We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded Resort Great for Families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Secluded Resort Great for Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Junipine is located about 15 minutes north of the town of Sedona. Oak Creek can be seen from some of the balconies. This is not in the Village of Oak Creek, which is some distance south of Sedona. The resort is made up of privately owned condos that are rented out by a management agency that adds some of the nice touches you would expect from a hotel chain. My family stayed in a 2-BR forest view unit. The front door opened to a small entryway that led into an open kitchen/family room area. The fully stocked kitchen was updated with granite counters, stone floors, and a breakfast bar. The family room area had a large stone fireplace, sofa, loveseat, 2 tables with chairs, a small flat panel television fairly high up on the wall above the fireplace, and glass doors to a large balcony that wrapped to the master bedroom area. Firewood was stacked next to the fireplace, and more was available delivered free upon request. The master bedroom had another fireplace, a balcony, an old tube television, and a large 2-room bathroom area and closet. There was a washer/dryer in the bath but they were unhooked and only available to the owners. Stairs led to a private area upstairs with a large 2-room bath with a separate bedroom area. The upstairs bedroom included 2 double beds, a closet, and another balcony. This room had another old tube television. All the beds were very comfortable and the unit was very clean and tidy. Room service from the onsite restaurant was excellent. The food was delivered quickly, it was hot, and the quality was very good. Although maid service is only available upon request, we didn't miss a daily visit. We carried out our own trash to a receptable at the curb outside our unit and picked up more coffee from the lobby. The lobby had a small DVD library, and staff was very pleasant and professional. Check in/out was easy and efficient. We had spotty cell service and the Wifi is barely acceptable. Download speeds are extremely slow. The television had cable channels, including HBO. We really enjoyed the peaceful, secluded location, but there are no shops or restaurants (other than the onsite restaurant) within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CafeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    152
    42
    22
    6
See reviews for
229
286
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only stayed here for 2 nights while we visited Sedona (about 8.5 miles to the south) but the stay was great. The condo we had was beautiful. We followed other Trip Advisor suggestions and requested an updated condo. All the rooms were very nicely decorated and the kitchen was clean and well appointed. We had a fireplace in the livingroom and in the master bedroom. While our unit (#11) was not officially creekside, we had nothing between us and the creek other than a driveway which was below the deck and hardly noticeable. The unit was also close to the front office and the restaurant which may turn some people off. The staff at the front desk was helpful, friendly, attentive and always pleasant. They helped us with picking out hiking trails in Sedona by providing free maps, trail descriptions and trailhead directions. We got a discount on our Pink Jeep Tour when we booked thru them. While staying at the resort we got coupons for free breakfasts at the resort's restaurant every morning for the two of us. We could choose amongst 6 or so different choices. Rather than being in a desert environment, like Sedona, the resort is in a wonderful cool forested canyon. Being February, we had about 4 inches of snow, but 8 miles south in Sedona it was dry and warm. We'd definitely go back here again. It was nice being in the peaceful canyon away from the "hustle & bustle" of Sedona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Dave_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I came here with my significant other on a get away, where he promised he would not be such a workaholic.

Upon checkin the front desk ladies were very nice and informitive.

Entering the unit it was immaculate and clean. There was a fully stocked kichen and I loved the bedroom with the included fire place which was needed because it was cold. The views outside the balcony were stunning. Lets just say this place was better then my apartment.

However we had to cut our weekend get away short because my workaholic guy needed his cell phone for work and the hotels area does not get any reception at all becasue I believe it is too far into the mountian.

Other than that I had a great time and am sorry I had to cut it short.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kischrisgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
You can get great cell service if you stand adjacent to the lobby, on top of a large river rock, with your opposite hand holding a roll of quarters, extended like an antenna. Works great every time, but it's not so good for taking notes or texting ;)

It was great to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and the location. We hope to see you back soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I always stay at Junipine Resort when we're in Sedona. The cottages have the warmth and comfort of home. It has a fully functional kitchen if you don't feel like eating out. The cottages have been remodeled to bring everything up to date (granite counter tops, new bed frames, showers are in stone, and accommodate the handicapped). There are flat screen TV's in the living and bed rooms. We just were just there last week and had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Caroline D:

Thanks so much for returning to Junipine. It sounds like you were assigned to one of our ADA units that feature: easy parking lot access, an expansive ground floor bathroom with a walk/roll in shower, updated electronics, and great views - at no extra charge. As a repeat customer, we really appreciate your patronage and your taking the time to talk about Junipine on Tripadvisor.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Junipine in early February. We had an incredible time. First, we wanted a placed that was rustic with a full kitchen so we could cook and play house. When we arrived, the cabin was very updated – warm, inviting, with the right combination of new items, but still had that rustic feel. We had a huge deck that backed into a stream. You could see and hear the rushing waters and it was truly peaceful. Our room had an upstairs, a separate bedroom, large living area, and two fireplaces (one in the living room and a separate one in the bedroom). I immediately made a fire. Junipine provides a bundle of wood for each day and you can buy additional bundles in the store for a reasonable price. When you hear the cracking of the fire and your girlfriend hands you glass of white wine, you know its going to be a great time. My girlfriend made dinner in the well equipped and modern kitchen. As the sun set, we watched the warm fire glow, enjoyed the wine and food, and it truly become an memorable evening.

The master bedroom is large with a comfortable bed. Later in our stay, we sipped white wine and made a glowing, cracking fire in bedroom as well which was equally amazing.

Junipine is about 15 minutes outside of Sedona so I recommend you buy your food at a grocery store either in Sedona or closer to Phoenix. The resort has small items for sale and there are a few very small stores nearby, but I would prepared ahead of time. Additionally, there is no cell service in this area which means you will be completely isolated which has its advantages in today's world. Finally, the wireless Internet in the room works, but it was not very reliable. This was no problem for us, but keep this in mind in case you need to attend a conference call or send some emails.

The staff at Junipine is extremely helpful. They were responsive and delivered additional loads of firewood and even helped make a second fire for me. The rate was very reasonable and considering the experience – well worth it. I am positive we will return again !

Room Tip: We asked for a modern, updated room. Most of the units are, but not all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desertroseml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. Based on previous reviews, we made sure to ask for a renovated unit. Upon checking in, we received a unit that was renovated with a new bathroom, kitchen, etc. It had older model TVs (no flatscreens) but that wasn't a big deal for us. The unit was large and neat. The location was also great, we had a unit that faced the creek. The hotel is located 8 miles and about a ten minute drive from central Sedona where all of the restaurants and shops are. The hotel is actually located in Oak Creek and not Sedona proper. Wonderful and friendly staff. One thing I found odd is that the units are not cleaned on a daily basis as would occur at a hotel but this appears to be due to the fact that the units are not really hotel rooms but more like condos. You can always go the front desk and get fresh towels. We plan to return in the summer.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank readytogetawaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding housekeeping, we just ask that guests contact the front desk at their convenience before noon and let us know what they will need for the day. We offer many complimentary items, including a daily delivery of firewood, bath amenities, paper products, towels, etc. Full housekeeping service is available for a modest fee of $25. Since these are fully furnished homes, they are well-stocked upon arrival.

See you again soon,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The people who manage these resort/condominium rentals are pleasant, helpful and go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The property is perched on the edge of Oak Creek and, from what I could tell, each condo has a view from their deck. Also, great views of the mountains on the west side of the creek. Stunning beauty and a peaceful place to visit. Know that Junipine Resort is 8.5 miles up the canyon from Sedona proper (to be distinguished from the sprawl that has occurred east of Sedona, known as Oak Creek Village).Our unit (No.22) was very private and was set right at the edge of the creek. The interior is well decorated with art, artifacts, and other wall decor that was fitting and tasteful (to each their own?) and compatible with magazine style Southwestern/Native American interiors. The place was clean and well supplied. the bedroom furniture was fine, with a very comfortable, relatively firm bed. There is a wood burning fireplace in both the bedroom and living room. Both functioned well. There was a loft over the living room with twin beds, dressers and small game table. Attractive to the hilt. The living room furniture, however was old. The couches (no chairs) had no springs left and were uncomfortable "back breakers". I doubt that there are any springs left in the longer of the two couches. And, the TV cabinet, storing all the audio/video equipment, was literally coming apart. The left door's top hinge had almost completely become detached from the unit. The TV sets in both living room and bedroom were out dated by 20+ years. We had to manage several remotes in order to play a DVD (living room set). Didn't use bedroom TV. The kitchen was excellent! Completely furnished with everything one could need. Couldn't have asked for more. In spite of these problems, we had an enjoyable time. Had we not booked about 4 months in advance for the "low" season", which provides a significant discount, and had to pay the $250 to $300 regular rate, I might have been much less accepting of the condo's shortcomings, in spite of all of the places charms and assets. I would definitely return, but would ask a lot of questions about the furnishings in the unit to which I was going to occupy.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the units closest to the creek. Ask about age and condition of furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyinghogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Flyinghogs,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Junipine. I appreciate you recognizing many of our unique attributes such as our views, stunning beauty, and a peaceful location that make Junipine a very special place to visit. Thanks for mentioning our Junipine team as well who strive to create a remarkable service experience for all of our guests. I also very much respect your opinion and the feedback concerning some furnishings and the TVs in the condo you occupied. I was a little surprised to read your comments about the sofas. This is one of Junipine's most popular condos and is frequently requested by repeat guests. This is the first time I have received any feedback that there is an issue with the sofa comfort. In addition, this condo was recently inspected and either met, or in most cases, exceeded all of our standards for participation in our Junipine rental program. I promise you we will take a second look to ensure we correct any issues with the sofas. The owners of this condo take a great deal of pride in maintaining their unit in excellent condition as evidenced by the décor, bedroom furniture, and the kitchen. They will be very receptive to any improvements needed. It also sounds as if we have a repair issue with the cabinet that will be addressed by our on site team. In regards to the TVs, at this time, we only require minimum size sets in good workable condition. We look forward to welcoming you back to Junipine on your next visit to Sedona. When you are ready to reserve your condo, ask for me and I will personally assist you with your accommodations. Thanks again and safe travels.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.7 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Property: Junipine Resort
Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing