We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Trip to the Grand Canyon”

Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #12 of 90 Tours in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private VIP and Elite Private tours in Mercedes custom Sprinter tour vans with a maximum of 9 guests per vehicle. Leather captains chairs and large viewing windows for the most comfortable and enjoyable tours in Arizona, our senior/master guides provide a wealth of information about local history, geological formations, traditions and wildlife. We are known for our top quality Private tours and vehicles. We are the first and only all private tour company with Mercedes vehicles where luxury and style are always standard. Come see for yourself and book a Private day tour or an Elite private multi day tour.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Reviewed November 14, 2013

First of all, we were scheduled to make the tour from Sedona to the Grand Canyon in August and due to emergency surgery of one of our party had to cancel with very short notice. Mike was very understanding and accommodating in getting us rescheduled. On November 7, we were finally able to make our trip. There were 4 adults in our group, and, while initially I gulped at the price, it was so worth the cost as our experience was so much more than we could have ever achieved on our own. It was perfect in every way from the moment Dwayne picked us up until he dropped us off and was definitely the highlight of many great activities during our week in Sedona. Dwayne was very informative about the history, geology, and interesting facts during the entire trip, not limited to the Grand Canyon. The stops we made, the views we saw, were absolutely incredible. His entire focus was on our having a fantastic and memorable trip. He even back-tracked 10 miles so we could buy some more Navajo jewelry! We would all highly recommend Silver Spur Tours to anyone considering a trip to the Grand Canyon.

Thank jderaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

I treated my husband to a private tour from Sedona to the Grand Canyon - sooooo worth it!! Our guide, Dwayne was great. He provided us with a good mixture of time to ourselves as well as the information we wanted. We would never have been able to see and learn so much about the canyon on our own in one day. It was awesome!
The tour van was very comfortable - Dwayne even had blankets available since it was a bit chilly the day we were there.
There is no doubt that if we return to the area that we would use Silver Spur for a tour -and we would hope Dwayne is available!
Had a really great day - thanks so much!!

Thank swcm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were picked up at our hotel in Sedona (l'Auberge de Sedona, one of the hotels recommended by Mike K - which was great) and driven in the most comfortable MB van - six of us, all adults - views from all over. Dwayne was fantastic, taking us to spots where there were very few people, interesting stops along the way, picked a lovely place for us to have what turned out to be an unexpectedly delicious packed lunch(!) - and generally gave us a truly wonderful and memorable day. Thank you!

Thank BridgetFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thanks for the nice review and sharing your photos; we are glad you found our recommendations helpful, Sedona and the Grand Canyon are so spectacular and you made Dwaynes day by sharing your experience with him. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We could not be more pleased with our trip from Sedona to the Grand Canyon than we are with our tour with Silver Spur. Dwayne was punctual and extremely considerate, making sure that our tour was tailored to our interests and capabilities throughout. He was equally adept at providing interesting historical and scientific information as he was with the less verifiable legendary tidbits. The van was every bit as comfortable as they appeared on the website and much appreciated over the course of a long day. We also appreciated the route used by Silver Spur that travels from the east to the south gate. The approach to the east gate through the Navajho reservation was fascinating in its own right and allowed for a much more diverse view of the Canyon than we would have had by simply going to the most accessible and popular spots. We recommend Silver Spur to anyone without any hesitation.

Thank Theodorus U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thanks for the great review, perfect weather, perfect guests at amazing places, Sedona and the Grand Canyon we couldn't ask for anything more; thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Due to the government shutdown, we could not tour the Grand Canyon. Mike was more than wonderful with all the help in planning a trip to Monument Valley instead of our original trip to the Grand Canyon. We were so blessed to spend the day with Dwayne. We appreciate his knowledge of the Navajo reservation and the many experiences we had throughout the day. Anyone would be truly blessed to experience a tour with Silver Spur Tour. We still want to see the Grand Canyon. We do know that Mike will get a call from us to have Dwayne take us to the Grand Canyon. We had a great lunch provided for us. Dwayne made sure we had Navajo Fry Bread. We have been on many tours, but this was much more than any tour and the best experience we could have ever imagined.

Thank kipper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thanks for your nice comments and working with us; that was a rough week for all who visited Sedona, seeing the Grand Canyon is the main attraction but for those who haven't see Monument Valley it will not disappoint. So next time you visit us we will be honored to show you the Canyon and the other sites that were closed. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing