We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, kind of far from Sedona” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad, kind of far from Sedona”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

First off, this resort is in the Village of Oak Creek, not Sedona as the name implies. It's about as far south as you can go in the resort area, and takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the shops and restaurants in Sedona, which is kind of inconvenient. There are some places in the Village of Oak Creek too, but it's much smaller. It's also right at the edge of the beautiful red rock scenery, and in fact our room didn't have a good view at all. But drive just about a mile or two north and you have Courthouse Butte and Bell Rock, both awesome hiking with gorgeous views at sunset.

The resort itself is nice and modern, about what you'd expect for a timeshare. We had no complaints about our room. It doesn't have the charm and individuality of a B&B, but we didn't expect it to. The salespeople are quite pushy trying to get you to do one of their tours, which we had to decline several times. The pool area is OK - it has a hot tub but very little shade. There's not really much to say about it - it's just kind of boring looking and lacked character. Not bad, just not much to say about it.

Overall, we did have a good experience there, I just wish it was closer to Sedona and most of the hiking. We're not golfers, so that does have an effect on my review. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank packgrad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay here, however, we are concerned that our location did not meet your expectations.
Our resort has often been described by previous guests as conveniently located. Our location, in Sedona/Village of Oak Creek, is at the mouth of Oak Creek Canyon with its drop-dead gorgeous scenery, plethora of good restaurants, and dozens of hiking trails all around town it has become a personal favorite of many and makes an excellent base for exploring central Arizona within easy driving distance. Room requests such as a specific view types can be submitted prior to arrival. We will do anything within reason to accommodate your request when availability permits. As you may be aware, we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, the offering of a vacation ownership sales presentation is a part of the check in process. We would like to offer our apologies for any dissatisfaction this may have caused you and assure you that we do not advocate 'pushy' sales approach and encourage all guests who feel inconvenienced to contact our reception team. We would be thrilled to have you stay with us again as our valued guest and hope that you will consider us again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    258
    95
    47
    23
See reviews for
213
315
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
C Springs CO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This resort is located in the Village of Oak Creek which is 8 miles south of Sedona proper. This is a great location for people who want to play golf during their visit to Sedona. Unfortunately we are hikers not golfers. There are some very good trails located close to the village but a lot of the ones we wanted are located north and west of Sedona which made for a 30 to 40 minute drive. We stayed in an efficiency unit across from the pool in building 13. The unit was very comfortable and was in good condition. It didn’t have any views and the units next door were under construction so parking was a hassle. The Wifi service was expensive and was horrible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COscubalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

You'll have space - and plenty of it - in these Diamond Resort-owned units. Our one-bedroom was huge, with all of the amenities you'd expect in a time share. The pool is somewhat dated and our unit has clearly been used without an update for a while, but that didn't detract from the place. Units are being refurbished. Not sure about the public areas.

The only downside is the location. Set in the Village of Oak Creek, it is still a 15 minute drive to Sedona proper. There are restaurants and cafes within walking distance - as long as you're willing to brave the big hills - and a grocery store (Weber IGA) at the next roundabout. The views are good to great, depending on what building you're in. There are no food services onsite. The concierge is very helpful - but there is a continuing need to 'sell' the timeshare 90 minute visit, even when they knew we are regular Diamond customers.

Room Tip: Higher numbered buildings are up the hill, so further from reception and pools, but potentially bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at our resort. We apologise if you felt in any way inconvenienced by our on-site sales team; we assure you that we do not in any way advocate strong sales tactics and we are sorry if you were being approached on multiple occasions. We believe, however, that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and we hope that you will pay us another visit in the future. Until then we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
316 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The 2 BR unit was well-designed as a lock-off. The excellent initial appearance was confirmed during our week-long stay. Housekeeping touched up the unit after 3 days. Kitchen equipment was typical and adequate for the cook in our group of 2 couples. We faced the golf course and used the small, sun-protected patio several times. The spa was an easy walk. Our building was a drive to the pool and front desk. Outdoor lighting was good and protected the great evening skies. Front desk folks were the high people-skills staff we expect at quality timeshares. The Concierge desk was good, but not as well-informed as we could have expected. They were direct but not pushy about the timeshare presentation and the discounts to attractions they could offer. Nicely located: ten minutes north to town (Oak Creek Canyon and Pink Jeep Tours), thirty minutes west to Jerome and Verde Valley RR, 5-7 minutes to Bell Rock, 30 minutes to Flagstaff and 2+ hours to Grand Canyon. We are not owners but traded through Interval. We would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the ridge and were very pleased with our accommodations. We were in building 21 which is situated on the 15th and 16th (?) holes. It had a lovely view and we didn't mind being a little bit of a distance from the reception and pools. It was quiet and relaxing on the "other side of the hill". If you want to be closer, ask for a building under 19. If you like a soft squishy pillow, you might want to bring your own, but otherwise the unit, location and staff were all great.

The one down side of the Ridge is the $30 dollars I had to spend for internet for the week...and that is per device. C'mon?? Really?? in this day and age you're going to charge for internet?

And then there's the Let's convert your existing timeshare to "Diamond Resorts points" spielmeisters. Know your stuff before going into to talking with them if you're going in at all. They are aggressive and would have you believe that II and RCI are both about to become completely ineffective. (not true) and also there were so many hidden fees, that it does NOT streamline the process at all or make it more economical. Still, for some, it might be a good deal.

Room Tip: It appeared that 12-18 were the preferred buildings but 20-22 were great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We knew we would be doing a lot of activities away from the condo so only rented a studio for the two of us which was just fine although my husband would have liked a King Bed. I checked ahead to see if we would have a full kitchen and spoke with Seth. He made sure we had a unit with a stove top, refrigerator and microwave. When we checked in the closet door was off the track however they took care of it right away so no issue. We saw people using the numerous grills along the property. We did not grill as just down the road we found two of the best restaurants in Sedona. Cucina Rustica Dahl & Di Luca a true romantic Italian delight and Mileys Cafe a great choice for breakfast at really reasonable prices. They seemed to have a lot of activities planned although we had day trips planned and did not participate. We did spend a day at the pool with the water feature as our Minnesota winter has been never ending.

Room Tip: If you rent a studio know that they face the parking lots so if your main concern is a view rent a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edd Z, Regional Director of Operations at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you found your stay with us enjoyable. Your compliments regarding the service provided by Seth are most appreciated and have been shared with him.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place was not as shown on website, it was dark and worn out.The place had nothing going for it, advertised 3 beds but 1 was a horrible unsleepable hideabed,The maid service cleaned only part of the room and not very well we had to call and get her to come back and finish it the next day.The price was expensive and not worth the price ,also no wifi, charge 8$ a device for it, really bad , it was slow and cut in and out.would never stay here again, on of the worst places I've rented for the price they charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pmitchell286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are truly and sincerely sorry that your here at The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide exceptional services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your stay. Please be aware that our website does detail the approximate square footage of each of our bedroom types, along with its available amenities. The pictures of the units shown are what a typical unit looks like, and may not be exactly representative of the unit you are assigned. We also provide this same information to our 3rd party rental partners, so we truly regret if you feel that the information provided to you did not meet the actual product offered. Our front desk staff would have been more than happy to see if another similar bedroom type was available that would have better accommodated you and your party. We regret hearing that our housekeeping staff did not properly clean your room on the first request. We will make sure to look into this internally to make sure this doesn’t happen again in the future. The Wi-Fi internet is managed and operated by a 3rd party vendor. We do not collect payments for this fee nor do we make any revenue off of these fees. Wi-Fi is provided as an option to our guests who select to use it. Costs for using Wi-Fi are provided beforehand on our website, and we try to make sure our 3rd party vendors notify their customers before booking. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.7 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.8 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#31 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#24 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#33 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Property: Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Address: 55 Sun Ridge Cir, Sedona, AZ 86351-7389
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing