We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect in every respect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #11 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

If there's a room at the Penrose, just book it now and save yourself the trouble of reading more reviews.

This place was perfect in every respect - spotlessly clean, airy, full of sunlight, private balcony looking out onto the mountains, constant stream of complimentary drinks, coffee, and homemade cookies, delicious breakfast, very warm staff, and the nicest, most helpful hosts imaginable. I actually forced myself to wake up an hour and a half early IN ORDER to hang out in my hotel room. If that's not a ringing endorsement I don't know what is.


We couldn't believe how awesome this place is, and would come back to Sedona from the East Coast just to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekaterina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
338
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Penrose was the epitome of gracious hospitality and beauty. The rooms were very comfortable and sported balconies overlooking Bell Rock and the red mountains of Sedona. Our hosts were welcoming and informative and provided delicious snacks and drinks in addition to a gourmet breakfast each morning. We would have been happy to just sit back and soak in the views from the comfort of the deck or patio. Whitney took the time to take photos of us with the amazing background and sent them to us by the time we returned home. The travel snack and
colorful tee-shirt gifts were a total surprise and just another example of the thoughtfulness and generosity of these incredible hosts. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we returned to Sedona.

Room Tip: Each room was beautifully decorated and well-appointed. We stayed on the second floor and had fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A few miles outside the traffic and tourism of Sedona, sits the Penrose in the quiet and
lovely village of Oak Creek. Didn't even need to venture into Sedona! We did all our hiking
and meals in and around Oak Creek. Christine and Whitney were terrific hosts and they have ample friendly staff to help out too. Their location is perfect right up to the red rocks and the coffee and breakfasts were yummy. They get an A+ from us.

Room Tip: Coconino is smaller, but has the best views in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Penrose in the begining of March this year. So loved the hospitality, food and especially the wonderful view from our room. Whitney is such a charming and helpful man.......so intelligent and a headful of knowledge about Sedona and surrounding areas. We really apperciated him taking all the extra pictures of us outside with the awesome scenery for keepsakes. Our meals were tasty and served with a smile. We also stayed at another B+B later, but wished we hadnt left the Penrose! We also liked the Pink Jeep excursion, Red Rock Balloon ride and the Train ride at Verde Canyon. Didnt do any hiking....next time! Whitney also was extremely knowledgible about all the hiking trails. Thanks for the memories....! :)
John and Linda D.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kokopelli room. Very clean, bed was comfortable and all I have to say is.....THE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Penrose is a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful location with excellent hosts! We were only there for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. It is a lovely place to relax after a day of hiking. The room was immaculately clean and fresh and nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts had beverages and snacks available in the dining room at all times. We got some great hiking advice from Whitney, who also did a photo shoot of us before we left with the beautiful scenery as a backdrop. The hospitality couldn't be better! If we are lucky enough to return to this part of the country again, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Loved the Kokopeli room with the balcony and reading corner and jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at The Penrose B&B for 3 nights. Whitney and Christie are wonderful hosts, the accommodation great, and those breakfasts.......! They were also very helpful with advice on local
tourist attractions.

It's a feel good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellercanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH DEERFIELD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Penrose the last 3 (originally booked for 2) nights of a 10-day Arizona vacation. While we enjoyed the entire trip, staying at the Penrose was a real treat and left us wanting to return. Everything about this B&B is great - location, views, rooms, staff, breakfast. Whitney and Christie are most welcoming and have put together a wealth of information for new comers and returnees to Sedona alike. We enjoy hiking and Whitney helped us identify several hikes that were a wonderful introduction to what the area has to offer. Of course, it wasn't always easy leaving the wonderful food and views of the breakfast room to get on the trail. We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this one is definitely one of the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katescott10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr., Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing