We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than expected”
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

If you are planning a stay in Sedona but, as you will come to realize, you need a break from the swarms of tourists in the city, the Junipine is about the best remedy one could hope for. Although it is located immediately next to Route 89 up Oak Creek Canyon (the road to Flagstaff), it is quite quiet, with little to no road noise (all the spaces face away from the road, and some are creek-side). We stayed in a "forest view" unit, which was excellent. Although I was expecting a typical hotel room (I did no research before booking), I was instead totally amazed by a wonderfully layed-out and well appointed townhome - with a full Kitchen (granite counters), a large great room (with working fireplace and skylights), and a master suite with two vanities (his and hers). Both the bedroom and the great room had large sliding glass doors accessing a large deck replete with patio furniture. And very private! Our unit was No.33 - and I understand each unit is individually owned and decorated. I can vouch for 33 - really nice. Tasteful and stylish.

The resort gives you a load of firewood a day (more than we used by far), and coffee, and has full housekeeping (which we did not use). You can saunter over to the cafe for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or even have meals delivered to your room (for a very reasonable fee). We enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and had breakfast delivered - all excellent. I understand their dining room is well rated for dinner. They have an extensive DVD collection, a friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff, and the entire property is very well maintained.

Junipine is located well north of Sedona, but not so far as to be too "inconvenient." It is, rather, in good proximity to Flagstaff, making it a great spot to access both communities. And one treat: driving into town near dusk presents you with some fantastically sun-lit views of the monolithic stone spires for which Sedona is famous.

Room Tip: It seems like all the townhomes are quiet - I had 33 and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 827 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

This resort is about a 15 minute ride North of Sedona in beautiful Oak Creek Canyon. The scenery is impecable! Looking off of our spacous back deck, there are stunning canyon walls and down below, is Oak Creek. I could have spent a whole day just gazing off the deck if there weren't so many good hiking trails around. When the night got cold, having a real wood fire in the fireplace was a great experience. They supply firewood every day. The rooms are very spacious and luxurious, equiped with good coffee makers and full supplies in the kitchen. The restaurant has some very good food and is reasonably priced. My only gripe was the towels supplied could have been a little softer and plush.

Room Tip: It looks like every room had an equally beautiful view. The higher numbered rooms will be furthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a development of privately owned condos about a 10 minute drive past Sedona towards Flagsatff. We stayed in unit 40 which was very comfortably appointed with a full kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It was clean and spacious and had 2 large decks overlooking the creek which flowed below us in Oak Canyon. Make sure you specify a unit with a hot tub if you want one, because they are not available with every unit. There is a restaurant on the property with limited hours if you do not feel like cooking or driving back to Sedona. Sedona itself is one of the most spectacular places on earth and this resort has a quiet and restful ambiance which seems to respect the natural beauty surrounding it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We decided to stay at Junipine for a mini-vacation. It was a choice I don't regret! The view creek side was gorgeous, and the fact that a private hot tub was on our deck made our stay even better! I highly recommend a room with a creek view. The combined ambiance of the sound of the creek gurgling with the fire crackling was perfect. The bed we slept in was the most comfortable I've slept in! We did not get a chance to try the cafe unfortunately, but we plan on it for next time! The only slight negative is how far of a drive it is to Uptown Sedona area and trail areas. Although, with the gorgeous views along the way, it made the drive less bothersome. Stay here and you will never want to leave!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Likeaboss590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed for two nights in late February. A friend and I had a "girlfriend getaway", and stayed at Junipine Resort. We were both impressed by the condo and the grounds around it. We got unit 29, which had two beds and a bathroom upstairs. The condo was cozy, and we would have liked to sit on the patios, but it was a bit too windy and cold for that. But, no worries....with the fireplace and the wine we brought with us, we were fine. It ended up snowing on the morning that we left, and the power went out, so we left a bit earlier than we had planned. We didn't have cell phone service, but there was wifi, so we were not completely cut off from our families. I would love to go back sometime when it is a bit warmer, and hope to visit later this year.

Room Tip: Next time, I would like to be closer to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Momma_Dukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was our second trip to Sedona. Stayed at El Portal the first time and loved it. Wanted to try a new place. Based on the trip advisor reviews decided to try Junipine. We booked a condo on the creek with a hot tub. (#3) I can't tell you how disappointed we were. The condo clearly had not been updated since the early 80's. Wood cabinets were worn. Carpet was dingy, furniture was in extremely poor condition, it was smokey and musty. We aked if there were other units available that been updated. We were told not really so we decided not to stay. They refunded our money without hesitation. We are not picky travelers we actually like rustic accommodations but this was truly just poor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Mtmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junipine, General Manager at Junipine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Please allow me to apologize for your experience with Creekhouse #3. All of our Creekhouses are individually decorated and we acknowledge there is diversity in style, décor and furnishings as well as location. We require the owners of the Creekhouses at Junipine to meet minimum standards of accommodations equivalent to the standards established by the American Automobile Association for a three diamond hotels. Your comments will be shared with the owner of Creekhouse #3. I realize we were diligent in providing you with a full refund; however, as you have been to Sedona before, I would love to see you consider returning to Junipine and staying in one of our other Creekhouses. If I can be of service to you on selecting a Creekhouse on a future stay, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Chris Bosselmann
General Manager
Junipine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I only stayed one night at the Junipine, but I would go back in a heartbeat. The location was gorgeous and private. No complaints. Service was excellent, the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Everything was perfect, including breakfast at the restaurant. The condo far exceeded my expectation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
971 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
911 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $142 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing