We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in cabin 21. It was gorgeous, close to the creek and very clean. We will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AurelieSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    152
    42
    22
    6
See reviews for
232
286
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Loved the views from our creek side villa. Truly a beautiful, quiet, secluded place to stay, yet only a 10 minute drive into town. We would love to come back in cooler months as we were disappointed that we were unable to really use the upstairs bedroom as it was way to hot. Great place for a family! I would not pay $280+ per night again for Junipine in the summer, however would in the cooler months. The hot tub was fantastic - enjoyed it every night. The interiors are a little dated, but the views, space and location make up for it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Junipine might be a nice stay in the fall or winter, but not the summer. It was 107 degrees outside when we entered Sedona. Hoping for a cool, refreshing, forest stay, Junipine was very disappointing.

For $300/night with a creekside view, I expected air conditioning, swamp cooler or something better to cool us in our upstairs bedroom. It was miserable. Couldn't sleep at night until it cooled down around 1 am. Bugs inside, no matter if we kept windows open or closed.

The creek is nice and cool, but it is not easy to access the waters - especially with 2 little ones (ages 2 and 4) who wanted to play in it. They should create a place of easy access into the creek for summertime use.

Junipine Cafe was overpriced and mediocre (the $24 recommended halibut I got was bland and very mushy - i couldn't eat it).

The staff is friendly and pleasant but didn't seem very knowledgable about the grounds (e.g. they couldn't tell me what type of berries grew right on property [even shown on their website] and near the lobby and if they were poisonous or not. I looked it up online: juniper berries. Would be good to know considering the "resort" is called Junipine). Upon my request, they did however personally go into our unit and kill a wasp for me while we were out. I appreciated that.

On the upside, here is what I liked: my view of the canyon/creek from the balcony, cool mornings to sit outside and enjoy tea, sound of the creek, pretty hiking trail on property (but dangerously low power lines you have to duck under), pretty forest area in general, updated modern furnished condo (except for no A/C unit), daily firewood.

This might be a nice place to stay in the fall and winter but I don't think I could go back. Ultimately, to pay $300/night in a "resort" and get miserable nights of sleep because of no A/C isn't right. I felt a bit cheated.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank su h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

No, it is not the Holiday Inn thank god, but we travel weary professionals and families actually like sleeping with the windows open (it is 70 this morning in mid July) and listening to the sounds of Oak Creek. The staff are consistently welcoming and friendly, and please note MOST of the units are updated. Not sure why the unit bashing is happening in other posts, but I advise asking for an updated unit if you want that and going with staff to inspect the room you have reserved. Where else can you stay with a full kitchen, and views of creek and cliffs that take your breath away. Sedona is very close, has great restaurants, organic grocers, and so many hiking trails you can hike a different one each day for a year...last night I slept listening to gentle rain, the whispering creek, and on a pillow top mattress with sweet dreams of a relaxing weekend. If you have tried this place, come try it again. If you haven't, call and set up your own perfect vacation. I have been here many times and am always happy...maybe they would let me move in???

Room Tip: Talk with staff about your exact needs. The units are owned by real people just like you and me. Int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The location of this place is fantastic, but the rooms (cabins or whatever you want to call them) are a tad on the dated side. Yes, it is nice to be out in the wilderness, but these cabins really need to be updated. A/C would be nice as well during the summer months. The rooms get way to hot.

Room Tip: During the summer months you need to make sure that you ask for a room by the creek. Any of the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's probably one of the most beautiful locations in the world, anyone who lives or indeed can visit Sedona is priviledged. Junipine is a very nice resort and we had a wonderful time but it is a bit pricey for what you get. It promises luxury but it is a bit dated and really not the experience you would expect, in hindsight I don't think we would have stayed here as there are other better value deals. A really wierd thing was that your unit is not serviced unless you request it!
Overall though we enjoyed and Sedona is truly one of our top 5 places in the world....with probably the BEST SUPERMARKET IN THE WORLD!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravellers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were attending a wedding in Sedona and stayed at the Junipine, for only two nights. I wish we could have stayed longer. After reading some of the comments about this place, I wasn't quite sure what we would get. I was pleasantly surprised. I loved the location. It's NOT IN SEDONA, which is great for me. We didn't want to be in the hustle and bustle of downtown Sedona, it's too crowded and noisy. Althought the resort is along the highway, you don't hear any noise. The parking lot is between the condos and the highway. All the patios face the creek, making it even quieter. The condos ARE old, and ours has not been remodeled (laminate counter tops). But it was VERY CLEAN. The kitchen was well stocked with all you need (pots, pans, dishes, coffee pot, toaster, etc.). We had a few meals at the restaurant; both breakfast and lunch were pretty tasty. About the only thing that was uncomfortable was the air/heating system. There is NO air conditioning, but if you open the doors and windows, turn on the fans and use the provided box window fans, it cools down pretty fast. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms near the creek are even quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZtraveler879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.7 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Property: Junipine Resort
Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing