We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed! The hot tub room is totally worth the $$$”
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2006

We had a wonderful 3-day stay in our creekside room. Probably the best accomodations i have ever had. They thought of everything!

I am so glad we didn't stay in town, and the drive was not so bad. the cafe had decent food.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SammyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 804 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2006

We have stayed at the Junipine several times during Thanksgiving. Although it is pricey and the staff grumpy, it is a wonderful destination - so peaceful and beautiful. These are private condominiums, so the unit you get will vary. For the most part, the units we have rented have been nice and clean. It just depends on what is available when you book and then you really don't know what unit you'll end up in until you arrive because they won't guarantee what you request. We always request the largest creekside loft unit available. The rooms are spacious; the kitchen very small. The kitchen is sparsely outfitted, so we bring along a few extra pots and lots of paper cups, plates, plastic forks, etc. On Thanksgiving morning, we put the food in the oven and in crockpots (which we bring along) and we go hiking, By the time we get back everyone is famished and ready to eat. We light a fire in the fireplace and devour the food! We also bring board games to play after we eat. Later we sit out on the deck and listen to the roaring creek while having some hot chocolate and goodies. The rest of the weekend everyone is on their own as far as fixing something to eat - breakfast is usually cereal or bagels and juice; we might pack a few sandwiches to take with us for lunch or just stop somewhere; and then dinner is at a local restaurant. There is a small restaurant on the premises and we usually have breakfast there before we head back home. This is such a beautiful area and there is so much to do and see.
And although it might sound like a hectic weekend, it is actually very relaxing and remains one of our favorite destinations.

Stayed: November 2005
5  Thank funsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Located about 8 miles out of the tourist mess in Sedona, this resort has it all. Great rooms (ask for #15), quite, clean, awesome food, wood-burning fireplace, and most of all great employees. We stayed three night and could have easily stayed a week. Perfect for a family trip.

Be sure and stop be Garlands jewelry on the way down the mountain. It is an incredibly authentic place to buy designer Indian jewelry (no junk).

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

I have just returned from AZ where I stayed at the Junipine for 5 days with my husband and teen-age daughter. Everything I had read on Trip Advisor about this resort was accurate and we were not disappointed. We all thought it was great. The setting is beautiful. We were in Cabin 13 which is almost right next to the main office but it felt very private and we had a nice view of the mountains and surrounding forest. Although we were not right on the creek you could still hear and see the water from the spacious deck. The unit was also spacious with a king sized bedroom and bath downstairs and a large bedroom with two queen sized beds upstairs. There was also a separate bathroom upstairs. My daughter enjoyed having her own space as well as her own private deck upstairs. We had two fireplaces (one in the master bedroom) and three TVs, as well as a full kitchen. We also opted for a hot tub and we used it every day. When we first arrived I thought it seemed a bit far from the town of Sedona, but it never took us more than 15 minutes to get into town and the scenery is spectacular. I actually enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle. My husband fished in the creek and there is a variety of hiking trails near by. We ate in the Cafe twice and I thought the food was good but not great. The desserts were very good. We had a great dinner at the Heartline Cafe in West Sedona and I also thought the Orchard, right in town, was pretty good. If you are looking to buy some local jewelry, I would recommend the tables set up at the Dairy Queen between Sedona (on 89A) and the Junipine. Garlands Jewelry, also on 89A, has really fabulous jewelry and the sales people are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Laurel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at the Junipine house 49. We had a 2 BR unit which had 2 beds upstairs and a King bed downstairs, 2 full baths, kitchen, living room and 2 fireplaces. A great place to stay while traveling with 2 teenagers where we could all spread out. We had a view of the creek and bluffs. With a price of $250/night, it was the most expensive place we stayed at, but we were able to cook several meals which saves a lot. The restaurant was busy, so we just had them deliver our meal one night and ate with the fireplace going. It is off the beaten path, but that is what we wanted. I wish we could live here!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Stayed in House 31 for two nights April 9 & 10 and just loved it. Traveling with two teenagers, a couple and a single. We were very, very pleased with the accommodations. Beds were comfortable, a fire was laid in the fireplace, the jacuzzi was heated up and ready to go, everything was clean and tidy and very spacious. This is the way to go if you're traveling with kids! Even though we did not have a "creek view" the view from our patio was beautiful. The only thing to know about this resort is that it is a good 15 minutes of winding road driving to get into town so get your groceries, etc., before you're ready to settle in.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lcinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2006

This place was better than we expected. We had a great view of privacy, quiet, trees, and birds singing. Our "house" as they call it, was clean, well planned, and had everything we wanted, namely, a hot tub, 2 fireplaces, a HUGE bedroom and bed, a big tv, 2 nice couches, a wonderful full kitchen with all the dishes and pans, and it was perfect. It was expensive though. The staff was friendly. The maid did her job well and I felt bad we didnt have any money left to leave her a proper tip. We had spent all our money on this honeymoon and resorted to eating Dairy Queen the last couple days. Oak Creek Canyon is WAY better than Sedona, and the Junipine was incredible. Sedona is full of yuppies and people who think they dont stink. We enjoyed the views as long as we didnt talk to anyone. We drove ourselves instead of talking the "4 wheel drive" jeep trips. The "primitive" roads were marked as such, but when we drove on them we laughed. This is what Sedona calls a primitive road HAHAHAHAHAHAA!!! They should see the roads in Alaska. Our main freeway should be called primitive! We also didnt expect to have to pay everytime we wanted to park somewhere. You had to have a pass of some sort just to pull over to have a look. So we parked, had a quick look, then drove on real fast to the next spot. Every place you had to have a different sort of parking fee pass. I cant figure this out. We think its a way to get more money out of folks. They didnt accept our State Park pass fee that we paid to get into Slide Rock. And something about not accepting Golden Pass. SO let me tell you about Sedona and the tourist traps. You cannot walk down the street without being harrassed about buying a timeshare. We kept saying NO. They kept harassing. This should be illegal. Dont stop anywhere that says "Free tourist info" because its just a ploy to get you to buy a timeshare. There is no way we can afford a timeshare living in Alaska, when tickets to Arizona are $1000 each. So then the timeshare people said they would get us free tickets. Then we looked at the contract and it said "tickets only valid in the continental US". Then we said no thanks. Then they wanted us to give them $20 to sign us up. How about you give US $20 to sign us up? Timeshare people, please stop harassing the tourists! So we went back to the quiet Junipine, and spent our days enjoying ourselves, as newlyweds, and our nights in that hot tub. The fire crackled and we fell asleep in the big bed. The odd thing about this place was that they charged 75 cents per phone call, even 800 numbers. For a $260 per night stay, dont you think they can throw in a couple free phone calls? So we walked down to the pay phone and saved a couple bucks to spend on that Dairy Queen burger. The food in the restaurant there is average and a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank brandyspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $167 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing