We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little inn, locally owned, and very clean”
Review of Baby Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baby Quail Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute little inn, locally owned, and very clean”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here for a night and found it adequate. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was bigger than we anticipated. Unfortunately we could hear the footsteps of the room above us all night, or else I would give a 5 star. There's a small little garden outside and a tiny, tiny pool (named the "spa area"). The area is very quiet and peaceful, as the inn is located on a residential street.

The hotel owner is a retired actor who worked with many of the greats (Ella Fitzgerald, Andy Williams, John Wayne) and was thrilled to give his "60 years of history in 60 seconds" in the small breakfast room, which was plastered with pictures from his career. We had delicious muffins, oatmeal and fresh orange juice as he gave his speech. He was extremely kind and funny, and before he left wanted to autograph some photos as mementos for us.

Overall this inn was adorable an suited all our needs; I plan to stay here again when I am in Sedona.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are preferable, as you will not have anyone above you to cause footsteps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    102
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
188
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Small and locally owned. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was very large. Nice bed and bath linens. About a block off the main road and we walked to a local hangout for dinner. Very reasonably priced and very comfortable. If your neighbors are loud you will hear them as the walls seem a little thin. There is a frig and micro along with a coffee maker. We prefer "mom and pop" places instead of chain hotels and we don't usually repeat stays as we like to experience new places, but we will come back to this one.

Room Tip: Our room faced the hot tub side and I guess the rooms on the other side are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We chose hotel based on different reviews from different travel sites plus price of course. Place is on a smaller scale with clean rooms .Maybe a little dated for some but my priority is cleanliness than sleep. The walls are a little thin as you can hear snoring from the room next door (208 if you happened to read this you might want to look into a sleep apnea machine ). Garbage dumpster pick up at 10 mins to 6 next door gets your day started a little early .
Overall enjoyed my stay. The hardest part of the stay is trying to stay on Schedule due to the fact that the owner Dick Curtis a actor and retired marine regales you with stories. They are so interesting and enjoyable that you hate to leave . Just when you start to leave he starts another story about an actor that we all watched as kids .

Room Tip: breakfast area small and get there as soon as it opens . Ask for top floor so any noise is from ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireguy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Defiance, Az
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great little inn, though more of a motel/type than an inn, since there is no central gathering area, just a small breakfast room. I suppose that often folks would gather outside in the garden/hot tub area, but we were there on a cold, damp and rainy night. We reserved a small room-queen bed-on second floor. Everything worked well, was immaculate and it was nice to have all the amenities of frig, micro-wave and coffee-maker in-room. Visiting with the host during breakfast was a lot of fun and helpful dinner suggestions the night before were an added benefit. Only caution is to take out a movie-lots of classic oldies at front desk area-when you check in.The office is not staffed after 7pm so you'll be out of luck if you decide on a movie after that. Also, hot tub was not working, but since we had just spent 1 beautiful week in Phoenix, this was not a concern for us. I am sure they would have refunded our $$ and allowed us to cancel if this had been an issue.

Room Tip: Second floor was not a problem for us, but stairs are a little steep. Queen room is small, so if siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here based on the price and the reviews, and were definitely pleasantly surprised. We originally booked 2 nights and ended up staying for 4. The location was great (except for the loud body shop next door), rooms were nice and clean, and the entire staff was wonderful! The only complaint was that the bed sagged quite a bit in the middle, we slept fine though. We would stay here again for sure!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blr-ejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were VERY happy with our stay here! Nothing fancy but extremely clean and comfortable. The owners are lovely and welcoming. Already booked our next visit to Sedona with them! Sedona is very expensive and this little gem was priced right!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightowlinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Baby Quail Inn is a fabulous find in expensive Sedona. One block off the main highway, it's quiet yet accessible to everything. The room was exceptionally clean, bed comfortable, water pressure in the shower was fantastic! The gregarious proprietor, a retired movie and TV actor, provides interesting anecdotes to accompany your breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
1.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.7 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baby Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baby Quail Inn

Property: Baby Quail Inn
Address: 50 Willow Way, Sedona, AZ 86336-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baby Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baby Quail Inn is a charming little slice of heaven located in West Sedona on a quiet residential street. Small enough to be cozy and private, yet comfortable enough to stay for several days! Enjoy inground spa under the stars of Sedona. Spa towels and robes provided. Free wireless internet access, in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. The entire property is non-smoking. Our inn is family operated with my daughter and husband who is a former actor whose name is Dick Curtis. Our free SELF-SERVE CONTINENTAL breakfast is hosted by Dick who shares his 60 years in show business with photos, stories and video. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baby Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Quail Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing