We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view rim side in dated rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view rim side in dated rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The view is the highlight of this property they also have good landscaping through out the property. The rooms are very spacious but the bathroom is tight and still using keys for the rooms that you can unintentionally double lock yourself out of the room and then need maintenance to get a special key that is locked up to open your room for you. They have a Wine bistro on-site and beverages available but you will either have to go to the airport which is in walking distance or to town for food, the road to the property has two sight-seeing spots on it with one right next to the property and gets a lot of traffic for sunset viewing. The beds were OK with a good mattress but just a box for the box-springs, UV light showed multiple stains on the floor TV is about 24" square tube, Internet had issues but signal was good.

Room Tip: Try to get a rim-side room away from the public viewing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    476
    123
    58
    32
See reviews for
375
542
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This charming older property is up near airport Mesa, one of the best places for watching the sunset in Sedona. We got a bottle of wine from the wine bar and sat on a bench under a twisting juniper tree and became observe d in that most amazing spectacle, so beautiful. The ranch is really an oasis with a running stream and gardens meandering through the cottages. The rooms are large and spacious with microwave, fridge coffee and nice seating outside each unit. The staff was very helpful and arranged for me to have an early a.m. Jeep tour with a very knowledgable guide who shared so much of the plant, Indian and spiritual lore of Sedona...he even played the flute while we're on some of the more sacred vortexes. Good value for money. Because of the beautiful location they have many weddings on the weekend so probably not the best time to go but we would have liked to spend another night. They also have a lovely pool.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the canyons have the best views for sunset watching but they also have a point outl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent a night here and couldn't have found a better place. We tried to stay one more night but regretfully it was sold out. Comfy bed, a kitchen area with micro, fridge, toaster, coffee. A fireplace for those who stay in winter. super view of the mountains from the patio and we watched the sun go down.

Breakfast at the Mesa Grille about 500 yards away was super, and you can watch the planes take off!

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the mountain, ours was 231. Our friends in 252 had smaller less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent one night here and asked for another night the next morning but none were available. I thought it was a lovely place. The views we had from our deck/balcony were great. We saw the Red Rocks and the city below. Sky Ranch is aptly named as you go up a huge hill to get there. The place has sweet little gardens all about. Our room had a skylight which made it bright and cheerful in the entry/kitchenette area. The bed area was large and very clean. The public areas are welcoming with the wine/beer bar and the sunset garden (which is where weddings must be held). The pool looked nice also. It was convenient to have the airport restaurant just a block or two walk away. We ate supper there. You are away from the hustle and bustle of the city when you stay here and it was very relaxing for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WISALSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 5 nights at the Sky Ranch Lodge and were totally satisfied with our stay. While showing its age a bit, the property is well maintained and clean, and the carefully manicured grounds are beautiful. There is even a private scenic overlook for guests.

I had some concerns about being next to the airport, but these turned out to be groundless. It is a small muncipal airport, with most of the traffic being sightseeing helicopters and small prop planes. Noise was never an issue, in fact the quiet and serenity is exceptional.

The front desk staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, providing tips on dining and local attractions. Maid service was prompt and thorough.

There is no on-premises restaurant, but the Mesa Grill at the airport is a very short walk away, and provides excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner (until 9:00 pm).

Our large room was equipped with a gas fireplace, king bed and refrigerator (but no microwave). The furnishings were a bit dated, but there were modern touches such as modern mini-split air conditioner units and free wifi. The TV was an aging CRT model, but we certainly did not come to Sedona to sit in the room and watch television.

Bottom line: This is a pleasant comfortable property, and the reasonable prices make this one of the best bargains in the area.

Room Tip: The non-view rooms are considerably less expensive, and the comfortable private overlook is just a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spidey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Sky Ranch Lodge is located on the hill near the Sedona airport. The location ensures wonderful views and quiet nights away from Sedona's traffic. This is an older property and a lot of the rooms features are dated but they are still functional. Our room was spacious, spotless, and was equipped with frig, microwave, and gas fireplace. All rooms have either a patio or balcony. The hotel's gardens are very pretty and scrupulously maintained. Coffee makers are provided in rooms and free coffee and tea are provided in the lobby. There is a beer and wine bar on site.
If you're looking for a luxury resort experience look elsewhere. If you want good value in a quiet and comfortable atmosphere this property is an excellent choice. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the pros and cons of other reviews, the reader should know that the experience of Sky Ranch Lodge isn't for those people who need what I call 'the Hilton experience.' If, however, you are interested in an old fashioned motor inn experience, located in a stunning location which is peaceful and quiet, you will love the Sky Ranch Lodge as I did. Rooms vary as to size and location. Our group had three rooms: one on the main level overlooking the red rocks has a very small bath, but an awesome view from the patio; the other two rooms were set far back on the property on the second floor (note: no elevators) and offered a bird's eye view of the area to include the red rocks and the well kept gardens and walkways at Sky Ranch Lodge. Some rooms, like the two we had on the second floor had fireplaces. All rooms seem to be equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Rooms were of good size and housekeeping was well done. Beds were comfortable, there were plenty of towels, and the tv was a larger flat screen with access to a multitude of viewing choices. I would say that due to high usage throughout the year makes for wear and tear on the room interiors such as dings and dents to furniture/doors and a few other repairs/maintenance issues which should be better addressed by management; however this is not a major issue; particularly when the room rates are so reasonable for having such an outstanding location. The gardens, pool, and wine bar are wonderful amenities: I will caution readers that Sky Ranch Lodge seems to be very popular for weddings and when we visited, there was a wedding with tent up and we were not allowed to have access to the overlook on the property-as we couldn't access, I do not know what we missed; however, most rooms do offer good views and there is a popular public scenic outlook just adjacent to the Sky Ranch Lodge which is only steps away. Again, I think management needs to consider the revenue generated from hosting weddings to what is being taken away from guests who are staying at the Lodge. All said, I would be pleased to visit Sky Ranch Lodge again for its beatiful location offered at a very reasonable room price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
2.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Property: Sky Ranch Lodge
Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing