We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Weekend Family Vacation”
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and I live down in the Phoenix Valley originally from NJ and my parents and sister and her girlfriend came to visit us from NJ for the Thanksgiving week and we have heard about Sedona from friends so we decided to take a mini weekend get away. We did not know we're to stay so I mentioned to a coworker that we were going to Sedona and she said right off the bat that she recommended Junipine Resort. So I check out the website and was impressed with what I saw and you can not always go by the pictures you see on a website because they are usually from when the resort was built and everything looked perfect. Once we arrived the host was very welcoming at check in and very accommodating to our request and needs during our stay. We highly recommend eating at the cafe for breakfast and dinner, the food was great. The semi creek townhouse was beautiful with all the amenities needed. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Townhouse # 8 side creek view very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

We are happy to hear that you had a great time, and enjoyed creekhouse #8. Please let your coworker know that we appreciate the kudos. We hope to see you back in 2013.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 825 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

...and beautiful view above oak creek. Private Patio. Wood burning fireplace (really). Large Bed. Well Kept (Room 44). Older but in great shapes. And a private hot tub. Sedona is also radical. Private hot tub. Private hot tub. Private ho...okay I'm done. Great place. Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Chris - Great to hear you enjoyed the private hot tub, the fireplace, the hot tub, the location, the hot tub, and the view :)

Thanks for staying with us,

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We really struggled with whether to stay in town or down the road at the Junipine. For my family, staying at the Junipine was a great decision. It was about 12 minutes from town, but felt good being out of touristy Sedona at night. My husband and son borrowed the fishing rods and fished in the Oak Creek every day, which was very nice. The unit (14) was nice, with new appliances, a comfortable king bed in the master bedroom, and two twin beds in a loft upstairs. The kitchen was outfitted with nice pots and pans. It was a little dark in the unit and it was inconvenient that the restaurant was closed on Monday and nothing was close when we wanted breakfast and dinner, but overall, the benefits of the nice big room with kitchen and "out of town" feeling made the Junipine a great choice for us.

Room Tip: I followed the advice on Tripadvisor and asked for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleJanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

It was great to get your note regarding Creekhouse #14. The large floorplan, the modern kitchen/bath and its proximity to the creek/cafe make it a very popular house. I'm glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our fishing gear and make an afternoon out of it.

Junipine Cafe is open Tuesday - Saturday from 8:00am - 8:00pm. It closes at 2:00pm on Sunday through Monday. If we have your e-mail on file we will let you know of any closures 5-7 days prior to your arrival.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in Condo 5 at Junipine. The condos are all individually owned, so the decor varies from unit to unit. This was my fourth stay there and I love the location right next to Oak Creek. There's nothing like behind under a canopy of trees, right next to the creek. The unit we stayed in is starting to get a little dated and needs to have the main bathroom re-modeled, otherwise the accomodations were clean and comfortable. Be advised that they only provide housekeeping when requested, and the services are very minimal. We were not told about this change when we originally checked in, which led to some confusion when we came back to our room in the evening and nothing had been cleaned, beds not made and towels not replaced. When we called the front desk to tell them our room didn't get serviced, the front desk person was a little glib and replied, "So". I think some of their front desk people need some basic customer service training or need to work fewer hours. All-in-all, a great stay though, and we plan on going back for a fifth stay!

Room Tip: Condo 4 is the best on the whole property. Most private and best views of Oak Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kono777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

It was great to have you back, and I'm sorry that our houskeeping policy wasn't explained at check-in. A lack of communication on our part led to the only negative part of your stay - a non caring comment from one of our desk agents - and I am truly sorry for that. To clarify, our housekeeping team will restock towels, firewood, bath amenities, paper products etc on a daily basis at no charge. We do charge $25 for a full clean.

#5 is a great creekhouse for all of the reasons you mentioned. The huge deck isn't bad either ;)

Best to you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A nice place. Cabins are individually owned, so some are more updated than others. I attended a wedding there. Very lovely setting. FYI- no cell service there invthe canyon. Our cabin was spacious for 8 adults - would be nice if there was a half bath for those staying in the loft. We were very grateful to have the firewood ready since the nights were a bit cooler. Staff was friendly and accomodating for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran2008Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

First, thank you very much for staying with us at Junipine. It sounds like the loft unit (with two bedrooms on the ground floor and a loft above the kitchen) worked out great for your party. When making your reservation, just reqest 'loft' either on the phone or online and we'll do our best to make it happen.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I adored this resort. It was peaceful and relaxing with spectacular views. The wrap-around porch was delightful and offered a perfect spot for drinking coffee and soaking up the dappled sunshine. The rooms were well appointed and spacious. The juniper wood that was provided for the fireplaces had a wonderful aromatic smell. The king-sized bed was comfortable and inviting. The location could not have been better. Just a short scenic drive into Sedona. Room service was quick, convenient and tasty. The restaurant on the property provided nice hearty breakfasts. We also took advantage of their free DVD library and watched a couple of movies we had never seen. All of the employees were absolutely fantastic and friendly. Overall a marvelous place with wonderful personnel. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We had Condo #4. That area was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, Front Office Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in creekhouse #4. It's a beautiful creekhouse. I've passed your comments on to our staff, and we appreciate hearing that we did a great job for you.

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in #44 Creekside condo for 3 nights in late October. The condo was updated and spacious. We loved the two fireplaces, one in bedroom and one in living area. The resort supplies you with wood. The kitchen had granite counters and stainless appliances and they supply coffee. We had a large deck with a hot tub, patio table with chairs and chaises. We were happy we asked for a condo with a hot tub to pamper our muscles after hiking all day. Deck was very private. All we could see was beautiful woods. Loved the bathroom set up because it had a separate counter and sink outside of the bathroom for applying make-up and drying hair. There was a large closet that held our clothing, as well as our luggage. The bedroom bureau was very large. Our condo also had an upstairs with a separate bedroom and bath. Didn't see it since they keep it locked if you don't need it. I think it had a separate balcony upstairs. The master bed was very comfortable and the pillows were the most comfortable we have ever slept on. Can't wait to find out where they purchased them. We ate breakfast at the restaurant on our first day and it was very tasty. The selection is small but we had no trouble finding something that we enjoyed. Great staff. We had most of our discussions with Sandy, who was very warm and informative about hikes to take around Sedona. Cell phone connection is very sketchy in the canyon but once you drive closer to town, it's fine. The ride to town is about 9 miles, and a beautiful ride it is. I happened to love the ride, but if you want to be very close to town this resort may be too far. I loved being able to get away from the crowds at the end of the day. If you are thinking of exploring Flagstaff, then Junipine would be a perfect place since it is in Oak Creek Canyon on 89A which takes you to Flagstaff. It is a spectacular scenic drive. Looking forward to our next vacation in Sedona and would definitely return to Junipine.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Sandy is a gem! She has been with us since 2000, and we are so happy to have her. I have passed your comments on to her personally. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed #44, and all that it has to offer. Many guests agree that it is a fantastic place to stay.

Thank you very much for staying with us.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
971 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
911 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $149 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing