We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views!”

Open Range Grill & Tavern
Ranked #36 of 194 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, American, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the second level of the Sinagua Plaza, Open Range is the place for comfort food with a Southwest flair. Feel at home in our relaxed environment with unbeatable red rock views. Enjoy our signature House Cornbread, Bison Burger, or the 12 oz. Cowboy Ribeye, or dive into our house made Kansas City style ribs that will have you searching for napkins. Our sweet treats to end your meal include a 5 layer Chocolate or Carrot cake, and our famous Elvis (layered Nutella, banana pudding, bananas, and wafers). Ending a long day of shopping or hiking? Sit back and watch the sunset with an Intoxicating Root Beer or an Open Rangerita, or watch your favorite sports team on one of our 7 TV's. Open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. The Open Range Grill and Tavern- comfort food with a Southwest Flair.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Read about this restaurant as a great place to watch the sun go down on the Red Rocks of Sedona. It does have great big windows and is pretty perfect for it. It's a casual restaurant with a fairly decent menu selection. We started with the housemade cornbread - delish. I enjoyed a sandwich with fries and my husband had the chicken macaroni and cheese. Both were good for a late lunch/supper. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavvyHotelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    243
    167
    72
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Must for a Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found this place as we were walking around the downtown area and decided to eat dinner here, and we were happy with our decision. The views of the rocks from inside are pleasing, and the food is wonderful. We had the buffalo burger and blackened chicken mac and cheese; both were amazing! The staff was pleasant and professional. We definitely look forward to returning here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view and wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 10 loved this place the oak reek amber beer and the chicken quesadilla was a hit. Prices are little high but that's expected when in Sedona Eric our bartender and David our waiter were very professional

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fifi4facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on the upper deck, tucked away on the right heading north, great views from the eating area, very good service. We had ribs and buffalo burger, both served perfectly and hot. They did do a customer survey which tells me they do care on there customers thoughts which is always a great thing.

Helpful?
Thank Atty2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
296 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Staff !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Whenever my wife and I visit Sedona we eat lunch at this restaurant because we enjoy the location and the view. In the past this was a Mexican restaurant. This time we discovered that it’s now the Open Range Grill & Tavern. We asked for a window seat with a view, as we always do. They tried to seat us elsewhere so we asked for the empty table next to the window. They said no, it’s a five top. I looked around the restaurant, which was mostly empty, with plenty of five tops available. I pointed that out to the host that was seating us. He told us to sit wherever we wanted. We sat down at the window table and started looking over the menu. Meanwhile they seated three other tables in our area. Servers promptly went over and started waiting on those three tables. We tried to get the servers attention to take our order. They ignored us. It was obvious that they had all been advised not to serve us hoping that we would leave. It appeared that they were being unprofessional and vindictive. We finally got the attention of one of the female servers named Lea. She explained that this wasn’t her area but she would serve us. She was very professional and provided us with great customer service. The food was good. However, the experience was not good. The entire staff, except for Lea, was retaliating against guests that dared to question the host. When Lea bought the bill over she handed us a comment card and asked us to fill it out. I explained that they probably don’t want me to fill out a comment card because with the exception of her, it wouldn’t be very good. I filled out the comment card and told her I would also be putting my comments on Tripadvisor warning potential customers of the unprofessional and vindictive staff that works at the Open Range Grill & Tavern. If you’re thinking about dining at the Open Range Grill & Tavern be warned not ask for a table with a view or you’ll suffer the retaliation of the entire staff, except Lea. We've never experienced such an unprofessional restaurant staff. There are plenty of other restaurants in Sedona that hire a good staff and train them to provide good customer service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haztaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Open Range Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing