We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

The Golden Goose American Grill
Ranked #11 of 197 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Golden Goose American Grill is well-known for its friendly hospitality, masterfully prepared steaks, creative seafood dishes and outstanding burgers. Lunch and dinner are served 7 days a week and breakfast on Friday thru Sunday. The Golden Goose is a great location for that special business luncheon, a romantic dinner celebration or breakfast on the patio with "Fido" after a weekend hike. Live dinner music every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday from 5:30-8:30 pm. A favorite dining spot of local residents - The Golden Goose was Voted Sedona's Best Steak, Best Seafood, Best Prime Rib, Best Dessert and Best Business Lunch in 2016. It was also named one of the "10 Best Restaurants in Sedona" by USA Today and one of the "25 Best Spots to Eat in Arizona" by EAT Magazine. Join our long-time friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Surprisingly good restaurant located next to a motel. Never expected such delicious food. The service was excellent as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,771
    679
    203
    87
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slow service and underwhelming food, how did this place get such high ratings?”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Bad doesn't even start to describe our meal here. We came in with the rush crowd and were told there were a couple tables ahead of us. No problem. The problem was the long wait to get our order taken, then the 45 min for our food to arrive with no apologies or explanations.

One burger was missing half of the extras that was supposed to come with it (peppers?), while the other burger was completely raw and inedible. Top that with an extra dollar for a smattering of sad fries and we had had our share.

Not sure why they have gotten such good reviews, it was horrible at best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lazergir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramblinrose52, Owner at The Golden Goose American Grill, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Your experience at the Golden Goose is not typical by any means. Nonetheless, we deserve the poor review you provided us when evaluating your visit. As you mentioned, there was a "rush" of people that came in all at once-- nearly the entire restaurant filled in just a few minutes time. Guests should have been asked to wait for a few minutes rather than being seated and then having to wait for the serving staff to attend to them. The night you visited there were also quite a few large parties of 8-10 people. Larger parties frequently take a great deal more time for the server to take orders. All, in all, seating so many guests at once overwhelmed the serving staff, as well as the kitchen staff. We have taken precautions to prevent things like this happening in the future. Please accept our apologies for ruining your dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We came to Sedona for the weekend to celebrate our mother's 80th birthday, and decided to have dinner at the Golden Goose after finding it on TripAdvisor. We had an absolutely incredible meal from start to finish, and the service was excellent. The price was stupidly low for the quality and quantity of the food and drink -- especially compared to the other places in Sedona. We will definitely be back, and will recommend it to our friends who visit here.

Helpful?
1 Thank TourMistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had lunch at the Golden Goose on Christmas Eve. The food was very good from a broad menu, my wife raved about the grilled corn chowder, service was excellent and prices are very reasonable, especially in Sedona. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbrsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service, Pleasant Place To Be”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I've eaten breakfast, lunch, and dinner at The Golden Goose and have found all three experiences quite good. The variety of offerings on the menu means that there's something for everybody, and the food is cooked and served tastefully. Roy, the server tonight, did an outstanding job of taking care of the large group I was with. I also like the friendliness of the small bar. I had a gin and tonic there while waiting to join friends in the restaurant a little while later and felt welcome and comfortable as a lone elderly woman. I even joined into a conversation some locals were having about New England. If I return to Sedona, I will most definitely return to the Golden Goose.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Golden Goose American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing