We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and comfortable room and friendly staff.”
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A clean and comfortable room and friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is an excellent place to stay on a leisure trip to Sedona. The location has superb views being right next to a tourist scenic overlook of Sedona. My room was a garden room so I did not have views from the room itself but the grounds are beautifully maintained. The room was large with two queen beds. Beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. Plenty of electrical recepticles and lighting. The ladies at the front desk were VERY friendly. I was pricked by a cactus soon after arrival and the staff lent me tweezers and hydrogen peroxide to try to repair the damage.
The hotel does not have a restaurant or provide any breakfast but there is a very convenient restaurant a walk across the road at the Sedona airport. The Sedona airport is a very small airport so do not be the least bit concerned with airport noise....there is none. The restaurant at the airport is delightful with super breakfasts. We ate outside one morning and it was just lovely.
Our room did not have alot of amenities but I believe you can get refrigerators and microwaves in some rooms. But the room met our needs and I would most definitely stay again. Great room rates!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llmwg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    484
    127
    59
    34
See reviews for
382
558
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Sedona is a very expensive city, and Sky Ranch Lodge offers a reasonable option for families. As other reviewers have noted, it's not fancy, but we found the rooms to be clean and spacious, and the fireplace was a nice touch. Being up on the airport mesa also is a big advantage; in addition to the beautiful views, it was nice to be above the crowds and traffic that clog the city streets while still being centrally located.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We just returned from a great trip to Sedona. We selected this hotel based on a friend recommendation. This hotel has great views and that is about it! Although it was nice to walk out to the patio and have spectacular vistas, the inside of the room needed a major renovation. The bathroom was in need of it the most. Toilet and shower on top of each other! If you are looking for more luxury accomodations this would not be a good choice. If you are just looking for views I would recommend it. One more note, it was not walkable to the shops and restaurants in town! If that is important choose to stay at one of the hotels closer to town! Most of the other hotels we saw looked liked they had nice views and if you want good views, I suggest taking hikes! They were the best way to take in the views!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristinedenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls.,MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is our first visit to Sedona, we came with my father & stepmother. They are hikers and there are great trails all around the property, it is close to a scenic overlook that has a fantastic sunset view. It is right next to the airport, so there is access to air tours and it is away from the hubbub of the tourist shops and other resorts. The pool and hot tub were great after hiking all day!
Next visit, however, I think I'll spring for a Hilton or L'Auberge stay. The property was built in the mid-eighties and it hasn't been updated since. There was plenty of water pressure, which helps, but the beds were as hard as rocks! Also the pillows were a bit old & flat. My father had to switch rooms because his smelled like stale cigarette smoke.
The staff was helpful, and the rooms were clean. The balcony views are good, they are more like little decks than balconies. I would recommend the rim view over the sky view, you get to see more of the red rocks in the sunset.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpls_MNWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Sky Ranch Lodge was recommended to us by friends who have stayed there numerous times over the past several years. Based on our stay, I understand why they keep going back. It is not a fancy establishment. Don't expect room service, spa facilities, and the like. However, it is quiet, well maintained, well run, has clean comfortable rooms, a nice pool/hot tub area (we didn't use) and probably the best views of any place I've ever stayed. I'd recommend a rim view room to anyone. Ours overlooked the town of Sedona below, as well as Capital Butte, Coffee Pot Rock and countless other of the Red Rock formations we went there to see. All visible while sipping a wine on the little deck outside our room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneCageyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great location, meals available at airport next door where you can watch small plans take and land, Lodge is on top of a mesa so you are away from traffic and other noise. Great veiws from the top as well.

Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JohnP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We were steered toward Sky Ranch Lodge by a TA contributor and the advice was great, Sky Ranch was just what we wanted. We weren't looking for a resort spa, we came to experience the hiking trails and scenery in the area. We needed a comfortable place to hang our family hats (and dirty red boots) at the end of each day.

The location on the airport mesa was convenient for access to each of the major Sedona areas including West Sedona, Uptown and Oak Creek Village. The view overlooking Sedona and the red rocks from our room was awesome both day and night.

Our room with 2 queen beds was spacious with sink vanity area separated from shower and toilet (we like that, family can multi-task easier), microwave and mini-fridge, small table, desk area, free onsite wireless internet and even the in-room coffee was good.

The grounds were pleasantly landscaped, everything understated and simple with a nice heated pool and outdoor spa area. We enjoyed the spa, especially after great hikes in local areas including one 3-mile loop within walking distance from Sky Ranch itself.

There is no on-site restaurant but Sedona has more dining options than you can shake a stick at and it added to the quality of the visit to be able to go out and explore both the town and the countryside. Sky Ranch patrons are given a 10% discount at the nearby airport cafe. As an aside, no airport noise to speak of so don't worry about it.

The front desk staff were very fun and pleasant, giving good tips about the local area. We would stay here again although with so many different places to choose from in Sedona, we might venture to a new location just to try something different. It would not be because anything was wrong with Sky Ranch, which was perfectly suited for a casual family-oriented road trip and seemed like a very good value in the local market.

A nice fellow we met in the spa told us: "I've been to Sedona over 35 times and I keep coming back to Sky Ranch, it is like a secret little gem hidden away and I am surprised that it has retained its feeling of simple privacy and good value over the years."

We believed him, it seemed just that way to us, too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RainierGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
1.6 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Property: Sky Ranch Lodge
Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing