We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #11 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the Penrose in the dark after a full day of traveling. Christie welcomed us warmly and showed us to our room (the Coconino). We immediately headed into Oak Creek for a late dinner at the Blue Moon Café (which we thoroughly enjoyed - a great place to get up to speed on local politics) and then returned to the Inn for some much needed sleep. I woke up at dawn the next morning because I'd seen pictures of the fabled views from the Penrose and I couldn't wait to see them for myself. The bathroom windows look out on Castle Rock and Red Butte and from the balcony of Coconino, you can enjoy the complete view featured on the Penrose website. Think of all the superlatives you can and there is still no word to describe the initial impact of that view. It is absolutely stunning. A delicious, hearty breakfast was served on the patio as we soaked in our surroundings.

This B&B is very conveniently located close to downtown Oak Creek and a sort drive to Sedona. The hosts have thoughtfully put together a binder of information and reviews about local restaurants, services, and attractions which was invaluable as we went about planning our day. Our hosts, Christie and Whitney were gracious and accommodating and capped off our visit with a collection of photographs Whitney took of us in front of Red Butte. There are many places to stay in the Sedona area, but none will make your visit as memorable as the Penrose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    28
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
341
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Penrose in late April 2013 for a short vacation. The B&B owners were out of town and we were greeted by Beverly - the house manager (when the owners are away). Beverly was a pure joy to meet and is so sweet. We were disappointed to miss the owners but Beverly made us feel welcome. The owners are very lucky to have her taking care of the property during their absence.

The location of this B&B is perfect. A tremendous view of the red rocks and a short, easy drive into Sedona. The specialty breakfasts on the veranda every morning were truly 5 star. I cannot say enough great things about this B&B. I would stay here again in a heartbeat if we ever return to Sedona. Just tremendous!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexicoPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently held our daughter's wedding at The Penrose. What an amazing and magical place!
The owners, Christie and Whitney, welcomed our family with open arms and treated us like we were a part of their own family. Every moment of our stay was relaxing and fun.

The Penrose will not only live up to your expectations, but will make you feel like you have found a home you want to return to over and over again.

Charlene and Dave Taylor
Flagstaff, AZ

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flagstaffbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanura
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just returned from a weekend in Sedona, AZ. We are not usually bed and breakfast people but we wanted somewhere a little more personal and after reading all the great reviews we chose The Penrose B & B. We were not disappointed - it really did live up to our expectations.
Nestled right up against the red rocks every window had a amazing view and our balcony was perfect for a glass of wine as the sunset turned the mountains into a crimson spectacle. The room with private bathroom was spotless, pretty, and very comfortable.
Breakfast, served on the patio was to die for - French toast mounded with fresh strawberries and pecans one morning and tiny lemon ricotta pancakes with tarragon scrambled eggs and sausage the next. They cater to allergies and eating preferences as well. Coffee, tea, water, cold beverages and snacks were available round the clock. A binder with hiking, restaurant and local info was in the room along with bathrobes, big fluffy towels, soaps and lotions.
Our hosts, Whitney and Christy and their staff were so friendly and helpful ensuring our stay was a delight. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A perfect quiet location a few minutes from Sedona with magical views. The B&B is immaculately maintained and the hosts are a delight to talk to and can advise on the most suitable walks for you. The breakfasts were delicious anda perfect start to every morning. We will definitely return when in Sedona next.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arriving I had high expectation having been to the Sedona area in November and having stayed at the 5 star resort Enchantment. The Enchantment tis more than double the price of this top notch Band B and if I was returning I would stay at the Penrose as it was spectacular. The views from our bedroom of Court House rock and Bell rock were soul inspiring.
The beds and linens were so comfortable it was hard to get out of our roomy bed. Breakfasts were so tasty and every day they were different. Even when we had to leave at 4:30am to go on a hot air balloon sun rise trip- fresh baked scones were waiting for us to take.
Beverly who served us breakfast is the sweetest classiest lady you will ever meet. She had lots of fun stories and was very warm in spirit. Christy and Whitney run a top notched bed and breakfast. When we left our arms were full of gifts from them –t-shirts, photos from our personal’s photo shoot with Whitney and warm chocolate chip cookies.
We left their driveway on our Harley and could have just as easily turned around and stayed. Thanks for the memories!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vandenheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sedona has always taken my breath away, but our stay at the Penrose B&B made our visit in May absolutely perfect! Our gracious hosts, fabulous room, incredible views and wonderful breakfasts made this particular trip to Sedona especially delightful and memorable. It takes a very unique establishment to compete with the natural wonders of Sedona and the Penrose does! A fabulous pairing.
Dan and Suzanne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
5.6 mi away
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-7769
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing