We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No view but nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No view but nice room”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a vacation club exchange - our first - & didn't know what to expect. At check in we were shuffled from the check in desk to the "guest services" desk which is really just to twist your arm to schedule a "property tour" which is really a high pressure sales presentation for Diamond Resorts timeshare. Just Say No! Unless you have $15,000 - $30,000 that you don't know what to do with. we already own one membership we wish we hadn't bought! Got into our room finally an hour later (wasn't "quite" ready.). The studio room was updated a very clean with a kitchenette & nice bath. However, the bed was small (full size?) and fairly hard. Our biggest disappointment was that there was No View! We came to Sedona to savor the beautiful red rocks. Instead, our tiny balcony looked out at a rock retaining wall with scrub plants. High above looking down on us were the people at the pool. No air flow. No view. We had brought wine and snacks but ended up staying out of the room as much and possible because it was so suffocating. I am sure other buildings have nice views if rocks or the golf course - but Not building 19! The air conditioning was loud. We could clearly hear the people in the room next door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKNduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. Unfortunately when the resort was designed the studios were built to face inward which does limit the views offered. That being said I am pleased you liked the interior as the building you were in was recently remodeled. The only thing we still need to do is replace the mattresses resort wide which will happen in the first quarter of 2013. At the resort we still do have an active Sales office on site so we are going to try to show what Diamond Resorts has to offer for every guest so they can take advantage of the opportunity if they desire. We hope that you will return to our beautiful area again in the future. I would be happy to try to get a great view for you if you just let me know when you are arriving and if you book a one bedroom you will have a much better chance of getting a view to remember for a lifetime. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    263
    96
    47
    23
See reviews for
219
319
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We discovered Ridge on Sedona through a timeshare "deal", and were able to spend a very enjoyable week there at a good price. Although I would not quite describe it as plush, our lock-off unit was clean, attractive, and very functional. Due to the topography (and probably the zoning) around Sedona, much of the real estate is packed into tight or difficult spaces. The Ridge has this feel, as it is laid out to optimally fit into its hillside location. There's a better chance of getting a unit with a view if you choose an upper unit. By the luck of the draw, we had a very bright east-facing unit with a mountain view, lovely for taking morning coffee on the balcony. Due to the complex's hillside situation, there are mountain views to be had in most directions. I noticed that many units, particularly on the ground floor, face the hillside or a retaining wall, completely shaded and seldom if ever seeing sun. It appears that buildings 9 and 10, at the top of the hill, might be the best bet for views and exposures. The pool and spa area is lovely, in an elevated spot with mountain views. Some visitors have mentioned the obligatory sales spiel. Upon checking in, we were directed to a counter staffed by timeshare salespeople. The woman we were sent to was charming but extremely motivated. If you're not interested you just have to politely but firmly say No Thank You, and make it plain if you already own a timeshare. I don't suspect that their "gifts" are worth the required endurance. But, go for it if you're really interested! Similarly, when walking the main street in Sedona visiting the shops, be careful not to pause (or in some cases even make eye contact) at storefronts with a sign saying "Information" or "Museum". These are timeshare hawkers trying to get your attention, and in some cases they are extremely persistent. The Ridge's Oak Creek location is seven miles from Sedona, but what a beautiful seven miles it is. Oak Creek is as convenient to sightseeing and attractions as Sedona is, but you'll probably find yourself venturing up to Sedona more often for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful area. You took some great photos of our remodeled suites and were here during a magnificent time of the year weather wise! The drive into Sedona proper is always a treat with views at every turn – even locals never tire of seeing those awe inspiring red rocks. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We requested an upstairs room that was renovated. We had a lovely view. The staff was terrific. The location is good, although it is 7 miles from Sedona. It is really fun driving back in the pitch black from Sedona after dinner. The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and places to see. One big downside. They talk you into their timeshare talk. We are experienced time-share owners and it was pure torture. They kept us there for more than 2 hours. The $ they wanted was just crazy. I thought we would never get out. Not worth the discounted Jeep trip.
Also they charge for wi-fi, you can use the free computers in the lobby, only 2 but if you time it right you can catch one. All in all a lovely resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, upstairs(no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations and the friendliness of the staff. Next year we will complete the last phase of our renovations and are thrilled to be able to offer each guest the experience of the remodeled improvements. Our sales agents are trained to keep it within the time limits specified but sometimes it does go over if there are questions. At any rate, I do apologize for the experience you had and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stayed here in the past and were pleasantly surprised not only with the upgraded units but also a marked difference in customer service. Staff project the feeling that they like working here.
The Ridge's close to everything in Sedona, located near Bell Rock.
The Ridge's clearly a good choice to see Sedona, Painted Desert,
Grand Canyon.....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massasoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We’re delighted that your most recent stay at the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort exceeded your expectations! We have a constant program of improvement at the resort and our aim is to keep getting better and better – we hope you’ll choose to return here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Had a two bedroom - main unit plus lockoff. Nice and big. Very comfortable beds, huge bathrooms, great living and dining, nice kitchen. Comfy front and back patios for mornings and evenings. Just wished the main bath fan would actually suck! Kitchen lacked baskets and such little items, but otherwise love the fast hot stove elements. Switches on lights a bit tricky to figure out. Expensive internet, per device too, not per unit. Walking distance to clubhouse. Currently first circle from highway, just 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the spacious size of our two bedroom lock off suites. Thank you for the comment about the bathroom fan -- we will have that repaired immediately. We know that we offer a great location with easy access for all there is to do in Sedona and look forward to having you return again in the future! Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We exchanged in through II and had a 2 bedroom (included the lockoff) unit in the developer owned section (?) and it was a wonderful unit. Spacious and well-equipped. King bed in the master and queen bed in the lockoff. Lockoff is a nice apartment sized room with small kitchen, dining table, pull out couch and large bathroom (for a 2nd bedroom bathroom). It would have been nice to have one more chair in the living room to comfortably seat 4 (rather than putting 3 on the couch). We kept dragging over a comfortable, but heavy, chair from the dining table. Furnishings were in pretty good shape. Not perfect, but very acceptable (dining table was well worn, couch welt in lockoff was ripped). No view out of our first floor unit (looked at a landscaped wall below the pool area). It was quiet; just not scenic.

1) Had two Maintenance issues (noticeably dirty spots on rug and air conditioning in lockoff stopped working the first night) which were promptly resolved. Maintenance worked on Sunday and got a part for the A/C that day. They brought in a portable A/C as an interim solution while they troubleshot. You couldn't have asked for more and they would have moved us to another unit if they hadn't been able to fix it. Carpet was shampooed first thing Monday.

2) Pool closest to front desk is very enjoyable, with a beautiful view, lots of lounge chairs, generally a breeze, but there is not a lot of shade available. The lounge chairs under the tree and the one cabana are at a premium. Tables with umbrellas would be nice.

3) Resort is in the Village of Oak Creek, south of Sedona about 10 to 15 minutes. There are very good restaurants and shopping within minutes in Village of Oak Creek; just be aware that this resort is not IN downtown Sedona. The plus is that the drive to the resort from Sedona is GORGEOUS...you never tire of the view!

4) As another reviewer wrote: we were directed right from Check In to the Concierge desk to get maps and activities schedule (you cannot get them at the Check In desk). Robin did an excellent job recommending restaurants, sights to see, tours to take, etc. Of course, in exchange for all the helpful info she gave us, she pitched doing the 90 minute timeshare presentation. Because we resisted for awhile (we REALLY don't like this part of timeshare), her pitch was long (I think we were with her for an hour -- 15-20 minutes getting helpful tips and 40-45 minutes getting the pitch to go on a tour). At her insistence that this would be a low pressure, 90 minute tour and that they would just appreciate our being their "word of mouth advertising" , we scheduled the tour. It ended up being 2+ hours long and would have run longer had we not put up a fuss at that point. While the sales guy presenting Diamond was professional and well-versed, the "manager" who kept coming around trying to be humorous and our buddy was irritating, and the "closer" (who would have offered us free "points" to try out Diamond had we not been insistent that we were not buying, were not interested and were leaving) was downright rude. It left a bad taste in our mouths about Diamond International in spite of the fact that this was a very, very nice resort to stay in. We have been to other timeshare presentations which were much less aggravating. My advice: know this up front and if you really aren't interested, get your maps and schedule and tell them you aren't interested and walk away. We were too polite and lured by the $75 VISA gift card and extra incentive to attend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PapayaBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Arrived here yesterday with my family. Lovely apartment with ajoining door for our son with his own bathroom and kitchen! Been into old town for the day and have booked a jeep ride for tomorrow. Lots of shops to suit everyone and only a ten minute drive really is beautiful and a very different view on America- be mindful that this is a time share and you will be approached to attend a presentation although you wont be bullied into it. Stalff very helpful Tyler looked after us and was professional and friendly. Last night we got nibbles which were free and there is plenty going on. Yes would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time during your stay to post a review of our resort. We are pleased to hear to that our staff treated you and your family well. They take great pride in treating our guests with professional courtesy and friendliness, as if they were part of their own family. We hope the rest of your vacation went well, and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.8 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.8 mi away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#29 of 48 in Sedona
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#33 of 48 in Sedona
532 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Property: Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Address: 55 Sun Ridge Cir, Sedona, AZ 86351-7389
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing