We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two
Ranked #2 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lynn haven, fl
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Well, Marie from Smithtown and Enfieldwatersprite from Connecticut said it best--couldn't have said it
better myself! Everything about this place is special, from Milena and Mike (and Carolyn) to the cabins, all lovingly appointed, to the wonderful breakfast and fellowship. We are already planning our return!!

Oh, I was clicking the ratings, and mistakenly clicked excellent for the swimming pool; there is no pool, but there is a pond! (W/O swimming)! Couldn't figure out how to "unclick" it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andaLynnHaven_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubby, Owner at The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Greetings Lynn Haven Floriday:

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review of our little Canyon Wren. Mike and I enjoyed all of the times that we shared with the both of you and you know we look forward to seeing you on your next visit..?February?March? I can just picture the influx of bathing beauties heading to our fish pond. Watch out Koi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    27
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
702
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

If Canyon Wren was located closer to our home state of Massachusetts my wife and I would return often. Mike and Milena do a remarkable job keeping the cabins and grounds as if everything is new. The kitchen has everything a couple needs. Melina recommended great things to see and do. It was like staying with trusted family. She even helped me through getting some needed medical attention while we were there. The breakfasts were wonderful too. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucebubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubby, Owner at The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello Bruce in Massachusetts:

Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly enjoy helping people and we are happy that we were able to get you some needed medical attention on your vacation. It helps that we have been in Sedona for over 35 years. We enjoyed sharing our slice of heaven with the both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were enchanted with Canyon Wren from the moment we entered the property, which is situated in Oak Creek Canyon at the base of the awe-inspiring red rocks for which Sedona is so famous. The property, with its gardens, fountains and birdbaths, attracts a wide variety of birds, which we enjoyed photographing and watching as we ate our delicious breakfasts. Breakfast included a warm egg dish (i.e. breakfast burrito, quiche, frittata), along with freshly baked muffins (i.e. peach or apple cinnamon) and a lovely selection of fresh fruit.
We stayed in the Morning Glory, which is one of four very private cabins to choose from. The cabins are immaculate and well appointed, and are an incredible bargain, considering all they have to offer. Our cabin had a comfortable, loft bedroom with an upper deck, where we could admire the stars at night while sipping a glass of wine. Downstairs, there was a cozy lounge area with an electric fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen, a full bath with a Jacuzzi tub to soak our sore muscles after our day hikes, and a patio with a grill. This afforded us the option of grilling our own dinner one night to avoid the Easter week crowds in Sedona.
Canyon Wren is situated about 10 minutes north of downtown Sedona and a few short minutes from Slide Rock and one of our favorite hikes, the West Fork Trail. The location is ideal for those who value privacy and a quiet place to relax.
Mike and Milena, along with their assistant Carolyn, are wonderful hosts who manage to strike the perfect balance of being helpful while still respecting your privacy. They were a great source of information on everything from dining to hiking to where to view the best sunrise. We got the sense that they truly love where they live and what they do.
My husband and I travel often and can honestly say that this is one of the best places we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubby, Owner at The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Greetings Smithtowners:

Mike and I really enjoyed your photos of the lesser goldfinches. You really captured "the bath".Thank you for your wonderful review and appreciation of our property. It was such a pleasure to be of service to you and know that we suited you so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was my 2nd year at Canyon Wren Cabins for Two and I appreciated it even more this time! All the recent reviews mention how great Mike and Milena are. It's really their friendliness and the
personal touch they put into all they offer at Canyon Wren that makes staying there so wonderful: the beautiful grounds with bubbling fountains, flowers and plentiful birds, Mike's great brownies, their fabulous breakfasts, complimentary Red Rock passes, great advice on hiking trails and good restaurants, and overall their willingness to help make your stay pleasurable in whatever way they can while also giving you whatever degree of privacy you prefer.

The 4 cottages are immaculate, & very comfortable, with gas fireplaces, well appointed kitchens and wonderful jacuzzi bathtubs. Each cabin also has it's own private sitting and grill area. Sterling Pass, a great hiking trail to Vultee Arch is a short walk from the Canyon Wren. Area attractions such as Slide Rock and the West Fork trail are also a short distance up the road.

If you want to be a bit outside the hustle and bustle of Sedona, but close to area attractions, in an area of natural beauty and stay at a great place for couples, Canyon Wren is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enfieldwatersprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubby, Owner at The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello New Hampshire:

Thank you for again taking the time to give us your much appreciated feedback. The nice thing about your return stay is that we get to know the two of you better. And that you know what to expect when you arrive. We are both sincerely grateful for your patronage and for the sweet book on hummingbirds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We loved our recent stay at Canyon Wren. Excellent location for a peaceful getaway in a natural environment. Cabins were rustic, well-appointed and very comfortable. Our hosts, Mike and Milena, were very helpful and friendly. They gave us excellent advise about places to see. They have created an environment that is eco friendly and attractive to many of the local bird species. We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds feed right outside our kitchen window. We especially enjoyed the yummy breakfasts. Undoubtedly, the best B & B we have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piquero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubby, Owner at The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Greetings Bellingham:

Thank you for your wonderful review. Very, very much appreciated. It is always so nice to have guests who stay here who take the time to enjoy our birds. It is a very "noisy" part of the canyon. Birds everywhere. Being that you were birders to begin with, we are glad that you enjoyed our oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This is such a special little B & B. We stayed here for 2 nights with friends. Milena and Mike have seen to every detail to make their guests feel welcome. The breakfasts were superb - our favorite were the breakfast enchiladas and muffins. Mike's brownies were also delish! Milena gave us detailed advice about hiking in the area and also recommended some very good restaurants and shops. There is no TV or internet (and not much phone service here either) so a true getaway. The only potential drawback is that there is no bathroom on the second floor so we had to take the stairs in the middle of the night. The stairs were well lit but may be an issue for someone not able to climb stairs very well. Probably our favorite thing was the abundance of birds here and the well kept and secluded grounds. We had hoped to see a javelina, maybe next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sfh927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubby, Owner at The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hello Tennessee:

Thank you for your wonderful review. We have wondered what we could do to make that climb upstairs easier as our guests age. Not much except 6 inch step risers and good lighting. The Honeysuckle cabin is the only single floor cabin...so no stairs . But we are pleased that you were satisfied with all of the rest . It was a pleasure to be of service to you both and your friends.The javelina has been coming nightly since you left and some of our guests have seen him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The cabins are cozy, clean and thoughtfully furnished. It is a quiet place to relax and reconnect with your spouse. Mike and Milena make you feel at home. The gardens are beautiful. The hummingbirds outside the window in the morning, the beautiful bird sanctuaries near the breakfast patio, the lovely fish in the pond, and the little yawning turtle (Frankie) who suns himself on his log adds to the enchantment of Cabin Wren. We stayed in the Wild Rose Cabin for four incredible nights. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast each morning in this beautiful setting. Mike and Milena were such gracious hosts.Their knowledge of the the local attractions and restaurants was such a blessing. We look forward to returning to this little slice of paradise.

John and Robin

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4adventuretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubby, Owner at The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hello John and Robin:

Thank you for your generous review. We aim to make your vacation the best that it can be and we are happy that we were able to provide the "frame to your photo". It was a pleasure to be of service to you. We look forward to seeing you again. It only gets better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.7 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
5.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#4 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two

Property: The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two
Address: 6425 North Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath red rock cliffs, the Canyon Wren Cabins beckons you to a unique getaway from the distractions of daily life. Each 500 square foot individual cabin is just the right size for one or two adults. Enjoy birds and bird feeders, fountains, trees and flowers...an oasis amidst the sycamore trees. Creek access to guests and a wonderful continental plus breakfast provided. Just the right distance from the bustle of Sedona. Original owners of 26 years offer concierge service and are a great source of information for your special vacation time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Canyon Wren - Cabins For 2
The Canyon Wren - Cabins For Two Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing