We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect visit to Sedona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Sunset Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Sunset Chateau
Ranked #7 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect visit to Sedona”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel for two nights on a trip out west. I had researched many places to stay before selecting A Sunset Chateau. We had one of the better rooms that was on the higher level. We had a great view of the red rocks and a nice little patio. My only complaint is that if you walk to the edge of your patio and your neighbors are standing on the edge of theirs, you can see each other. We had a great bathroom and a nice spa tub and separate water closet. It had a small kitchenette supplied with dishes and pots and pans if you wanted to cook. The breakfasts are included, and they are a real treat. Personalized omelets the second day were a real treat. There is a pretty pool area with a small sitting area with a fireplace. On the property there are other areas to lounge and view the scenery.

Room Tip: I would pay the little extra to get the nicest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtwo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    122
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
235
597
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A Sunset Chateau was far beyond our expectations. Our room was unit #7 and was impecable. I am a "detail" person and the room and grounds were just as I would have decorated my own home. All the decor and furniture is very nice and substantial. We loved the newly tiled shower and bathroom. Everything was very, very clean. We relaxed on our patio and enjoyed the view of the red mountains every evening. Also enjoyed the hot tub outside and 2-person jetted tub in our room. The gourmet breakfasts were excellent. Jean's hospitality and helpfulness in meeting our every need went beyond what we expected. He always greeted everyone individually with a smile and helpful information every morning at breakfast. Loved the fact that breakfast was served from 8:30-10:00 so we could go when we wanted and meet different people every day. Some even got up early and hiked before breakfast. The young ladies of the kitchen staff were very perky and happy to help. Thanks, Jean for such a relaxing stay for my husband and myself.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful and the bottom rooms probably have the best view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Actually the pictures on tripadvisor do not do justice to the beauty and cleanliness of the entire property. Great room, comforatble bed, hot tub at night - it doesn't get better than this. Oh, but it does - the entire staff is friendly, helpful and always smiling, a testimonial to the owners. Breakfast was terrific - real food, hot coffee and table service. I would return ina Sedona heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here in April and it was delightful: beautiful views and excellent location and we can't say enough about the charm of the place- it's almost impossible to describe. Great breakfast every AM. This is our 4th trip to Sedona from WV and this is where we will stay here from now on. We took the advise from the guy at the front desk on where to hike and eat and he was "right on". I don't normally write reviews but this place is so deserving of praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus N Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Situated on the hill (Mesa) near the airport, (but for the occasional helicopter there is no aircraft noise) with views over west Sedona and the Red Rocks. Jean was a great host and all the staff were fantastic. The rooms are clean and of ample size and most have some sort of patio for sitting out to read of enjoy the views. The central area has a pool, whirlpool, kiva fireplace hammocks and small area to sit and relax. Overall an 11 out of 10.

Room Tip: Quite honestly any of the lower Vista Montana rooms. We stayed in the Casablanca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertandJoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were only there for a couple days but we want to go back. The rooms were great, well equipped. The setting was beautiful. My husband and I came with our 2 adult kids and the room was big enough for us to stay in the same room. The owners knew the area very well and gave us a great tip on hiking near by. The food was excellent too. We all want to go back and enjoy the area some more and the Bed & Breakfast. Very relaxing after a long hike down into the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wanted to take my husband to Sedona for his birthday, and after researching all of the hotels, resorts and bed and breakfasts in Sedona; I settled on A Sunset Chateau. What a wonderful choice that was! We were awed by the beauty of the location of this boutique hotel. We were even more inspired by the architecture, decor and grounds. My husband commented that it looked a lot like a Chalet he had stayed in in Switzerland, and we were thrilled to meet Philippe and discover that was exactly what the place was modeled after! Our room, Belle Vista, was LOVELY and the views were incredible. We savored every minute of our time there, resting in the hammock, soaking in the Jacuzzi under the starlit sky, dining on their outdoor patio, enjoying our delicious omelette at breakfast. It was more than I could have hoped for for my husband's birthday. He was genuinely overwhelmed! Thank you Philippe and Janet! We look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Bella Vista has lovely views of the Red Rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieandValentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
1.2 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sunset Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sunset Chateau

Property: A Sunset Chateau
Address: 665 Sunset Drive, Sedona, AZ 86336-5410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunset Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunset Chateau is a 25 room Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of West Sedona. We have a quiet, hilltop setting with unparalleled views of the red rocks. The property has lush gardens, several patios with tables/chairs, swings and hammocks, a pond/ stream/ waterfall, a heated salt water pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, and a kiva fireplace. Each suite includes organic soaps, shampoos and lotions as well as Starbucks(R) coffee. The B&B is owned and run by two artists, which give it a unique, artistic charm, with original paintings and murals throughout the property and individually decorated rooms. We additionally offer a free complimentary concierge services for setting up tours, dinner reservations, and day planning, as well as in-room massage for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your A Sunset Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Sunset Chateau Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing