We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negative first reaction but came to terms with the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Check in for 2 nights was routine. We reserved the highest category room: king bed with fireplace on the top floor. We were assigned room 318 which is an end unit with one door which is solid, whereas all the other rooms have both front and back doors with glass in the back, terrace-facing door. Upon entering the room I was floored by how dark and dungeon-like it was, and small! Not at all like the photos on the website! The fireplace is sandwiched between the bed and a desk, with 2 upholstered chairs and a tiny table squeezed between it and the door. If I were to stay at this hotel again, I would not pay the significant price adder for the fireplace. The room is so small that after about 20 minutes of fireplace use, the room gets up to about 85, even on a 50 degree night with the AC running, so we had to turn it off .There is one narrow fixed window next to the door. We are on an extended driving trip in AZ, and so we have two rolling 28" suitcases and two rolling carryons. Finding places to stow all our stuff had me quite flustered for awhile. After a couple of hours I got used to it, and found that it works out OK. The bathroom is nice, there is a good sized flat screen TV, fridge (which froze our water and soda but thank goodness my husband's insulin was on a middle shelf and it didn't freeze), and a microwave. Our room is in the west-facing wing, where none of the rooms have a view of the red rocks, except from our north-facing corner little window. The east-facing rooms have a view of a wider swatch of red rock formations. The shared terraces are wide and have tables and chairs. The pool and hot tub, which we didn't use, have a very small paved area around them with just a few chaises and chairs. Next to it is the breakfast room, which is too small for the number of guests who are trying to dine simultaneously. The breakfast offerings are varied and well-presented. There are two computers and printers in the lobby for guest use. The front desk was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and providing directions to the vortex sites and hiking trails. There is a shuttle to town which we didn't use; we drove into town around 3:30 pm and had no trouble find a parking spot on the street. This hotel is supposed to be non-smoking but that apparently does not apply to the terraces. We were enjoying a beverage at a table on the terrace when a man came out, left his door open with his TV blasting, and lit up a cigarette 10 feet from us. I guess there are inconsiderate louts anywhere; we found it really annoying and left. Pets are permitted in designated rooms with a $20 fee, but we observed a family which parked its vehicle just below our room and kept two large barking dogs out there until we asked them if they planned to let the dogs bark all night, at which time they took them to their room. The hotel has a $250 fee for unreported dogs, but I suspect that that the rule goes unenforced. Sunset on our second night was breathtaking, both from our west-facing terrace, and from the east side which has a wonderful view of the red rocks reflecting the light of the sinking sun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innofsedona, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry the room wasn't up to your expectations. The additional fireplace and seating area can take up extra space in the room, making things a little tight. Our standard kings are a good alternative, there is a little more space in those rooms. The windows on the rooms are on the small side, but we encourage our guests to get out on the terraces to really appreciate those sweeping views and mountain air. As you know, our west side rooms feature views of some of the more famous formations, including Coffee Pot Rock, Chimney Rock, and Thunder Mountain. We are indeed a non-smoking property; Arizona law states that smoking is permitted if it is at least 20 feet away from an open door. If you find that someone is violating this law, please give us a call at the front desk, and we will come take care of the situation. The same goes for noisy pets. Let us know if there is an issue, and we can contact the owners. I am glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful during your stay, we work hard to help our guests get the most out of their vacation. I am further glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the amazing beauty of Sedona. Please come back and visit again soon!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barraza
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,076)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,057 - 2,063 of 3,077 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in West Sedona, however it's not our first choice which would be the Best Western Arroyo Roble in Uptown Sedona. In any case, it's an excellent alternative. The rooms are very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innofsedona, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our rooms were comfortable. With our hilltop views, complimentary shuttle service, and our quiet setting, we hope to win you over as your preferred place to stay while in Sedona. Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barraza
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fabulous views, easy hiking, great food, wonderful Hotel. Great staff--helpful for pretty much any request. Shuttle service will take you right to town if you care not to walk--just a couple miles away. Rooms are very comfortable--nice beds. We will make this a stop every trip we make between our home in Chicago and Palm Springs, Ca...and an always highlight of our journey

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innofsedona, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We know we're doing something right when our guests vow to return to us. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us-from our great shuttle and breakfast, to the helpfulness of our staff in making your stay memorable. Please come visit just as soon as you can!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barraza
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Perfect location for mountain views and proximity to all Sedona has to offer. I have never asked for an upgrade before and Brenda found the perfect room for me with lots of light and great views, cannot say enough nice things about the staff!!! Thank you for great vacation memories!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 908JoanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innofsedona, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed that spectacular view, and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. It's so encouraging to see how positively we've impacted our guests. Please come see us again soon, we'd love to have you back!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barraza
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our stay here was comfortable, the room was clean and large. The staff very helpful.
My only problem was the breakfast area wasn't large enough to accommodate the number of guests at this hotel. The views from the balcony, breathtaking. Overall I recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Choose a terrace room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innofsedona, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

I'm delighted you've enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind words for our staff and the rooms; we work hard to make sure your stay is memorable. I'm sorry about your breakfast experience; the breakfast room can become quite crowded during the peak hours. We like to encourage our guests to head out to the terrace with a breakfast tray, so that you can see the magnificent view while you dine. Thank you very much for taking the time to review, we hope you'll come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted with a little gift bag of 2 Bottles of Water and 2 little chewy granola bars. Nice touch, they came in handy. We were upgraded to the top level with a wonderful view of the moutains and sunset. Service was lovely, questions answered quickly.
Free trolly into town available, location was perfect.

The room was adequate, clean, quiet and comfortable, bathroom clean and efficient. Good TV set for evening viewing, since we got caught in a rain storm that evening.

The Breakfast room was a little crowded, no peanut butter out, but presented upon request.

The pool was sufficient, but no shade and the sun can get hot.

Room Tip: The top level has parking outside the room, very convenient and a lovely terrace on the other side t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandgailb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innofsedona, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

It's so nice to hear that our service was beyond what you expected, and that the rooms and facility were comfortable. I am sorry to hear about the crowding at breakfast; it can become a bit busy during peak hours. We always encourage our guests to take their breakfasts out to those terraces, and enjoy their meal with that incredible view. I will pass your comment about the lack of shade at the pool along to the manager, perhaps we could get some umbrellas over there. Thank you for taking the time to review; we hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Barraza
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the minute I call The Inn of Sedona to the minute I turn the key in at the end of our stay, the service is simply OUTSTANDING. I have never been treated so well by a hotel. And the VIEW is incredible. They have free trolly service ANYWHERE in Sedona so you don't have to worry about driving. We were there for the wine fest and we will make the a yearly adventure! Thank you Elizabeth and the entire staff at the best hotel in Sedona - Inn of Sedona!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innofsedona, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review! You have made the entire staff's day. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sedona!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Barraza
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona

Address: 1200 W Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336-5741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sedona
#4 Family Hotel in Sedona
#6 Business Hotel in Sedona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $153 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With amazing views of Sedona's red rocks from Promenade Terraces; upgraded amenities including a full hot breakfast; and caring service from a great team of friendly people, this Sedona hotel will become your home away from home whenever you visit the red rocks. We love Sedona, and we want you to love it too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Sedona Hotel Sedona
Best Western Hotel Sedona
Best Western Sedona
Sedona Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing