We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Junipine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Junipine Resort
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed December 3, 2007

We chose to book with Junipine Resort for our one-night stay in Sedona after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. The resort is consisted of private town homes on a large property managed by Junipine. We stayed at #7, which is located by the creek and features a hot tub on the private deck. The home was warmly decorated with all the amenities -- a TV and DVD player in each of the three bedrooms. Two clean and spacious bathrooms. Full kitchen. Wireless Internet. A fireplace. It was a great place to rest and relax after a day's flying and driving, particularly for a family.

The resort is located roughly 10-15 minutes drive north of uptown Sedona, in the narrow Oak Creek Canyon with the lovely Oak Creek. You can hike along the creek or take off on other trails. We saw people fishing in the creek early in the morning -- I believe trout fishing is a popular sport there. The creek must offers cool relief during the hot summer months.

We enjoyed our stay in Junipine and would return there again.

  • Liked — Location and amenities
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    166
    47
    23
    6
See reviews for
256
318
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

6 girls stayed in cabin #1 of the Junipine Resort., and we just loved it!!! The staff at the Junipine was WONDERFUL!!! They even let you pick out games and movies to take back to your cabin! When we asked for 12 towels (were girls) we recieved them right away. Take a Pink Jeep, Go to Barking Frog (they make there own Guacomolie dip right in front of you), and sit under the thousands of stars at night drink wine and enjoy the sound of the river and the fireplace. Beautiful Sedona.

Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaSugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We (3 women & 1 man) stayed at Junipine after a trip to Grand Canyon. The drive down 89A to Junipine was breathtaking.
We were very pleased with the resort. Our deck overlooked Oak Creek with the red rocks in the background. Lovely. We used the jacuzzi on the deck daily. It was nice to have cooking facilities which we took advantage of on a regular basis.
The resort had a great location since Sedona was nearby. We chose not to be in Sedona but within a close proximity. Perfect location. The hiking was all around & fabulous.
We did have dinner at the resort restaurant our first night & we all enjoyed our meals.
We found the customer service to be exceptional.
All in all I would definitely recommend Junipine Resort & would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

The Junipine is all it has been reported, but here is a recent synopsis:
The Good -
1) Chris - General Manager
2) Is just enough off the beaten path that you are out of the fray, but not so much that you're out of Sedona proper.
3) Is on and in Oak Creek - lovely, lovely, lovely!
4) Working fireplaces, roomy accommodations, full kitchens, and private balconies with the creek as a soundtrack – some with Jacuzzi’s.
5) Hiking trails in the back yard.
6) Gilchrist and Soames toiletries -

The Bad -
1) Sharing laundry facilities with Housekeeping.
2) Individual units are subject to the owners decorating taste – oh, my.
3) Units are showing some age and being repaired... which brings us to:

The Ugly –
Roof dancing.
We are common creatures separated by language. This time the separation featured re-roofing at 7:30 a.m. To say that I had the bejeezus scared out of me is an understatement. Dead asleep - people tap dancing on the roof... The various maintenance crews do not appear to speak English - at all. The initial desk person that I reported this to (not Connie) asked me if the work was really that disturbing. I’m serious.
The gist was a breakdown in communication between the Board of Directors, the owners, and the rental agency. This unit should have never been rented. Chris and I worked out a solution to my problem; however, you will want to ask if the unit you are renting is scheduled for maintenance at any time during your stay, because it is my understanding that the Junipine does not have control over when the crews actually show up to do the work. In our case and for some reason, it was difficult for them to understand to stop working on the roof while people inhabited the structure.

As I have pointed out, though, Chris (who was truly frustrated with the situation) proved more than accommodating and professional. As one property administrator to another, I really do appreciate the executive decision he made and the residual fallout he probably had to endure because of it.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — re-roofing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This place is amazing. The staff at the front office were very friendly and helpful especially Chris. The resort is tucked away among the trees off of Hwy 89A. About a 15 minute drive to town. There were 6 of us that stayed in one of the creek houses. The rooms were a nice size. Since I was the youngest of the 6 and the more agile, I stayed in the loft. The spiral staircase going up to it was a little tight, but I was fine with it. Just dont wear socks only when climbing or you might slip. Wear shoes or go barefoot... and hold on to the rails at all times.
The deck was spacious and faced the creek area. We caught some trout from the creek and cooked them up right away. Can't get any fresher than that. The kitchen was a little cramped but fully loaded. Thank you dishwasher!
If you're looking for a place to entertain the kids, go to Disneyland. Junipine is a place for relaxation, taking in the beauty of the nature around you and getting away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Liked — surroundings
  • Disliked — no pets allowed
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DisneyMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

This was our second visit to the Junipine Inn. We stayed once before in 2004.
This was a last minute trip.. I had called on Thursday, needing a 2 night stay for the following wednesday night.
TIP: don't ever book direct on the website. They always seem to say sold out, and you don't have the option of fine tuning your room selection. Always call the propery directly.

Our party was myself, wife, 3 kids and mother inlaw, so I was looking for the 2 bedroom creekhouse WITH a loft (identical to our accomodations back in '04)..
Also wanted a hottub. What good luck we had, in that on such short notice, they had just the room we were looking for.
We had creekhouse 50. Which is the cabin on the farthest left of the property, literally right next to the road.
However, road noise is negligble. There is a nice buffer of trees and a small slope, to make you not even realize you are right off 89A. (seriously, traffic noise here is a non-issue).

One other reviewer here, posted a picture of the map layout of the property, and the unit numbers. Use this as your guide if you make a reservation. I would have LOVED to have a direct creek view cabin tucked away in the upper middle corner of the forest, but we had to take what they had available. Next time i will make reservations well in advance, and specify my favored cabin number from the map.

The property is just fantastic. You are in the middle of Oak Creek Canyon, and there are just majestic trees and mountains totally surrounding you. The little lobby where you check in is nice and quaint. They have a selection of Junipine apparel, and also sell some of the basics (camera, film, toothpaste, newspapers etc...)
our front desk lady was excpetionally nice and helped get us into the cabin a bit early, as we arrived at 1pm.
They are also real good at recommending local attractions and she helped set up at a fabulous location for horseback riding for later in our stay.

The cabin layout was identical to what we had on our previous stay, so there were no suprises there.. It is just as beautiful as i remembered it to be. One thing to note, every one of these cabins are privately owned. So you are essentially staying in someone's 'second home'. As such, each cabin has it's own specific decor. But they are all have fully equipped kitchens, utensils, even salt pepper and spices. Coffee, microwave, etc.. etc... You also have the owners books, DVD movies, and music CD's to enjoy at your leisure. We had a real nice dinner one night with the fire going, the deck open, and some Norah Jones on the CD player in the background.

We had stopped at Bashas (about 15 minutes back, in uptown Sedona) to get our supply of food for the stay. I love going back to the creekhouse and spending a few hours cooking up some homemade breakfast and dinners.
The 2BR, Loft with hottub layout is awesome.. 2 fireplaces.. One in the family room right next to the gigantic deck, the other is a beehive kiva style fireplace in the master bedroom.
the master bedroom has it's own deck , which is alsowhere the hot tub is.. Very private, and very convenient!
The kids just love the loft. it has a spiral staircase which is tucked in between the kitchen and dining area.
The loft in our unit was gorgeous. Huge sky light to watch the start from the 2 twin beds. They also had a large round dining-type table with 4 chairs, and a TV w/ DVD in an armoire up there.

The views from the deck are incredible. Even though we had the far left unit, on the road, you still BACK to the canyon. So, no unit could possibly offer a bad view, since the layout of all the cabins is in like a crescent shape.
There is also a mile or so hike on property that you can do.. We didn't this time around, but plan to next time. The back of the property, being on Oak Creek, offers incredible little hikes, and we spent an hour or two happily roaming around collecting pinecones and rocks.
It's just such a great location, it really has everything right there.
Hiking, gorgoeus setting, creek, fishing if you wanted, etc.. etc..
the property even has those little BBQ grills scattered around in strategic locations. Several benches for sitting to observe nature, even a canopy or 2 for just relaxing.
It's a very serene and calming property.

You have the option of having maid service during your stay.
Or not.
Or you can just have them deliver fresh towels, and new wood (you are supplied with about 4 hours worth of wood each day, along with kindling, firestarter bricks, and matches.. We opted for just the towels and wood service.. also, a USA Today paper was delivered to the door each morning.
They do have the Junipine Cafe, on site, which is a full service restaurant and Bar.. They close early though, 8pm. You have the option of ordering from them, and they will deliver it, like room service. We skipped on the Cafe, as when we tried it on our last stay, it was un-impressive.. Perhaps it has changed now, but i don't know and didn't feel like finding out, as we did all the cooking ourselves.

A great trip to make (especially if you have kids), is about 10 minutes north, right on 89A is the Rainbow Trout Farm. Fabulous fun - you catch your own Trout, then grill it up and eat it right there on site (they of course do the full scale cleaning of the caught fish, for you). They also sell sodas and beer. We all loved this. (second time here as well... great memories.. just great)

I can't speak highly enough about this property.
When i told my wife i was planning a quick jaunt to Sedona she asked 'why don't we stay somewhere else, we've already been to the Junipine'... My answer was that the Junipine is the perfect setting to fit our entire family, vs. having to get adjoing rooms at another lodge elsewhere, or not knowing what we'd get by staying at another resort. Also the room rate was $305.00 per night, and thats real reasonable considering the accomodation and the ammenities. You are also about a 15 minute drive past the main Sedona strip. so even though it may SEEM you are out of the action, you really aren't, and it is super quiet back there in the forest at night. You will, however, hear the constant running of the creek water down in the canyon.. you literally are, after all, ON the creek itself. A wonderful noise.
I have no problems going back to the Junipine with just the wife for some romantic weekend action, just as easily as brining the entire family again.
I have read where people didn't care for the noise from the creekhouses around them. Second time staying here, and second time hearing no such noises.. So i guess it just depends if people are around partying or not..

We had a small issue with the plumbing, which was fixed rather quickly by the onsite maintenance staff.
All in all, I couldn't ask for anything more from this place. It will always be our destination whenever we go back to Sedona. no questions asked.

  • Liked — Location. Cabin layout and ammenities
  • Disliked — When we had to leave.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Our entire stay was awful- right down to the last detail. The worst experience was the security guard that drives around the property in a golf cart. He was incredibly rude and degrading and treated us like we were drifters. We had spent the day hiking the creek and had our car parked off property since there was a line getting into the resort parking lot and we did not feel like waiting. We came out of the creek by the resort and were walking through the parking lot to get our car to re-park it in the parking lot when the security guard drives up in his golf cart and tells us to get out. We tried to explain that we were guests at the resort and were trying to get our car which was around the corner. He told us "your kind isn't welcome here", and that we needed to get out immediately. We did, we checked out right then and spent the rest of our stay at L'Auberge- which was perfect. I highly recommend you stay at L'Auberge De Sedona- it is worth the money!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank badfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
6.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
7.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junipine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junipine Resort

Property: Junipine Resort
Address: 8351 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junipine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years, Junipine, a Sedona resort, has provided incredibly luxurious Sedona Villa style creekhouses. The 1,400 square foot creekhouses are the most spacious, comfortable, and affordable luxury accommodations in the Oak Creek Canyon area of Sedona. Located eight miles north of Sedona on the banks of beautiful Oak Creek, Junipine Resort offers individually decorated one and two bedroom creekhouses that accommodate up to six adults. Each Sedona Villa style creekhouse is situated in a very private, wooded environment. Select from a secluded forest view, or an expansive creek view; with a private hot tub on your back deck, if you so choose. All creekhouses at this Sedona resort include fully furnished kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, and large wrap around decks. These are our signature amenities that you will not find anywhere else in Sedona. Romantic getaways in Sedona, family vacation time, reunions and special events in Oak Creek Canyon are all possible at Junipine Resort... your creekside retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Junipine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junipine Resort Sedona
Junipine Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing