We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I, my two sons (ages 13 and 15), and another family of three (including a 10-year old) stayed in a 2 bedroom lock-off (which is a 1-bedroom and a studio which can be connected by interior doors.)

The unit was on the second floor. We only had a view of the golf course. There was no view of the beautiful red rocks.

We stayed in the 1-bedroom unit. Our friends stayed in the studio.

The 1-bedroom unit was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen had a dishwasher (which needed repairs), a coffee pot, place settings for six, cooking utensils, pots and pans. It even had a wine openere. The only item it lacked was a good-sized frying pan. There were two small frying pans. The resort provides paper towels, dishwasher detergent, dish soap, dish sponge, coffee, filters, and tea bags. (Also, there was always prepared coffee, tea bags, and hot water in the lobby. That was nice for the evening when all I wanted was one cup of coffee with my dessert.)

There was a dining table which could accommodate four people and a breakfast bar which could accommodate two people.

The living room had a sofa bed which we used. We also used a roll-away bed which was not comfortable at all. My son could feel the springs through the mattress.

There was a fireplace (not log burning) in the living room which gave it a nice atmosphere.

The bedroom had a comfortable king-sized bed. The alarm clock was way too bright. You can turn down the brightness, but it was still too bright. The curtains in the bedroom actually did a very good job of blocking out light.

The bathroom had a large soaking tub (which I never used) and a shower. The bathroom was spacious and comfortable. All toiletries and a full-sized blow dryer were supplied. There were also bath towels and pool towels provided.

We enjoyed our stay at this resort and would consider returning again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarieVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 765 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We rented a two bedroom unit at this lovely resort. It was not super luxury but it was very clean, nice and spacious. The smaller bedroom had a queen and a double hide-a-bed, a decent sized bathroom (shower, no bathtub) and a kitchenette. The larger part had a full kitchen that was completely stocked with utensils, dishes and oven and storage containers as well as a toaster, blender and can opener. there was a bedroom with a queen bed, a large bathroom with a large bathtub as well as a shower. The living room had a queen pull out bed. The pool area was very nice with three hot tubs (one by the pool the others away from the pool a bit). When we called for clean towels they brought exchanged them promptly. Housekeeping was efficient and quick half way through the week. We didn't spend a lot of time at the resort as we were off doing other activities but we were very comfortable and happy with the accommodations. It is NOT close to any attractions except the golf course so you will need a vehicle and there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were able to stay at one of Diamond International's property while in Sedona. The Ridge of Sedona Golf Resort is a beautiful property. We stayed in a one bedroom unit with our daughter in the adjoining studio.

It met our needs, staff was very friendly and even called before we arrived to see if they could set any excursions up for us. The concierge was very helpful when picking out places for us to eat.

Certainly will stay here again. I also liked the fact that the property was close to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Plan on having a car unless the golf course is all you want to see. Great little room and nice with the in room kitchen! Little driving you can see it all! Check out the out of africa attraction -- worth the drive and a real nice experiance!

Room Tip: Out of Sedona proper but easy drive -- must have car to see all !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BILL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We are really glad to read that we were able to offer you a relaxing break and we are pleased that you have found some great attractions near the resort. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great location, rooms are large and have everything you need. Unless you really want to buy a timeshare, do NOT attend one of the presentations they offer with incentives. The incentives aren't worth it and they give you a very high pressure sales pitch for 2 hours. Save your time and go out to enjoy the surroundings. Otherwise, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chocolategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Diamond Resorts owns this complex, with individual owners having purchased time shares. We stayed in a studio that we rented for only $79/night - a bargain. We had a kitchenette, queen size bed, tv (with the speaker facing the back), large bathroom (unnecessarily large), kitchen table, sofa bed, coffee table, and dishes/glasses/silverware for 4. With a little bit of shopping at the local store, you can stock up on food and have some of your meals right in the room. We tended to fix breakfast in the room and eat lunch and dinner out, though we did bring in dinner one night.
We were on the 2nd floor and were thankful that we didn't have kids and a lot of luggage. Many families stay here, which makes sense. It's an affordable way to go. Pool and two jacuzzis were a decent hike to get to, but, at this time of year, very few people were in them. The jacuzzi was hot at first, but that's just because the air temp is so cool at night. They really should cover the spas during the day to keep in the heat.

Check in was smooth . . . until they handed us over to the concierge, who was really a rep from Diamond Resorts. After she gave us our "welcoming package" - a small bottle of Kirkland water - she started in on her pitch. She was very kind and upbeat, until she found out we were not "Diamond" members, and merely renters. After that, her tone and attitude changed for the negative. She attempted to get us hooked into listening to a 90 minute talk, etc. We didn't bite.

The front lobby area does have coffee and tea, two computers (no free wi-fi in rooms - unless you're already an ATT wifi customer. If you are, bring your username and password), dvd's that you may rent (only a couple of bucks each), and a 24 hour fitness room that looked decent.

Bring your own dvd's if you want.

There's a nice Hilton within a 5 minute walk. The little town of Oak Creek is minutes away by car. Not much to see. The main reason to be in Sedona - to see the amazing red rocks, take hikes, and be the the fresh outdoors - is about a 15 minute drive away. Not bad at all.

Overall, I recommend this place - especially if you can get a deal like we did.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank SlyGuy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review. we are glad that the accommodation proved to be spacious and comfortable and you found everything you needed during your stay in your room. We are sorry if the treatment you received from our concierge team has been less than satisfactory - please be assured that this will be addressed. We hope that you had n overall enjoyable stay. Come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had always wanted to stay in Sedona on previous visits to the area and came in via Montezuma's Castle through the spectacular red rocks.

The Ridge is in the village of Oak Creek rather than Sedona and we were disappointed to be told by reception that no studios had a red rock view. We thought a little more planning in building the place would have been wise.

We also didn't like being immediately transferred to a concierge whose only mission in life seemed to be to get us on a timeshare presentation with an offer of $100 discounts. When we refused to go on this she lost all interest in giving us any information about the area or anything else.

We also rejected the first, ground floor accommodation as its only views were further brick walls and were given a second floor studio which was better. We would recommend higher up accommodation here. It had a lovely kitchen and dining area, lounge and king bed which were all really comfortable. The pool area near our studio was also really good with lovely views, barbecues to use and a hot tub, very welcome in the heat and an ideal place to chill out after sightseeing.

We don't play golf so didn't use the course at all and so can't comment on that.

This was a well maintained, spacious studio which we liked although we would have liked maid service as we were staying three days and this was not provided for three days and under. There is a handy laundry but wif-fi is charged for.

We would stay again but only if we couldn't find similar accommodation nearer to Sedona's centre as this was a fairly long way out.

Sedona itself was fantastic and we would recommend walking in Red Rock State Park, the Chapel of the Holy Cross set in the rocks, the rocks themselves, Sliding Rock State Park and the Coconino National Forest.

Shopping and dining out is expensive in Sedona but we would recommend Tiaquepaque artists' village for its peaceful tranquility even if you don't want to buy its lovely artwork and Cafe Jose which offers a fantastic, reasonably priced breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with the best view you can find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HfamilyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.0 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#32 of 48 in Sedona
568 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.8 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#28 of 48 in Sedona
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
6.6 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,774 reviews
5.0 mi away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Address: 55 Sun Ridge Cir, Sedona, AZ 86351-7389
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $97 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing