We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our first stay at the Sky Ranch exceeded our expectations. The breathtaking view of gorgeous Sedona is NOT to be missed. It's simply the perfect place to enjoy the scenery of Sedona. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and would be suitable for families. Granted if you are looking for a "high end" room/amenities- you would probably go with another location where you pay high end prices. The Sky Ranch is meticulously kept- the staff is friendly and helpful- and again - if you want to take in the beauty of Sedona and take perfect pictures - and get great value- this is the spot for you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

This older hotel had the best views of the city of Sedona. The restrooms and kitchen areas were dated but clean. The grounds were very well maintained with cute flowers and bird feeders throughout the property. Our kids really enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. The fireplace was also a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Pay the extra money to have the rim view. It is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This place is fabulous...from NY to AZ...by far one of the most spectacular, exclusive views on top of the Airport Mesa...500 ft above the rest of the city, overlooking Sedona Red Rocks.
Very friendly and helpful staff, with excellent rates for the area.
A must, if in the Sedona area!

Room Tip: Ask for the RIM VIEW rooms!! Heated outdoor pool & hot tub! Wine bar! Pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

View was amazing from our rim view room and did match the internet pictures. There was also a private viewing area for an amazing sunset view. Bathroom is a strange and small configuration. Room was super clean. Towels are brand new and high quality. Our room looked freshly painted as well. This is not high end hotel experience, but more of a time machine in how people traveled in the 50 or 60. I would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank OneEyeLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

we were only in the hotel for one night. with that said, the combination of value and view were just unbelievable. I'm not sure how this is considered a 1 star hotel on some booking sites. We stayed at some real 1 stars; this is not a 1 star. So you if you are looking for good view and good value for a short stay, I'd defintely say sign right up. We weren't there long enough to offer a more long term outlook.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a room with a view. the pictures online just dont do it justice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Location, location, location! The views are spectacular and the gardens around the hotel are nice too. The view of the city lights at night is also a plus.

Do not choose this hotel for the room because you will be disappointed. The rooms are really old and musky smelling. They have old cabinets made out of plywood and the shower is claustrophobic due to the low ceiling. Beds are firm and bedding is like from the 1980's (satiny). The kitchenette is a joke. Small microwave, sink, and fridge. They actually have a sign saying "Leave the kitchen the way you found it." The maid does not wash dishes, only makes beds and replaces towels. She didn't wash our morning coffee cups, just set them to the side of the counter.

My last complaint is that they don't want you checking in early. We stopped to see if the room was ready at 3 pm and they said no. They called us at 3:55 pm to say it was ready. Really??!! Check out is at 11 am and it took that long to replace towels and sheets? Hire some more maids for goodness sake.

Room Tip: Don't splurge on the deluxe room with the rim side view. Just walk the 30 yards down to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auberjunois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was very pleased with the views from the terrace at this location. After seeing the hordes of people at the public viewing platform, I was very happy to be going back to my hotel to sip wine and watch the sunset with only a small group. The sunrise was also amazing.
The hotel has an old charm feel which suits my husband and myself very well.
On the down side, besides one person at the front desk named Nancy, I found all other staff to be very rude, not only with me but with each other. I was shocked at the tone the women took with each other. I asked about a remote control for the air conditioner in my room, not sure if it was lost. I was told they don't keep them in the rooms in the winter, (coming from Oregon, it didn't feel like winter to us), the staff was too busy to bring one, and if I was hot, just open the windows. Again, I loved Nancy and used her from then on to help me as I wanted to book another room, but had I needed to have Marcy do it, I would have just left a day earlier.

Room Tip: The walk to the viewing platform was so short, you don't need to book a special room to get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 766PattyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
1.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#21 of 48 in Sedona
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.5 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range: $139 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing