We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penrose was Perfect! Great Honeymoon B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Penrose B&B
Ranked #11 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Penrose was Perfect! Great Honeymoon B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

The Penrose was everything we could ask for and more! We stayed a week for our honeymoon and loved every second! All of the rooms had fabulous views, the complimentary beverages were awesome to take during hikes, the room was clean and cozy and staff had awesome recommendations. The breakfasts were amazing and breakfast staff had great ideas/recommendations to boot. We will definetly be coming back year after year. The location of the B&B is perfect too. Close to restaurants but far enough away from the touristy traps. A MUST stay!

  • Liked — Everything was fabulous! Views amazing!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ztalady333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
338
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2007

Booked for 2 nights in Mariposa room. Staff were welcoming, offered us delicious home-made coconut-choclate bars on arrival! B&B had a fully-stocked free drinks fridge for all guests (Gatorade, water, Starbucks, etc) plus communal coffee/tea. B&B best remembered for the awesome views from every window!

Room was white, clean, a little small and perhaps stuffed with a bit too much furniture for the small size. Overall comfortable, double shower a nice touch but current a little weak. Tiny balcony compensated by amazing views.

Breakfast served on deck outside - again great views! - slightly odd selection of dishes: day 1, strawberry and cream cheese crepes; day 2, scrambled egg, olives and black bean burritos. The morning service was consistently good - and the owner (Whitney Pope) takes time to speak to all the guests at breakfast. This includes a few pictures, which they then give you a complimentary print of one picture when you leave, along with a T-shirt each. A nice touch!

Great location in Oak Creek village, 15 min drive to Sedona centre, good for hiking Bell Rock and Cathedral Rock. Would come again, although it's a little pricey - but that's Sedona all over.

  • Liked — The views from every angle
  • Disliked — Room on the small side, odd breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoniSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZPenrose, co-owner at The Penrose B&B, responded to this review, December 21, 2007
Our guests are too kind to ever complain about anything, so we have found Trip Advisor reviews the best place to discover ways to improve. Here are two things we have done: install a pump to raise the water pressure to all of the rooms, and place hypoallergenic pillow toppers on all of our mattresses for those who like a softer feel. They can be removed for guests who prefer firm mattresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton,Pa.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

We had the pleasure of spending 5 wonderful days at the Penrose B & B from 10-15 -10-20. Christie & Whitney Pope are two of the most charming people we have met in our many stays at B&B's over the years.

From the moment we entered their beautiful establishment we were treated with warmth and kindness.

We stayed in the Kokopelli room which is really charming with incredible views of the Red Rocks all around. Couldn't wait to get up each morning and watch the sunrise work its magic on the surrounding hills.. If that wasn't enough to charge your batteries for the day, the thought of the wonderful breakfast that was being prepared for you outside on their spectacular deck sure was ..
Beverly, our server, is a genuinely lovely lady who made our mornings all that more enjoyable with her charm and ability to make us feel really welcomed. We miss her already !!

The Penrose is located about 6 miles south of downtown Sedona on Rt-179 in the village of Oak Creek . An easy 8-10 minute ride ( even with the ongoing construction) in to the heart of the action . The beauty lies in the peace and tranquility of their location away from all the business of Uptown Sedona. Nights spent on our balcony were peaceful and relaxing with views of the skies that were truly awesome....

Every night around 8:00 pm some wonderful snacks are put out to enjoy ( the lemon bars are world class !! ) along with complimentary beverages, which again just added to the charm and warmth that these wonderful people put in to welcoming their guests.

Surprises await you upon check out, and believe us when we say that the toughest thing you will do all week is looking in the rear view mirror as you leave this special place and its people..

Thank you, Christie, Whitney, Beverly, Terry, Joy, and the rest of the wonderful staff at the Penrose. Be well, stay safe. We hope to see you again soon.

Pat & Andy - Easton, Pa.

Helpful?
1 Thank patriciann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Sedona celebrating our 5 year anniversary. This place was absolutely amazing! First of all, the location is AWESOME. The views are outstanding, i don't see how they couldn't be the best in Sedona. I almost don't want anyone to know about this place because i want to go back and i don't want to have trouble getting booked because it's too full!! Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owners, and they were so friendly! They gave us a tour, and told us where we could find water and refreshments anytime we needed them. There is even a telescope and piano in the great room for your use! We were taken to our room, (the Mariposa), and waiting for us was little chocolate candies, and postcards of the Penrose! That was such a nice touch, and a great welcome! The view from our room was perfection. We even had a nice, small balcony and a full wall of windows to look out at the red rocks and mountains! The room was extremely clean and had a double shower which was awesome! There was a flatscreen tv, a dvd player, and dvds downstairs to watch for free anytime we wanted! (Some of the dvds were filmed in sedona--which is cool).
Breakfasts were outstanding! We are VEGETARIAN and they accomadated that perfectly. In the evenings, we even were blessed by lemon bars, and 7 layer bars! They were put out in the evenings, and we enjoyed that so much. It was a nice extra special touch. I feel like there were so many of those! Whitney came to our breakfast table in the morning, and gave us tips about hiking in Sedona, and maps for us to use to get to places we wanted to see. He took photos of us, and gave us a blown up photo upon our departure. We also got Sedona t-shirts---and, because i mentioned that i loved the treat that was left out the night before (7 layer bar)---he gave us one for the road! AWESOME experience, i am staying here again in the future and have already recommended it to friends in the Phoenix area! Thanks so much to the Penrose!

  • Liked — Being treated like royalty! Seriously!
  • Disliked — When we had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2007

Had a great weekend getaway from city life in Las Vegas. Comfortable appointments, magnificent red rocks surround the property, and friendly knowedgeable hosts. The drive from Vegas is beautiful- over the Hoover Dam, through the desert to the green red rock city. If you like Red Rock in Vegas, this is a must see!!!!!!

  • Liked — Sleeping IN a vortex
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MoonglowLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

We stayed at the Penrose from Aug 3-5. We had the greatest experience staying there. Joy was wonderful and made sure that we got the horseback riding reservations that we had been trying for a week to get. The room (the kokopelli) was beautiful and had the most amazing views out of the many, many windows. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which was so fantastic. The towels were soft and plush, and there were two robes for us to use. The bed was neither too soft nor too hard as other reviews have stated (personal taste, I believe).

There were DVD's and CD's that we could choose to listen to. There's a baby grand piano in the living room, and a telescope for your use. There were always little chocolates and the kitchen had fruits and drinks available at all times.

Breakfast was the highlight of each morning. We were served amazing meals. I am a very picky eater, and I tried some things that I would not normally have chosen. So good. We had a little hummingbird that hung out with us the first morning on the deck. There were bunnies and quail and various wildlife all around the area.

When we got home from horseback riding on Saturday night, there was a snake. We didn't get a good look at it because it was so dark and we just hurried past it...but that was a fun adventure.

Whitney was very kind and made sure we were comfortable. He took pictures of hubby and I and gave us a copy upon our departure. We also got t-shirts and lemon bars. :)

All in all, it was the best lodging experience we've ever had, and are definitely going to return to the Penrose.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There was not a single moment that we didn't like. Honestly.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cndygrl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

If you want to avoid the crowds and traffic while enjoying a commanding view of the red rocks, this is the place. Conveniently located south of Sedona in a residential section of the Village of Oak Creek, it’s an easy 6 mile drive to the uptown tourist area. (We were there mid-week so no trouble with traffic, even with the road construction.)

We stayed two nights in the Coconino room which has an uninterrupted view of Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte…even from the two-person shower. Although small (by hotel standards but probably not for a B&B), the room was tastefully decorated and squeeky clean. Our only complaints were the matress was too soft for our liking and the water pressure was low. The breakfasts, served on the patio, were outstanding, and there was a refrigerator full of drinks, fresh fruit and bedtime snacks at our disposal. We were even given Sedona T-shirts when we checked out.

We booked the $625 Romantic package which included two nights, a $100 restaurant voucher (we ate at the Cowboy Club) and a choice of activity (we took the Pink Jeep Broken Arrow tour). If you do the math, the room rate turns out to be a bit less than a hotel like the Amara or L’Auberge.

  • Liked — Peace and quite, and the views.
  • Disliked — Mattress too soft for us (others might love it), low water pressure.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoReservations1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.6 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.4 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.3 mi away
Cozy Cactus Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Canyon Villa Bed and Breakfast Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Property: The Penrose B&B
Address: 250 Red Butte Dr., Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. For reservations of 5 or more nights, or 3 or more rooms, we require a deposit of one-half the total charge upon making a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing