We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2005

Since Sedona is so expensive, we think we made a good choice with the Sky Ranch Lodge. The location was right for us; we enjoyed being a little bit away from the center of Sedona and the main road. Despite the natural beauty of the area, IMO, the town and main road are pretty awful looking.

We liked our room: it was a king with a fireplace and no view. It was very clean, but there was some cat hair on the chairs when we arrived. I went to the office, and despite it being in the evening, a cleaning team came in and thoroughly vacummed all the furniture. They also offered us a different room. Also, some nasty person had forced a cigarette butt through the fireplace screen and it was still there. This was a non smoking room, but to give them a break, the screen was bolted on and there was a tiny vent hole that the nasty smoker had forced the butt through. Someone who would do something like that probably wouldn't pay attention to the fact that they were in a non smoking room.

The grounds were quite pretty and it was very quiet. we enjoyed it and although I doubt if I will return to Sedona, if I did, I would stay at Sky Ranch Lodge. Sedona is beautiful as is much of Arizona; there were a lot of tasteless shops and galleries, and very tacky faux New Mexican architecture that drove me nuts. Tlaquepaque was so pretty, but one shop after another had some of the worst art I've ever seen in my life.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank debkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2005

We stayed two nights in the least expensive room available. It was clean and everything was in operating condition. It had a back door and a small patio which my smoking friend appreciated (room was non-smoking). My only real gripes are that the bed mattress was super cheap and uncomfortable, and the walls were thin.

The grounds are nice and the lodge appears to be very pet friendly. There was minimal contact with the staff, but upon check in the young man was friendly and informative.

There is a nice restaurant at the airport which is within walking distance. We enjoyed breakfast there and then took a ride over Sedona in a small airplane.

The price was right (considering the area is expensive)for those on a budget. Next time I will pay a little more for a better bed and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank zona69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

A king rim room with a fireplace is perfect for gorgeous sunrise and sunset views. We spent a Thursday night here and enjoyed all you can eat Crab at the Airport restaurant.

Views are spectacular and literally take your breath away. Combined with the crab, and a relaxing outdoor spa and enjoying the stars at night...nothing in Sedona is finer and a better value.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandGrl078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Sky Ranch Lodge off the airport road on the airport mesa in Sedona, October 10-12, 2005. We chose it because it was off the main highway, up on the mesa with unbelievable views and because it was half, or even less than half, the price of most other Inns, Lodges, B&Bs and hotels in Sedona.

We also chose it because we were just looking for a peaceful place to stay overnight and not a full resort where we would hang out all the time. Our intent was to hike, do driving tours and explore Sedona most of the day, each day, which we did. So we did not need a full, self-contained resort as we were gone most of the time.

The room was great...a garden view room with a gas fireplace and a high cathedral beamed ceiling. The room was large, clean and well equiped with a refrigerator which kept drinks and water nice and cold -- which you need plenty of in the arid climate of Sedona. The gas fireplace was warming and very romantic each night!

The king bed was comfortable and the Lodge staff was top notch, even recommending for us some of the best hiking trails of all the ones we did.

The Lodge property was also superb -- a small vegetated oasis in the arid dessert of the Sedona mesa and very private and secluded. It was like a cool retreat into your own shaded forest grove. Hiking trails around the rim of the mesa start right on the Lodge property. The Lodge is far removed from the busy commercial strip feeling of highway 89A down in the valley of Sedona.

The Lodge also has a great outdoor hot tub (good for relaxing after hiking all day) and a cool refreshing pool, which re-invigorates after a tiring day. Both were immaculately clean and open until 9 pm. During the day the views of the red rocks and mountains are about the best in all of Sedona, and are just a 100 yard walk to overlooks both on the Lodge property and adjacent to the Lodge property. The more expensive rooms have stunning views right off their decks or porches. At night the view of the stars is phenomenal and we heard coyotes howling off in the distance. One evening we even took our porch chairs, dinner, and a bottle of wine, and hiked 200 yards out to the edge of the mesa in a clearing on the Lodge property and sat and had dinner, sipping wine while the sun set illuminating the red rocks with red and amber glows. The primary source of entertainment in Sedona is the views and this Lodge has them!

Then one day we saw three Javelinas running across the property-- a true Sedona experience. Finally, one of the famous Sedona "Vortexes" is just down the road from the Lodge, so you have ample opportunity to see if anything really happens in a "Vortex".

As other reviewers have indicated, the Lodge does not have dining on the property, but the airport restaurant (a short walk away) serves excellent breakfasts and has a gourmet dinner menu with a full wine list and a number of local microbrews on tap. It also has an outdoor dining deck with excellent views. The airport is not really a commercial airport, so don't worry about noise or commotion. The airport is merely the base for helicopter and small airplane (including open air cockpit biplane) tours of the Sedona red rocks with very little traffic.

In sum, if you are looking for a very reasonably priced, good quiet place in Sedona that can be a comfortable "base" to return to after each day of hiking and exploring Sedona, this is the place to go!

We loved it.

16  Thank bswietlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

We had stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and loved it. We stayed here two nights a week ago and still loved it. It is not fancy, but the location can't be beat. And the airport restaurant is a wonderful place to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonkwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
15
Reviewed October 11, 2005

The staff decided they needed to move us to another room to accomodate a guest that had reserved the room we were in. Without asking and while we were gone, the staff packed all of our belonging in plastic bags and placed them behind the front desk. When we returned to the hotel they gave us another room and handed us our belongings (some ruined). They mystery was that the room they gave us was exactly like the one we were in. No apologies from the staff. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2005

The Sky Ranch Lodge is not for those seeking luxury and pampering. It is for people who want an amazing view and a quiet, clean place to stay for a reasonable price.

I stayed for 3 nights in a "red rocks" view room. The view was fantastic.
We had a end unit with a balcony. The room had plenty of amenities including a coffee machine, mini fridge, and great fireplace for chilly nights. The furniture in the room is slightly less than standard and the bed was not the most comfortable Ive slept in. The room and bathroom were SPOTLESS and there were plenty of towels. The pool and hot tub area were also spotless. Another BIG plus was its a mile off the main road so you dont get all of the noise. And the staff in the office was friendly and helpful.

Also- the gift shop is extremely nice and well priced even if you dont stay at the lodgeits worth a visit. I bought some items there for 2.75 that I saw for 9.50 at a shop in town. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovesublime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 49 in Sedona
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range: $139 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing