We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate experience of my life!!”
Review of ChocolaTree

ChocolaTree
Ranked #24 of 197 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in our indoor dining room, garden oasis, wi-fi lounge or dog friendly. Breakfast Served from 9am-noon Full Lunch and Dinner menu available all day. EACH DISH IS CREATED USING 100% ORGANIC, VIBRANT FOODS, GLUTEN- FREE AND ENTIRELY HOME MADE. A Little About the Chocolate Our chocolate shop is in constant production for ChocolaTree and distribution worldwide, creating the largest selection of handmade, artisan-crafted raw chocolates. Mirroring the integrity of our eatery, our chocolate shop uses only organic, stone-ground, fair-trade ingredients, and we are so blessed to house both establishments under the same roof for so many reasons: the friends, the community, the laughter, the intoxicating aroma of cacao wafting through our premises and, of course, the chocolates! We partner directly with small-scale cacao growers to preserve their traditional way of farming, thereby safeguarding the biodiversity of cacao in Ecuador. We undertake a number of sustainability programs for the benefit of the cacao-growing communities with which we work. The sustainability of cacao as a living tree is sacred to us here, and working with others that value cacao in similar ways is of the utmost importance. As a result, we are rewarded with absolutely orgasmic delights that come in so many forms to be shared with you as part of our extended family at ChocolaTree Organic Oasis. HOW IT ALL CAME TO BE Kelly Johnson and Jen Marie met in March of 2006, while Kelly was first creating his delicious chocolate creations. Soon after meeting Jen began to tend the garden at the building Kelly was creating his chocolates. At that time, it was quite barren but Jen was determined to create a sanctuary where the elemental beings could rejoice. She planted the garden with the inspiration of Anastasia and assistance of many locals to Sedona. Through an unusual course of circumstances the building that is now ChocolaTree became available for rent. So, father and daughter David and Jen Marie opened their doors as ChocolaTree Organic Oasis in January 2009 with a vision. Our Vision We see a World of natural beauty where every child is born into a domain with clean air, pure water and their very own garden growing fresh foods in a splendid paradise! Intention ChocolaTree is a Sanctuary where each Being can nurture their Authenticity
Sedona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best chocolate experience of my life!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Chocolatree has one of the greatest assortment of raw chocolate confections anywhere. If eating chocolate has always felt like a guilty pleasure to you, then the Chocolatree cacao treasures awaiting you will cure the guilty part. Everything here is made from the finest ingredients, with cacoa from Ecuador, and sweeteners such as agave, coconut sugar, and honey. My current favorite is the Blueberry Lotus, and my friends favorite is the Galactic Butterfly. Do yourself favor and give the Chocolatree a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingitupSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    159
    60
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We LOVE this place!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

It's so refreshing to have a restaurant that offers genuinely healthy AND delicious food near us! We have driven two hours from Phoenix to eat here several times. I love the tacos, salads, soups and veggie burger. The chocolate ganache pie and smoothies are outstanding!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyw720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chocolate Ganache Cake (Vegan, Raw, and Gluten Free - You'd Never know!)”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've experienced a lot of attempts at vegan, gluten-free, and raw cuisine; almost all were overpriced and missed the mark, leaving me unsatiated and feeling sheepish for what spent. I'm so glad I took a friend's recommendation to stop at The Chocolatree while meandering across the western landscape with my husband recently. To date, no vegan/gluten-free/raw dining experience compares to my dining experience there. Every morsel was perfectly seasoned and fulfilling. I was full and energized for hours afterward without feeling overstuffed or lethargic. It's an unpretentious sort of place that makes you feel welcome as soon as you park your car (see photos) and allows you to dine inside, on their covered patio, or in their garden if that's your sort of thing. One of the owners was 'tweaking' a batch of cookies when we arrived and asked us to be guinea pigs...'don't mind if I do! If you stop by, try their Chocolate Ganache cake. I'm no chocolate lover, so for me to say that it's phenomenal is not an exaggeration. If you're not a sweet-tooth, stop by and try something - anything. It's worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amazing vegan and raw food restaurant , great varied menu, everything made on site and some produce even from their own garden out back. Peaceful garden to eat in or hang out, listening to the waterfall in the pond or the cicadas in the beautiful shade trees. Even hammocks and rope swing chairs to get comfy in, nice way to escape the afternoon heat. Returned 3 times and always impressed. They make the most beautiful and tempting raw cacao chocolates, hard to walk past the room where the chocolates are made without wanting to sneak in!

Will definitely return again and do very highly recommend!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique little place for the health minded”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My dining companion and I wanted to find a place that caters to those who like to eat healthy, organic, local, sustainable food. This was THE place in Sedona. The menu included unique items like four different house brewed non caffeinated tea elixirs, veggies we've never heard of and items fit for the restrictions of those who eat gluten free and vegan. The back outdoor seating area was just really cool with a little waterfall, hammock and view of the restaurants garden where they harvest much of their food. It's definitely more of a cafe style where you order at the register and seat yourself so the atmosphere is very laid back and casual. Highly recommended, best healthy meal in Sedona.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ChocolaTree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing