at 8 pm in the winter. But we left at 8:30 with people still in the restaurant.

The staff is inexperienced. Bar workers were loud and gossiping while we ate. We were in the back room which has a bad atmosphere. And the tables are too tall for the chairs! We are tall people yet the table was above our chest.


Menu is broad. Prices reasonable. But food is lackluster. The pastas were all overlooked and very watery. No one had a good meal.

We couldn't wait to leave.

Helpful?
2 Thank njgalinbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramblinrose52, Owner at The Golden Goose American Grill, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are not confused regarding our identity at all – we don’t do Pizza, Mexican food, Chinese food or Sushi, but we do offer a little something of almost anything else. We are not striving to be labeled as an “Italian” restaurant, but that does not preclude us from offering some popular Italian favorites. Our restaurant is a place where locals drop by after a hike to grab a burger and a beer or where wedding parties dine in their stunning gowns and tuxedos for prime rib or chicken cordon bleu dinner. Our menu is varied enough to appeal to most tastes and to cater to almost any occasion.

Yes, we do have a couple staff members who are fairly new to their jobs and less experienced. However, they are well-intentioned and are passionate about what they do. We have a nice mix of staff – those with more than 20 years in the business and others who are still learning their craft. They are all friendly and attentive to customers. We can teach the necessary skills as long as an employee has the aptitude to learn, but it is attitude that makes all the difference and that’s something we can’t teach. We feel our employees have the right attitude regardless of their skill level.

We do close at 8:00 p.m; but, that means that is when we stop seating additional customers. We don’t ask people to leave that are still in the restaurant eating after closing time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service, Comfort Food Done Right”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Golden Goose is one of those restaurants where they make you feel like a local. The portions are very good, quality is excellent and the service; especially from LouAnn is impeccable.

LouAnn made us feel like locals and makes us wish we were. I had the Country Fried Steak while the kids had Pasta, my wife had the Salmon. All were GREAT! But it is the hospitality and great value that would make me return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RayZorA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Goose American Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Goose American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing