We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant smaller property on the fringe of a quiet residential area of Sedona”
Review of Baby Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baby Quail Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Country Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“A pleasant smaller property on the fringe of a quiet residential area of Sedona”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This older, small property is located on the 89a highway, a little outside the main Sedona Tourist Shopping area. The property sits on the downhill side of the 89a, on the fringe of a treed residential area. Because of this treed location the Baby Quail Inn was much cooler than more exposed properties in higher locations. The weather was scortching hot during our stay in Sedona, and we noticed after a days outing the temperature was cooler when we dropped down off the main highway to the Inn. We had a medium sized room with two single beds on the ground floor; well maintained, decor had some personal touches to linens and furnishings. The room was equipped with a microwave, small fridge, TV, table and two chairs. The Air Conditioner was very efficient at cooling the room, we used this mainly at night, leaving the windows open during the daytime when we were there. The bathroom was very large with spacious walk in shower recess. We had breakfast on only one one day of our stay. We prefer a healther style breakfast ;coffee and pastries, the standard sugary American fare, are not our preferred style of breakfast to start the day. The outdoor area is treed, with tables and chairs, relaxing on a hot afternoon to watch birdlife come to drink at the fountain. The staff were very pleasant, helpful, and overall our stay at the Baby Quail and Sedona was an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    103
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
189
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I really liked this place. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are pretty average but very clean. The patio area is really nice to hang out at and meet other guests. I was only staying in Sedona for 3 nights and ended up staying for 6 and was glad that I could stay at the Baby Quail. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This is a bed and breakfast and a sweet roll in cellophane is not up to the standard of the industry. With not too much effort it could be a very nice placed as they are very nice innkeepers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We were in Sedona for a long weekend and were looking for a clean, comfortable, affordable base of operations. The Baby Quail Inn delivered on all counts.

Rooms were dated but clean. Not particularly spacious, but we weren't planning to spend a lot of time in them anyway. The outdoor hot tub was a very nice touch, and the fact that it was ignored by the other guests made it even better!

Misty was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for hiking and outdoor activities, and Dick is a wonderful storyteller. We felt quite at ease during our stay.

If you're looking to be pampered in luxurious settings you should look elsewhere. If you want a clean room for a good night's sleep at a fair price, I recommend the Baby Quail Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ears20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The rooms were not stylishly updated, but they were adequate and included a small refrigerator. A continental breakfast was served. I would definitely choose the Baby Quail again because the staff and owners were so helpful in every way. It's a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Stayed here for one night on a 14 day trip around the southwest and this was by far our least favorite hotel / motel on our trip. This seems like a very small old apartment complex converted to a motel. The older lady at check in was helpful but not friendly at all. The room itself was small with a dingy green color palette and not very visually appealing. My specific problem with the room was that it had a powerful smell to it , from either cleaning products or fresh paint that triggered an asthma attack for me. We had entered our room only after the office had closed so we opened all the windows and left for 4 hours to air the room out. Our view upstairs on the back side of this hotel was not pretty. I would not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We loved our short stay at this inn almost as much as sedona itself. The hosts are very informative about the area and their hospitality is unsurpassed, truly enjoyed talking with them. The inn itself is older, modest, but very tidy and decorated nicely with beautiful bedding. Other nice touches include specialty teas/soap/shampoo and even a video library to watch that special vintage film We look forward to again visiting this little jewel.
Kudos to the owners...job well done.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinapinesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.8 mi away
A Sunset Chateau
A Sunset Chateau
#7 of 29 in Sedona
1,066 reviews
5.9 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#6 of 48 in Sedona
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baby Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baby Quail Inn

Property: Baby Quail Inn
Address: 50 Willow Way, Sedona, AZ 86336-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baby Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baby Quail Inn is a charming little slice of heaven located in West Sedona on a quiet residential street. Small enough to be cozy and private, yet comfortable enough to stay for several days! Enjoy inground spa under the stars of Sedona. Spa towels and robes provided. Free wireless internet access, in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. The entire property is non-smoking. Our inn is family operated with my daughter and husband who is a former actor whose name is Dick Curtis. Our free SELF-SERVE CONTINENTAL breakfast is hosted by Dick who shares his 60 years in show business with photos, stories and video. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Baby Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Quail Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing