We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent View Magnificent Breakfast!!!”
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #12 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magnificent View Magnificent Breakfast!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a lovely location! What lovely hosts! What magnificent breakfasts! What a fantastic view! Staying at the Penrose was a delight. We stayed in the Javalina room. We had our own balcony overlooking Bell Rock and Courthouse Rock. The view was stupendous. The room and bathroom were tastefully decorated and appointed. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed meeting other travelers on the patio each morning, and surprised by a different breakfast each day. These were not your run of the mill breakfasts! Oh no! The meal began with a marvelous fruit treat...smoothie, baked pineapple, marinated pear in yogurt! This was followed by an egg dish with cheese in a souffle cake with bacon one morning, a French toast dish with fruit, syrup and pecans the next, and an egg scramble with goat cheese and chives, cider sausage and lemon raspberry tarts the next! Incredible!

Whitney and Christie were so charming and warm and welcoming....not to mention interesting and informative. Whitney is eager to make suggestions for hiking and eating and print out maps! He also takes pictures of his guests, prints some out, and emails the rest! And when we left, they gave us a t-shirt and lemon tarts for munching in the car! If you go to Sedona, do stay here. Don't stay in the northern part of Sedona which is very commercial and touristy. Do stay in Oak Creek at the Penrose! You will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY ANY PLACE ELSE! The Penrose is heaven! Select either the Javalina or Kokopelli room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneS271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    28
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
342
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our first visit ever to Sedona, so I spent a good deal of time researching the many different properties online. I read a lot of reviews, and finally settled on the Penrose B&B. Needless to say, I was happy to find I had made a good choice. (And more importantly, my wife was thrilled with the selection!). From the moment we arrived in the foyer, we could tell that we were in a comfortable and inviting place. We were greeted by Whitney and were made to feel right at home. We arrived later in the afternoon, so were were looking for some ideas on where to go for dinner that night. Whitney was very helpful in providing suggestions on where to go. In addition, when we got to our room, we found a binder with lots of helpful information on local restaurants, sightseeing, and things to do in and around Sedona.
We found the room (Mariposa) to be spacious, clean and comfortable. And the view from our balcony of Courthouse Butte and Bell Rock was quite impressive as well (See photo)
Our breakfast each day consisted of a fresh fruit compote and a hot entree, which were always delicious and nicely presented. We enjoyed the warm pineapple compote so much that my wife has already made it since we got home. The Penrose is very conscious of special dietary needs and will go out of their way to prepare something special if needed. Fortunately, neither my wife or I have any restrictions, but it was nice that they asked about it.
The Penrose offers several different package deals (details about each are on their website).
We booked the Grand Canyon Sunset tour package, which consisted of a two-night stay and a day trip to the Grand Canyon. Since we have never seen the Grand Canyon before, it was a great way to see the South rim. I would definitely recommend it.
If you plan to stay around Sedona, there are many, many beautiful places to hike and climb. Whitney is a great resource and very knowledgeable about the places to hike. He has trail maps and passes available, and is happy to spend time with you to pick trails that will meet your needs with respect to scenery, difficulty, etc.
Overall, we were very pleased with the Penrose B&B, and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The Penrose has five rooms - four on the second floor and one on the first, adjoining the foyer. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Incredible views, delicious breakfast n treats, very quiet n private, host n hostess went above n beyond to ensure our visit was a hit. We will stay here again as we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Penrose B n B. A very charming place n people.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapsudzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife found the Penrose B & B by doing a Google internet search and we were very pleased with our visit there. We spent three days & nights in September 2012. The breakfast was good; the hosts very helpful, the bed was comfortable, the room and bath were very clean, and we had a nice corner room with a sitting area outside our back door. The views were spectacular, as advertised.

We would gladly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved staying at the Penrose. It is a beautiful home and very comfortable. The owners are very gracious people and make you feel they are really happy to be sharing their home with you. The breakfast and evening snacks were great. The rooms are clean and the bed comfortable. My only complaint is I wish we could have stayed longer.. Thanks Whitney and Kristie for the enjoyable two days! Linda and Bob

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wonderful!!!! The owners are amazing! So friendly and helpful for information about our hikes. Breakfast was beyond delicious!! I wish the chef had a cookbook I had no idea breakfast could be soo fantastic! Would highly recommend! And would definetly come again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie120511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We're adding this B&B to our list of favorites. We always look for B&B's with a little something special to offer. This one did not disappoint. We stayed in the Mariposa room which had an awesome view, a shower built for two, and was tended to by a very friendly and helpful staff. You have access to a veteran hiker, full of tips, maps, and advice - a very cool character named Whitney Pope. He and his wife run one of the most special places in Sedona. You'll be treated to sinful breakfasts every morning, so if you're watching your calories - maybe try to make that known ahead of time because you'll be served an entire day of calories that are hard to say no to for your first meal of the day. If you like a nice strong cup of coffee- take a short jaunt around the corner to the fire creek bakery, and skip the house brew at this B&B. We would definatley recommend this place if you like a nice quiet retreat with an amazing view & friendly staff.

Room Tip: choose a room upstairs with a BellRock view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
5.6 mi away
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-7769
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing