We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penrose B &B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #12 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Penrose B &B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife found the Penrose B & B by doing a Google internet search and we were very pleased with our visit there. We spent three days & nights in September 2012. The breakfast was good; the hosts very helpful, the bed was comfortable, the room and bath were very clean, and we had a nice corner room with a sitting area outside our back door. The views were spectacular, as advertised.

We would gladly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    28
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
340
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved staying at the Penrose. It is a beautiful home and very comfortable. The owners are very gracious people and make you feel they are really happy to be sharing their home with you. The breakfast and evening snacks were great. The rooms are clean and the bed comfortable. My only complaint is I wish we could have stayed longer.. Thanks Whitney and Kristie for the enjoyable two days! Linda and Bob

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wonderful!!!! The owners are amazing! So friendly and helpful for information about our hikes. Breakfast was beyond delicious!! I wish the chef had a cookbook I had no idea breakfast could be soo fantastic! Would highly recommend! And would definetly come again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie120511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We're adding this B&B to our list of favorites. We always look for B&B's with a little something special to offer. This one did not disappoint. We stayed in the Mariposa room which had an awesome view, a shower built for two, and was tended to by a very friendly and helpful staff. You have access to a veteran hiker, full of tips, maps, and advice - a very cool character named Whitney Pope. He and his wife run one of the most special places in Sedona. You'll be treated to sinful breakfasts every morning, so if you're watching your calories - maybe try to make that known ahead of time because you'll be served an entire day of calories that are hard to say no to for your first meal of the day. If you like a nice strong cup of coffee- take a short jaunt around the corner to the fire creek bakery, and skip the house brew at this B&B. We would definatley recommend this place if you like a nice quiet retreat with an amazing view & friendly staff.

Room Tip: choose a room upstairs with a BellRock view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night last weekend. The setting is gorgeous, the views spectacular. The owners, Whitney and Kristie were wonderful and welcoming. We stayed downstairs in the Yavapai room which was nice but when we return (and we will) we will opt for an upstairs room with an east facing balcony. Our views were wonderful and we had our own patio but it looked out onto the parking lot and when people came and went they walked past us. Not a biggie, everyone was super friendly, but an upstairs balcony not overlooking the parking lot would be a preference for us. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. Breakfast was a delight - beautiful as well as delicious. Book a stay here sometime. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I decided to stay here for one night at the last minute. The owners were very helpful and efficient. I was able to book a room that very night and we enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, the views were fantastic, and the breakfast the next morning was the perfect start to the day. Not only were the owners very hospitable, but we even got a memorable souvenir from our stay. We definitely recommend this B&B and will be back soon.

Room Tip: stayed upstairs in mariposa. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Christi and Whitney have got it right in a B&B! My wife and I have stayed in many a New England B&B and the Penrose has them all beat. Mostly due to the hospitality of the innkeepers. We stayed in the Javelina room for 3 nights and were treated to wonderful and surprising breakfasts (enough to last you until dinner), great views of the surrounding rocks, advice on activities that was well suited to our individual needs, and extras like unlimited drinks/snacks, free tee shirt and outdoor portrait photos by Whitney. The location is outside Sedona town proper but it is not a problem because Oak Creek has just enough if you do not want to move around. Beverly is an awesome server blending just the right amount of people interaction with expert service, a rare quality. Christi was attentive to all our needs. We experienced a sink drain back up that was immediately taken care with an offer to move our room (was not necessary). Can't say enough good. Would go back again. Did awesome 5 mile hike on Soldier's Pass and Brim Mesa loop (moderate difficulty) on Whitney's advice.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer43_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
5.6 mi away
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr., Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing