We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”

The Golden Goose American Grill
Ranked #13 of 194 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Golden Goose American Grill is well-known for its friendly hospitality, masterfully prepared steaks, creative seafood dishes and outstanding burgers. Lunch and dinner are served 7 days a week and breakfast on Friday thru Sunday. The Golden Goose is a great location for that special business luncheon, a romantic dinner celebration or breakfast on the patio with "Fido" after a weekend hike. Live dinner music every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday from 5:30-8:30 pm. A favorite dining spot of local residents - The Golden Goose was Voted Sedona's Best Steak, Best Seafood, Best Prime Rib, Best Dessert and Best Business Lunch in 2016. It was also named one of the "10 Best Restaurants in Sedona" by USA Today and one of the "25 Best Spots to Eat in Arizona" by EAT Magazine. Join our long-time friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

When we were in Sedona we visited the Golden Goose several times, as it was recommended by some locals. I would certainly recommend this restaurant. The food is plentyful and affordable and very good. Nice cozy place and they also have an outside area to eat as well. The staff was very nice and took good care of us. Check them out you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,703
    653
    195
    83
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definitely improved since I last ate here :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Must admit that about a year ago I had a pretty dreadful meal here (after a couple of OK meals) and haven't been back. Our group of about 6 people all agreed that the food was simply terrible. That said, when a friend suggested lunch there I wasn't thrilled but decided to give it another try. Lunch was perfectly fine. Orders came quickly and were properly filled and everyone enjoyed the food. Only issue was that it took too long to get the check. If we hadn't had a time constraint it wouldn't have mattered. I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saddlehorngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This restaurant is Golden!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was a wonderful surprise!! The prime rib was immense and delicious, as was everything else we ordered. Rufino, our server was wonderful and attentive without hovering. We left wishing we had tried this gem before our last night in Sedona!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HStoddard61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Big meal, little price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I ate at the Goose tonight and really enjoyed our meal. When we first arrived I was wondering if we wanted to be there. There we very few people. Our hostess told it when it was this hot(100) people tend to eat later.

We were seated and given some great tasting bread as soon as we sat down. Ruffino, our server, was there right away to take our drink orders then gave us some time before we ordered.

We both had blackened prime rib and an appetizer of fried calamari. The calqmari was deepfried witha pesto dipping sauce. The portion was big enough for both of us. The Prime Rib wasHUGE! We were not able to finish it. The portions must have been about a poundfor each of us. If was cooked perfectly and tasted wonderfull.

However one of the best things about the meal was the price. Only 50.00 for thetwo of us. I have paid much more and gotten much less. When we visit Sedona again we will return to the Golden Goose.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1fatrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
203 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Food was great but atmosphere was not!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We went there for lunch and got seated behind the dining room back by the bar. There were boxes piled up back there, junk lying on the bar and while we ate, there was a women not 6 feet away from us stacking beer boxes. Now we walked past a nice dining area where 3 other ladies were seated AND when we left, they had another couple that they had sat in the dining room after we had come in. The food was great and very large portions, but I did NOT like the atmosphere where they sat us. Looking back, I wish I would have requested/demanded to be seated in the normal dining room instead of the overflow section.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goldwingtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramblinrose52, Owner at The Golden Goose American Grill, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It is apparent you visited our restaurant during a time when our liquor delivery had just arrived. The boxes were being stacked so they could be transported from the bar area (adjacent to where you were seated) to the wine cellar. However, it is evident the staff did not keep the area tidy during this process and guests should not have been seated in that vicinity while this task was in progress. Your remarks have made us more conscious of this issue and we have discussed this matter with our staff so that everyone is more mindful of the surroundings when seating customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Goose American Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Goose American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing