We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat near Sedona, AZ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat near Sedona, AZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you want a retreat in the woods by a rapidly flowing stream, Junipine Resort is the place for you. The units are 1-3 bedroom (including loft) with 1 or 2 bathrooms a kitchen and a nice deck. The units have owners and they differ in the degree to which they have been kept up, but none are truly shabby. The location is, indeed, idyllic. The best located units are those closest to Oak Creek; it's a pleasure to fall asleep to the sound of rushing water. The food at the cafe is undistinguished. We either cook in the unit or go into Sedona to one of the excellent restuarants in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    127
    34
    20
    5
See reviews for
166
204
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful place on the creek. We had asked for an "upgrade" and got a nice 1 bdrm with a pull out couch. Would have preferred a loft that some in our group had but still nice. Nice area by creek to bbq and play and hang out. We did a small bon fire in the pit one night and made smores for the kids (and me).
Great location to town and things to do in valley. Hit slide rock one day--great fun.
Hit pink jeep tours. Went hiking and spent a day in Grand canyon.
The cafe was excellent and far exceeded our expectations.
Caught six trout in creek!! My 8 yr old girl hooking and landing one of them. We brought our rods but they had rods to loan out which is really nice.
Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Boy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

So after looking at the reviews posted on tripadvisor for this resort, wife and I thought it was a good bet to vacation at this site. Mistake. The wife thought the staff at reception was a little alouf, but I did not notice that at first. So now for the facts: The area of the resort is very quite and very beautiful. Resort sits in a canyon with a small river running behind the resort. The accommodations that we had were disappointing; the carpets in the living room and in the bedroom were both not well cleaned, with holes worn in both of the rooms carpets. The kitchen appliances were up to date but half the cabinet doors had hinges that were loose. The cabinet for the TV in the master bedroom had a door hinge completed off the door. There is a general lack of preventive maintenance, at least for this "cabin". Updates are need. (this review does not include the Junipine Cafe, as we ate breakfast there and staff was great and food was very good)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Roger B:

While it's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Junipine Cafe, I was disappointed while reading about the condition of your accommodations. We strive for complete satisfaction, and clearly it sounds like we came up short for you and your wife. I apologize for that. We have two maintenance techs on staff for the 41 condominiums we rent, and there's no excuse for loose hinges on the cabinetry. As far as the carpets, some houses do have small burns in the carpet next to the fireplaces, as fireplace screens are sometimes left open.

Hopefully you enjoyed your visit overall, and I ask you to reach out to me personally if you find yourself planning to visit Sedona again.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family and friends love this property because you feel like you are deep in the woods yet really only 15 minutes from Sedona's main drag. We love the big deck where we can hear the creek, my kids love the loft where they sleep and the nearby grill makes us feel like we are "camping". Lots of opportunities to fish and there's a swimming hole a short hike away if you want to swim and picnic. Bring your creekin' shoes so you can enjoy wondering the Oak Creek.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just got back from our stay at the Junipine and we will definitely stay hear the next time we visit Sedona. The cabin was really nice and had a wood burning fireplace in the living room and the bedroom. It was very clean and the front staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a short drive into town, but worth the drive for the peaceful setting and quiet. It has a great creek and you can access a hiking trail right on the property. I never write reviews, but I chose the Junipine after reading reviews from others, so I wanted to add this is a great choice. It was our first time to Sedona and it was an amazing trip. We drove the hour and half to hike the Grand Canyon which was amazing, so don't miss it since you are so close.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephB715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It’s great to hear that you were referred to Junipine based on guest comments, and thank you for passing on the details of your experience here. The Grand Canyon is nothing short of spectacular, and I’m glad you were able to use Junipine as the base for your trip.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a wonderful unit (#27), with a deck overlooking oak creek, a hot tub, a loft, fireplace and wonderful kitchen! It was so quiet at night you can leave the deck door open and listen to the creek. The front desk was welcoming and very accommodating. The restaurant has a great staff and even better food.
Took a 3-hour pink jeep tour in Sedona and got a massage afterwards at the resort.
Wish I could have stayed there longer but will definitely be returning! A wonderful getaway!

Room Tip: They all seem great but the ones in the back seem quieter. The units on the ends are designed differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
#27 is a great creekhouse. I’m glad that it was the central part of your getaway, and that you enjoyed your meals at Junipine Café. Pink Jeep, Massages – you definitely did Sedona right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The resort is gorgeous and well attended. Nestled into the woods just outside of Sedona, it offers a ton of peace and quiet with quick access to Sedona and all of its amenities. Light yourself a fire at the end of the day, kick back and enjoy. But be warned: the hike behind the lodge is not a quick jaunt. My wife and I spent two hours hiking up, only to be told by a family on their way down that it's about a 6 hour round-trip. Not for the faint of heart. Other hikes - get a hike map - are more accessible and offer better views!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the peace and quiet that Junipine offers. Regarding the AB Young trail that you mentioned: It's a challenging 1.7 mile hike that rises 1,700+ feet to the top of the west rim of Oak Creek Canyon. There are more than 25 hikes in and around Oak Creek Canyon that range from easy to difficult. Just inquire at our front desk and we'll get you oriented.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Junipine Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
7.7 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
6.6 mi away
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Property: Junipine Resort
Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing